We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never choose this hotel again.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Athos Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Athos Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Athos Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kassandra, Kallithea 63077, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Kallithea
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never choose this hotel again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was there for a week. The worse holidays i ever had. The restaurant was so dirty, and the menager was inpolite. If you try to get a slice of bread with you because your child is not eating they charge you extra money, although we payed full bord. Everything was disgusting. If you ask at the snack bar for three drinks they will not give it to you they will say 1 person 1 drink. At the pool there are not enough places for everyone. You could write a lot of bad comments for this place, but in a few words i would recomend to everyone DON't WASTE YOUR MONEY IN THIS HOTEL. IT COULD BE A ONE STAR HOTEL NOT MORE.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    68
    46
    24
    32
See reviews for
110
46
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The most realistic review for this f... hotel:
I have just returned from this "hotel", where i neede to stay 11 days with my 2 kids... I've been to hundreds of hotels all over the world, on all continents, even to an excellent hotel in Halikidiki, just 15 kilometers away from this.
I have never met this or imagine it could be, never expected that there could be such rude and disgusting attitude to customers.

The staff is just awful!!!

I wonder where to start from:

1. At arrival (I am obvious a mom with two kids) I asked for a CALM room. They gave me with a hypocratic smile a key. The room happened to be on the last floor with sea view, facing the "olimpic" pool with all-day-long animation programme.

2. There was NO AIRCONDITIONING, outside was 36 degrees C, on the last floor it felt like 40. I asked about this, the answer was: "Yes, we know. It is not working. There will be airconditioning WITHIN FEW DAYS. Whya don't you open the door? (!!?!!)" "Because peaople are screaming like crazy with the animators and my kids would like to sleep!" The next answer: "Animation is ONLY UNTIL MIDNIGHT!" (OK, explain this to my 4-year-old... :-()

3. I asked for another room or my money back. The answer was: "No other rooms sorry! You are loosing my time!" (That is your JOB ?!?!?!!!!). Fortunately another receptionist came and he gave us a "calm" room. Still no aircondioning, but at least calm.

4. On the next day there was airconditioning, I believed we can start enjoing but...

5. There is NO kids swimmingpool, so we had only the beach;

6. The beach of this hotel is too small, with no sun umbrellas, but with a kind of tents, alltogether 20 - you can imagine how 450 people go there ... So I had to buy an umbrella because I do not like the workaround with getting up at 7 AM and run to the beach to place your things somewhere to "reserve" ... and then have 10 people around you on 4 sq. meters;

7. The sea is stony and muddy with a lot of life there ... so the kids could only use the bank :(

8. There was a nice beach, next to this, but everything there was not included, i.e. you needed 8 additional euros per day for an umbrella and chairs ... So we could not used the "included" anything on the beach!

9. We finally came to the STAFF. The only staff that counts for anything are the chambermaids, everyone else is ... just everything else sucks! You are treated like the most terrible invador, everywhere. Especially in the restaurant: rudeness and arrogance everywhere.
I do not care for how their food is (it was not bad) this behavior and attitude kills everything.
Incredible how you ask for a glass of water (at least 5-6 times) and you receive it (if receiving at all) after 45 minutes, if you are still there.
Or, you have ONLY ONE paper serviette and if you dare to ask for one more, you either never get it or get thrown on the table 3-4 more.
Everything is thrown on the table. Waiters scream (??!!!!) on you, take your plate full with food from your hands while you are still eating ... etc, etc.
The most exciting was how the waiter drops down the knife and the fork on an empty table, then takes them from the floor and puts both back on the table (?!?!)

10. There are 4 small elevators for the whole hotel, that are always, always full. It takes 10 minutes usually to go from the reception to the floor ... Fortunately, I do not have a baby or a toddler so we used the stairs, even when I had baggage, but poor moms with trolleys ...

DO NOT GO THERE. It does not worth a single euro of the price! It could not be more terrible anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was never in such terrible hotel. The suffer starts from the begining. In the reception only one girl is serving and she looks always tired and you dont feel good when you need her service. The room is clean but old and mattress horrible. The restaurant the worste part of hotel. You have to wait for a glass of water 30 minutes. It arrives when you are ready to go. All very unclean. The food was tasty. The staff rude. Outside the restaurant it was only one bar serving all inclusive and there were only few drinks included in all inclusive. You have to pay 3.8 euro for one express coffee. If you are in the beach and need water you have to walk 5 min to go to the bar to have it. You dont have ombrellas in the beach but just some tents where sometimes only 2 people were inside and they dont like you to sit close to them so you have to stay under the sun if you prefer beach part. We were used to wake up at 7 o clock to put the towels in the beach

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostov-on-Don, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel is a value for a money we paid.Very helpful servis and staff. Quality of food and servis in the restaurant were more than we expected. Animation and entertaiment look like we were in five star hotel.They were very profesional. Very cheerful sports program and in the evening, we had a really interesting shows, most of them make people to participate and enjoy themselves, Animation team has a lots of sorts of activites, sports, aquaerobics(thanks Sabi), Zumba (Natali), The streching(Natalija), wolleyball(Andrey), special thanks to animator Alex, he was very good in minidisco and all sport activities.Park around the hotel is very clean, room was cleand every day. we had excellent holiday here and were enjoyed all the time.

Room Tip: For the four star hotel its excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kielce, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

we come to Athos Palace in the middle of May and we spand nice time.Nice area close to the Beach frendly and help full staff in the snack bar, restaurant, recepcion.very good food in the restaurant.Animation program perfect in the day time stretching, beach volley , zumba ect.and in the night .every evening difrent shows we enjoy a lot ouzo ouzo, mister, cabaret, Fakir Show -Sahbi really talent person. after the show disco with DJ NATALIA shes so lovelly girl and always smile and full of energy .all anothers persons from the animation team Alex Natalia and Andrey they are nice and friendly too;)
sure we will back here next year!!!! really this is a good place to spend nice holiday!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

When come in the hotel the first impression was very good because staff met us with smile and we get room in very less time , when come to the room , it was clean and comfortable , the housekiping clean rooms evry day , the beach is clean , garden have amazing view , very beautiful place , have bars where working really professionals barman who know how to do good cockteils , the food in restaurant is like in 5 star hotel , and ofcourse the animation program do over holiday very funny , we join them program evrytime ! Thank you Athos palace hope to come again here

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloníki, Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I was there for 3 days (9/5-11/5).The food (both breakfast and lunch) are poor and bad.The hotel is old and not well renovateted.It is not as clean as it should be and I noticed dead insects at the elevator's walls.At the reception there was a problem because they couldn't decide if I had a free dinner or not.IThe bed was good.They didn't have the price for one night at the door as they should.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Athos Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athos Palace Hotel

Address: Kassandra, Kallithea 63077, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athos Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Athos Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athos Palace Kalithea
Hotel Athos Palace
Athos Palace Hotel Halkidiki, Greece - Kallithea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athos Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.