We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for our needs.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emporikon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Emporikon Hotel to your Saves list
Emporikon Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emporikon Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   14 Sigrou and Egnatia Street, Thessaloniki 54630, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Thessaloniki B&B and Inns
vicenza, italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stay for our needs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The Emporikon is very basic. It's a 2 star hotel and it's pretty much what you would expect. It's a place to keep your luggage, and to sleep; what you pay for is what you get. My wife and I felt the location was very convenient, a bit hard to find at first, but it's centrally located, not very far from anything, right in the middle, walking distance to everything you'd want to walk to assuming you're fit enough to walk. The owner was very nice and helpful, sat with us for a minute to teach us some basic Greek to help us get by. If you have some outrageous standards for a 2 star hotel, then maybe you shouldn't be staying in one, if you're like us and you just need a private place to keep your things and to sleep, then The EMporikon is great. It also comes with free wi-fi.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    27
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
11
36
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Disappointing hotel in a disappointing city. No parking and not so clean. Kind of good location though, close to the sea promenade.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

i stayed at emporikon for a couple of nights during a weekend trip from istanbul to saloniki. i was a solo female traveler, but had 2 friends, a couple from holland, staying at the same hotel, too. we were in saloniki for a concert and birthday party of a friend. emporikon was just a place to leave suitcases and use the shower etc. for us. none of us cared much for the hotel amenities.

i never put much emphasis on the room or bathroom size or the availability of the mini bar in any of my trips, so i was not unhappy at all about emporikon. i may have had the worst room in the hotel. the room was on the floor just above the reception and there was loud chatting down there starting from 6 am. but my room was at the back of the hotel, so not much noise from the street. i had a twin bed in my room, which covers almost entire room floor, a tv and a mini bar. not much place in the room to move around. the room was looking at other apartments on the back of the hotel and was not getting any sunshine or air. bathroom was small, but since i was solo, had no problem with it. the only problem with the room was that huge bed; it was definitely not a good idea. would be better off with a single bed.

we stayed at emporikon for its good price and convenient location. the breakfast was good (at least a lot better than a 3 star hotel in london which i had to pay 68 £/night 7 years ago where they just offered toast and butter!) there was a bar just under the hotel, so it was a good meeting point with friends and have coffee, since the hotel reception did not offer much space. on the main street on which many city buses run. most of the places-to-see were within walking distance (except maybe for the castle), train station close by. it may not be good choice if you travel by car because you will go around the back streets of the hotel to find a parking spot, no parking offered by the hotel.

conclusion: good hotel to stay if just used for a place to sleep and take a shower, but do not expect much if you go for romantic holiday.

Room Tip: front rooms have a view, but they are noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanthi, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

For a 2 star hotel...it was better than some 3 star hotels that we've stayed in. Not only in Greece, but different countries around Europe. The room was great, and it was located on the main street. Was there noise? Of course there was, but not more than if you were to stay at any other hotel located on a main street any place else in the world. Not taking off any points on that. Was the bathroom a little small - not really...but my wife, and I didn't plan our trip around the size of the bathroom. Again, no points taken off. There was even a small refrigerator in the room...we've been to 3-4 star hotels that didn't even offer that. The Breakfast is normal for any continental breakfast - coffee, tea, ham, cheese, toast, jam, bread...etc. Just great for something to bite into before beginning your journey around Thessaloníki. Even though there was only five tables in the room, we were out of there in less than 10 minutes...so the waiting time should not be that long if crowded. I'm not taking any points off for that either. The receptionists were very friendly, and were open for comments so they could improve on the hotel/room. The hotel is located on the main street, and within walking distance of everything. We walked to the White Tower, and museums, and other places of interest. Lots of bars/cafes/restaurants/stores...etc located around the hotel. We'll be going back there again in a couple months, for a day or two. Highly recommend this hotel for the price, location...etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

I spent a night with my wife at Hotel Emporikon on August 2,2010 and on our way back from summer vacation,we reserved a room again on August 16,through Booking.com online agency.
When we arrived,the outside temperature around midnight was 32 Celsius and the airconditioner in our room didn't cool the air at all, and it was obviously working without gas,so the inside temperature exceeded 30 Celsius.We could not breathe inside the room,so we left the airconditioner working for two hours and went out.
When we came back to the room the temperature situation was the same,around 30 Celsius.We called the clerk,who told us that all other hotel rooms were full for that night,and after consulting the hotel manager by telephone he offered to send us to the nearby Ilisia hotel.He stated that we shall not pay the hotel bill at Emporikon because it was obviously their fault.
However, when the American Express bill arrived, there was a charge for that night at the Emporikon hotel. The payment was made without my authorisation, using the code of the credit card disclosed to Booking.com agency only for reservation purpose.
I filed a complaint to the AmEx, and after five months, the money was finally returned to me. The Hotel did not answer any of our letters and in their letter sent to the AmEx they stated that the airconditioner was working properly and that we displayed agressive behavior in the middle of the night, and they presented the AmEx bill with manually inserted credit card code instead of my authorization signature. All their claims were false, without any grounds or evidence, so the AmEx refunded the unjustified charge.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Table View
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

The Hotel Emporikon in Thessaloniki, Greece, was a big dissapointment for us. The position is central and convenient, and the hotel itself is not bad, but the room was shocking. I have never seen such a filthy carpet in a hotel before - I think it had never been cleaned. The room was extremely small and the bathroom even smaller - you could not sit on the toilet without leaning to one side. Being on a busy main street, it was very noisy. The breakfast was average. I would not recommend this hotel. Of the 15 hotels we used in Greece, this is the only one that was a disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

The hotel is located at a very heart of Thessaloniki on a busy street, so it was a bit noisy. On the other hand the room was clean, cozy with air-condition, the staff were great, very kind, hepful and friendly. Serving excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Emporikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporikon Hotel

Address: 14 Sigrou and Egnatia Street, Thessaloniki 54630, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Thessaloniki Region > Thessaloniki
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Thessaloniki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Emporikon Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a great location in Thessaloniki city center and within a short walk to most local attractions, Emporikon offers comfortable guest rooms with free WiFi.The recently renovated rooms of Hotel Emporikon come with en suite facilities, shower, air conditioning, fridge, telephone and LCD satellite TV.A fresh, buffet breakfast is available every morning in the breakfast room. The 24-hour recep ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Emporikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emporikon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.