We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Ordinary Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oceanis Kavala

Save Saved
You added Hotel Oceanis Kavala to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Oceanis Kavala
32 Erythrou Stavrou Str., Kavala 653 03, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Kavala
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An Ordinary Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

During our Greece trip, it was the only hotel that like an ordinary hotel. I mean, other hotels was like "historical building", "a small villa" etc, but even this was a big hotel, it wasn't our best. Its location was good, the room was ok, the sea view was good, bathroom was a bit small. Breakfast was ok also. The staff was kind, but not very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
17
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The Oceanis is located just by the seaside. There are many restaurants and bars nearby. The Hotel itself is in need of urgent attention, decoration and renovation as it seems that the owners despite all the passing years failed to invest in their hotel. The standarts are low: bedding and pillows are worn out, the brakfast is a basic one without real coffee. Within the same price range there are better hotels nearby. Apart from the location at the plus side the hotel has a car park.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

They gave me a room really small on the back side with view in the parking area of the hotel! The furniture are old,tiny TV,tiny fridge etc and doesn't deserve to be called 4stars hotel! The breakfast was quite ok, but poor! they gave me a better price though but if I ever was there again it wouldn't be my first choice!

Room Tip: the rooms that worth to stay in this hotel ,are definitely the rooms that have view in the front sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights with my partner and we had a great time. The breakfast wasn't amazing (the juice particularly was not nice) but that would be my only negative issue with the hotel. The price we paid was excellent value for money. The room was clean and spacious enough. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the hotel has a certain style and charm about it. Don't expect 5 star luxury but do expect a pleasant and good value for money stay in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The room was nice, air con worked well. Shower was small but ok for a short stay. Bed wasn't very comfy but room came with a balcony. Breakfast was nice. Staff were friendly, we wanted the room for more than one night however the price they offered us at the reception was more than online and the staff weren't willing to match the deal online.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

They gave us a room at the 6th floor...amazing view!!! Fresh and clean rooms with the whole amenities needed..Smart choice to be accommodated there..Almost the same prices with the 3* hotels of the neighbourhood!

Negtive:
No control at the breakfast room! Even a non-client who came in from the street could come and take a plate.
I don't agree with wifi charging

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at Hotel Oceanis in Kavala. It was a nice hotel with a bit outdated look. Especially the furniture in the room was quite old style and worn-out but that gave a retro look. Both the room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable. There was an LCD TV and an empty mini bar. Room had a nice balcony which was overlooking to a main street and port. I liked the view. Room, sheets and towels were clean enough and room has been cleaned every day. Wi-fi was working fine in the room. Breakfast was very basic with not much choice. The staff was friendly. According to me Hotel Oceanis is one of the best and reasonable hotels in Kavala.

Room Tip: Prefer a room looking at the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Oceanis Kavala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceanis Kavala

Address: 32 Erythrou Stavrou Str., Kavala 653 03, Greece
Location: Greece > East Macedonia and Thrace > Kavala Region > Kavala
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Kavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Oceanis Kavala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oceanis Kavala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.