We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exquisite hotel in the heart of Thessaloniki!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Excelsior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Excelsior to your Saves list
The Excelsior
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Komninon St. & 23 Mitropoleos Av., Thessaloniki 54624, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Thessaloniki
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Galloway, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An exquisite hotel in the heart of Thessaloniki!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've just finished a 7-night stay in this utterly charming and first-rate establishment! From the beauty of its chic decor to the high caliber of attention, care and efficiency of the manager and the young, energetic staff---every aspect of my stay was delightful! The rooms are stylish and comfortable while the rooftop garden breakfast room is really quite beautiful. Complimentary beverages and fruits were already in the room upon my arrival and each night I found additional chocolates and fruit there for me upon my return. Its location in the heart of Thessaloniki was perfect!!! I was not only able to jog along the waterside in the mornings----with a spectacular view of Mt. Olympus, by the way---but I was also in walking distance of many of Thessaloniki's most historic squares, monuments, museums, churches and historical edifices. I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    42
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
149
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Extremely clean hotel. Nice fresh rooms with wooden floors and many with balconies. The first hotel I visited where the hotels don't smell some chemicals but have a nice scent of lemon.

Excellent welcoming and calm atmosphere. You get help with the doors and your luggage. Someone actually takes you to your room.
Lots of pillows and warm duvets and large comfortable beds. Lemon scent also in the bedlinen.
Small complimentary treats like canded fruits, water and the hotel's "own" wine.
The connected restaurant is also excellent and has reduced prices for hotel guests.
Fresh complimentary juice and water in the room.
WIFI also in rooms included in the price.
Each afternoon the room service brings you a little treat like chokolate or strawberries together with the "news".
Excellent breakfast with fresh squeezed juices and good coffees to choose of, all included in the price.
All in all the value you get for your money is very good.

The location of the hotel is close to Aristoteleos square and very close to the seafront. Good location if you visit the film festival or want to go shopping.

Room Tip: The top corner room is bigger and has a spacious balcony with a glimt of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nice clean modern
I was for two nights in Thesniki and the choice was between 5 star hotels. I chose that one because it was a new one.. And I didn't regret it. The only negative was the breakfast .Not much variety.
Planing to stay again for my next trip there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

i had a 3 night stay at Thessaloniki and fortunately i booked the Excelsior Hotel.
Is situated in the centre of the town, some meters away from aristotelous square, mitropoleos street so central and just a street upper from the sea.
Even though the location is so central,you do not get bothered by noise at all. the room was too quiet.
The front desk formal and gentle,i like the lobby because is cozy and not unpersonal.
Excelsior has a smart way to use the elevator,so none of the guests can use it. the card-key lifts you up.
the room is not big but you do not need so much space inside,that is because the architecture is so smart and reveals it.
of course the facilities are accordingly its quality.fluffy bathrobes and robes for the room,the bath kit of apivita.A Tivoli radio and a flat wide screen with satelite support .
If you spend time inside the room you can enjoy all these,the best of all is the bathroom.it is really relaxing having a bath there,just like a spa treatment.
It really impressed me.
Do not miss the breakfast,in a great roofgarden and fresh products .

Room Tip: every room is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very good location of the hotel, 100 meters away from the Aristotelous square, less than 50 meters away from the sea side. Although our room was not large enough, it was very comfortable, very nice and modern furnishing. The staff was very friendly, real professionals!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lummen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Everything is perfect, personnel, rooms, breakfast, restaurant and in very close distance of shopping area and Ladadika, hard to find better ....
Choose the superior room if you stay in Excelsior hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

From the moment of arrival, it was clear this is a 5 star luxury hotel. The staff are extremely attentive and polite, the room was outstanding in every way. Very modern and classy. Breakfast was amazing, lots to choose from. We got complimentary upgrade to junior suite ,nice king size bed, luxury bathroom and daily gourmet snacks you cannot go past this hotel for location, style and comfort. Excellent restaurant!. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, it was a real pleasure.

Room Tip: Rooms looking on the inner side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior

Address: 10 Komninon St. & 23 Mitropoleos Av., Thessaloniki 54624, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Thessaloniki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Thessaloniki
#1 Green Hotel in Thessaloniki
#1 Luxury Hotel in Thessaloniki
#2 Family Hotel in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Excelsior 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel located in Thessaloniki center, next to Aristotelous square, right in the heart of this vibrant town. Situated in the historical building of the classic and glorious Excelsior Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior Hotel Thessaloniki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.