We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August 2012 in Tosca Beach Hotel, Kavala, Greece” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tosca Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tosca Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Tosca Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leoforos Palicu 1, Kavala 65001, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Kavala
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“August 2012 in Tosca Beach Hotel, Kavala, Greece”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nice bгngaloц-hotel not far from Kavala. There you can have a quiet rest at the very pure beach.
Very quiet and beautiful place. The food is a little monotonous, but tasty.
Especially it would be desirable to note the friendliness and courtesy of the service personnel and specially Mark at the reception. Mark help me to resolve a lot of problems.
I recommend this hotel for fans of quiet rest
Vladimir
Moscow

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Unsophisticated but charming, relaxed atmophere, staff does their best, things move along slowly but surely...average facilities in the room (clean but somewhat bare!), decent breakfast, absolutely fabulous beach, lovely pine forest in the background...if you want a quiet vacation away from the crowds and you're tired of the over-priced, too trendy venues, this is the place for you! Kavala is pretty too, and makes for a nice afternoon of sightseeing. Thassos İsland is very close, and it's worth it to take the ferry and spend a day on one of the beaches.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgrade, serbia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Before deciding whether I should book this hotel, I read thoroughly all the reviews. Nevertheless, I decided to go in spite of all that has been written, mainly because nobody said anything bad about the beach and the surroundings. I was most pleasantly surprised.

What I found was a pure beauty: wonderful beach with a crystal clear sea and small bungalows situated in a pine forest above it. There was no loud music at the beach, no disco music in the evening, no animation for the tourists, nothing irritating, just peace and quite. I couldn't ask for more.
Our room had an amazing sea view with a pine tree overlooking the bay. The room was quite comfortable and had a large terrace. Yes, the furniture was a bit worn, but I really don't understand that it could be of any importance. It was kept clean and the towels and sheets have been changed regularly. There was an air conditioner, but we never turned the thing on: it would only spoil the beautiful smell of the pine trees.
The food at the restaurant was very good and for every taste. Variety of choice for breakfast, hot soup, several dishes for dinner with different fresh salads and fruits. I really don't see why anyone could complain about the food. Me and my family rather enjoyed it.
This hotel is great for everyone who needs to rest and relax. The city of Kavala is at an easy distance by car. Older people and families with very small children should take into consideration a big amount of steps, since the bungalows are situated on a hill. However, they are all accessible by car.
Me and my family (husband and children aged 3 and 7) really had a great time. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Firstly, this is not hotel, this is bungalows + reception. To start with the good point: beach is excellent, sea is very nice, I stayed two times in room No 20 where balcony is 100m form the sea, so when you wake up and open the door it's amazing scenery.
Kavala is nice city, nice pedestrian area wit fun park for kids.
That's pratcitcaly all good.
In the first row bungalows are very old. They are clean, bathroom is good but complete look, furniture, refrigerator comes from fifty years ago.
Foos was bad. Breakfast was so-so, but the dinner was terrible. Only two meals with strange spices, no sweets (Lidl's pudding of 10 cents), fruits every third night....
All in all, thisi is one star hotel which is extremely nihly priced. Go to another hotel in Kavala and come here and to Bates beach.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The beautiful bay in the pine forest. Rooms on the third line have been renovated, except wardrobe that smells of mold. New fridge and AC. Old TV. Monotone breakfast. It deserves 3 stars.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We got married in Kavala and had chosen the Tosca Beach hotel for our guests to stay. We had about 25 people who stayed at Tosca and they all loved it. Kiki the lady at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful and really went out of her way to make the stay enjoyable for us. What I really liked was that every room has a spacious balcony and a dedicated car parking space in front of the room. The rooms are simple but clean. Majority of rooms have twin beds which are put together. Breakfast finishes sharp at 10am. If you are 5 min late they will have cleared away everything. A big advantage is the private beach which is clean and the water is clear. There are enough sun beds as well and the cafe close by. Unfortunately there is only wifi at reception and mobile reception in the rooms is really poor. The only downside is that you need to have a car if you want more flexibility or you have to take a cab to get to the city (about EUR 7). There is a bus stop right outside the hotel but it only operates every 30 min and in the afternoon every hour.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that is closer to the beach. The sea view from the balcony is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

this is my 6th trip to greece, and i didn't belive that this could happend to me.
i have reservate this hotel and paid persuated from travel agency that here is all luxury and tra la la. when we came there, it was almost noon, very hot, we were tired and waiting to get rest in hotel. BUT, this is not a hotel, this is a complex of bungalows. when we came into our room, first welcome was the smell of mold. bungallow contains one room with a wardrobe that smells so much, that i haven't unpack my things, so they stayed in a suitcases for a hole time. there is a bathroom with problem with pipes so u cant take two showers in a row. two beds are making large bed, and we had one separet bed for my doughter, tv with 5-6 greek chanels, air condition never cleaned, tabel, fridge old as the hotel - 40 years. mattress is full holes. everything u see on the pictures on official web site doesent have much conection with reality.
ok, we went on a beach, walking trough a thousands of stairs, and meet a horrible beach, with high grit sand, nothing special.
dinner is a special expiriance. for a guests dinner is provided on terrace, with a wind and flocks of bees. on the buffet we had a pork, rice, some potetos, little salat... i asked something diet, because of my son, which is ill, but girl said that she can't do anything. i asked for a menager or pr, started to argue with her and than she went to kitchen and back after few minutes and said that thay will prepaire something and that i should go to reception to ask for special orders. so i did, and my son had soemthing to eat. that something was terrible so we had to by food after breakfast and dinner. buffet is so poor that i have no words. every day u have same food, juice fool of water, with no taste... grose.
after all, we went to sleap. if u like bugs, u will like this hotel. wood ants, simple ants, bees, mosqitoes, flys, grasshoppers, everything. under our bed are tones of all kind of dirtines... we had no sleap for nights, trying to kill all those kinds of insects.
hotel service deals with everything. in afternoon they work in restaurant, in morning thay are gardeners, or plumers...
and when i mentioned a plumer... we had a flood in a room, from bathrom, because we took a bath. hole room was full of water, as my clothes in suitcases.. when i went to reception, women who works trehe said that it was my fault because i wasnt taking a shower on beach, and that i broke everything because i brought sand from beach to bathtab... no words, really.
this hotel, or complex whatever, doesent reserve a one star, not 4.
never, ever again in my life.

also in kavala, stores are not working monday, wensday, suterday afternoon, and any store doesent work at sunday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tosca Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tosca Beach Hotel

Address: Leoforos Palicu 1, Kavala 65001, Greece
Location: Greece > East Macedonia and Thrace > Kavala Region > Kavala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Kavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tosca Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tosca Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tosca Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.