We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel and Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Electra Palace Hotel Thessaloniki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Electra Palace Hotel Thessaloniki to your Saves list
Electra Palace Hotel Thessaloniki
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Aristotelous Square, Thessaloniki 54624, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Athens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel and Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

You can hardly find a better hotel in the city... Best location, great atmosphere, polite and helpful staff, excellent service, very elegant rooms
.
The rooms that overlook Aristotelous square have the most amazing view ever.

Thank you Electra Palace Hotel for the unforgetable stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    120
    51
    18
    9
See reviews for
65
110
13
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

The good:
The location is the best in the city. One of our best memories is having breakfast in the restaurant on the top floor-spectacular view. High quality staff are always at front desk to tell you how to find something. They arranged a car rental that had the rental person waiting for me at the front desk with the car parked outside. Very nice. Price included breakfast for two that was very substantial and high quality, included cooked foods, eggs, bacon, fresh squeezed juices, breads etc.
The less good:
Internet was not included and was 12 Euro extra for 24 hours. The room was small, located in the back of the hotel with a view of construction. But we had the lowest price room (130 Euro for a double), and could have upgraded to larger street-side room for another 30 Euro.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

During this, our first trip to Thessaloniki, this hotel was recommended to us by friends of ours who had stayed there. My husband and I were somewhat hesitant, after reading some of the negative reviews concerning the hotel staff. We had planned to stay for one night only, and had booked a superior room. When we arrived, we informed the reception staff that we had decided to extend our stay by one night and asked if there were any rooms available. They had availability for our extra night in a standard room only, however they upgraded our first night's stay, at no extra cost, to a suite. This was quite a bonus for us, as the suite had 2 balconies which overlooked the best view in Thessaloniki (the sea and the main town square). The front of the hotel overlooks the town square, which has numerous shops, cafes and pastry shops. No need to go very far for a good time!

The advantage of the suite, other than its 2 rooms and balconies, was its bathroom amenities - wonderful Hermes bath products. They smelled so good that we asked the reception if we could have one or two extra product bottles to take with us. We were delighted to find at least 5 bottles of each product left in our room later on! We thought that was quite thoughtful. Also, the reception arranged reservations at a great fish restaurant for our first evening and handled any other request we had with a smile. So I am happy to report that we, at least, were not victims of any "rude staff".

The beds in both rooms were quite comfortable. The suite was great, however there was some noise from the town square, as the rooms faced it directly. Even though it faced the back of the hotel, our standard room for the second night was actually much quieter and we had a better night's sleep.

As others have mentioned, the hotel breakfast is excellent, with much quantity and high quality, serving mostly American-style and Greek fare. Very tasty! The restaurant itself has a great view of the sea, as it is on the roof of the hotel.

Although cost-wise it was not cheap, I would definitely recommend this hotel, as the location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

Upon arrival to the small airport of Thessaloniki, I took a quick cab ride to the center of town for 15 EU. (The meter read approximately 10 EU, but there is a 3EU charge for airport service, and a 1 EU charge for Holy Week.) I would argue that the Electra Palace has the best location in town, and is central to most city destinations. It is considered a luxury hotel, but is also included as a choice on many credit card point programs. We had two lovely front rooms overlooking the plaza and the sea, and the price included a full breakfast. Champagne was available with orange juice, but just as at a later resort, it is not opened unless requested. As we experienced three years ago at the Athens Electra, the shower glass only covers about half the tub, and I have to admit I have still not mastered the art of not flooding the floor. The staff was polite, but not overly helpful or friendly, with the exception of a wonderful waiter named John at the Rooftop Garden restaurant who went out of his way to provide excellent customer service. We ate both our arrival lunch and a traditional Easter dinner at the rooftop garden restaurant which afforded a lovely view and good food, albeit limited choices. The hotel provided each room with an Easter “basket” of mass candles, Easter bread, sweets, and red eggs. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for one night with my boyfriend at the end of our vacation before flying home early the next morning.

The hotel has a great location in the center of the city. Many rooms offer great views of the square and the sea.

I found the rooms nice, but small. Same goes for the spa and steam rooms on the lower level and the rooftop pool (forget about swimming any laps). Both are significantly smaller than they appear to be in photos on the hotel website. However, the rooftop has a lovely view and is great for brunch, dinner, or cocktails in the evening.

The service was disappointing for a "luxury" hotel. Although we were assured the night before that someone would be available to deliver our car from the garage the next morning in time for us to leave to catch an early morning flight, this was not the case. Also, was I surprised to learn no spa services were available on Saturday in the late afternoon, nor could the attendant recommend other places to go in the area.

If I go back to Thessaloniki I would probably try out another hotel of the same category before I would book this one again.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

The hotel is right at the heart of the city. At walking distance to waterfront and shopping areas and has a beutiful view of the sea. However the rooms are too small and like many hotels there they don't have a parking. If you go by car , you have to pay for the parking ( like 20 Euro ) at a walking distance of 5-10 minutes. But anyway , I liked the location , very central.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

Stayed here on business (with family at times) for nearly 50 days during 2007. I have now shifted my stays elsewhere. Staff is generally rude although there are a few execptions. Service is acceptable most of the time. It does have an excellent breatfast buffet upstairs with a great view of the waterfront. The pool is nice as well and you will get a great cup of coffee in a town that knows coffee. However, if you are going to pay their prices for an only decently sized room with poor service and rude staff, you had better need to be located on the square. The location is an advantage, but if you look around, there are other hotels that I consider a better choice.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Electra Palace Hotel Thessaloniki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Hotel Thessaloniki

Address: 9 Aristotelous Square, Thessaloniki 54624, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Thessaloniki
#8 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
#9 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
#10 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#10 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Hotel Thessaloniki 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint Byzantine-style 6-story Hotel located on the main square, convenient to waterfront & port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Electra Palace Hotel Thessaloniki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Thessaloniki
Thessaloniki Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Electra Palace Hotel Thessaloniki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.