We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible, stay away from it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ammon Zeus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ammon Zeus Hotel to your Saves list
Ammon Zeus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kallithea - Kassandra | Halkidiki - Greece, Kallithea 630 77, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Kallithea
Vatican City, Italy
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“horrible, stay away from it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

stinky * falling apart - not touched for more 20 years minimum * ac works hardly, actually it doesn't * staff so lazy that it is actually insulting * breakfast is a joke * problems with parking

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammon_Zeus, Manager at Ammon Zeus Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
A few rooms in the past really had that "stinky" problem. After we discovered the cause of it, this problem was fixed. I am in the position to say that the "smelly room" problem does not exist anymore.
The hotel is definitely not falling apart.
Our rooms are clean and the hotel was renovated in 2002.
If you had a problem with one member of our staff you should mention it to us. Most of the people that are working here are hard working family men and women.
We are sorry for the inconvenience.

Leonidas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    16
    11
    14
See reviews for
32
29
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

On arrival, reception staff gave us our key and we were off to find our room. When we walked in the room there was a funny smell, as other reviews have mentioned but it was bearable (we bought some OUST). The shower was only a half bath without a shower curtain. You could just about manage a shower, but we used all the towels mopping up the puddles we'd made trying to have a shower. There was also a dog that barked constantly throughout the day and early morning- Which when it was raining was not nice if we spent some time in our room. Our room was on the 4 th floor and number 421. We had a lovely view of the sea and a balcony, which all the rooms have. The room was clean some marks on the wall but the bed linen and bathroom was clean. The cleaners came to the room everyday to clean and replace towels and toilet rolls.

The hotel has a great location but appears a tad dated- Sure this hotel was the bomb back in the day. I suppose your experience is also based on what you're used to and willing to ignore/naive to. The food was basic but ok. There was a different main meal option each evening as we had Half Board. There is a Jacuzzi and gym- The gym is very small and no-one was using it and the Jacuzzi looked a bit greasy and un-used. But if it had been cleaned the situation is great as it looks out over the sea. We did not use the spa. There is a nice swimming pool next to the hotel also.

We also hired a car from National, which was a good idea, to go and explore and see other beaches etc....We tried different places to eat too, but the food was very similar to the hotels so we mainly ate there. The area is also very dated with small gift shops and arcade games all around.

Back to where the hotel is located, it's right on the beach and I mean right on the beach which is fantastic. The water is the clearest I have ever seen and loved swimming in the sea there. If you just want a small basic room and basic food but lots of beach and sun for your holiday, this is the place for you. A very basic but relaxing holiday the weather was good for about 4 days of our stay the other 3 were raining and overcast we stayed there from 06/09/2010 to the 13/09/2010. Not a dream holiday but ok none the less. Everyone’s experience will be different.

Good Luck if you do choose this hotel- It’s not a 4 star but that’s to be expected abroad. The sea and beaches are fantastic and it was worth visiting Halkidiki for this experience, I would recommend ‘Samos’ as have been there and would say was a better depiction of Greece culture.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

I traveled with my wife, and with a lot of my friends. The hotel was nice very close to the beach ( you need to go down a few stairs). the breakfast and dinner was very good a lot meals . the rooms was nice.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Stay away from this hotel. I never had such a bad experience in my life: it was like I was in the 70's! Nothing was renovated, the "bathtub" is a joke, but you can seriously injure yourself while taking a shower... Don't get me started on the food... I feed my dogs better!
If you want a relaxing and pleasant vacation stay away!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammon_Zeus, Manager at Ammon Zeus Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
You state that “I feed my dogs better”. Taste in food is something completely objective and it depends on every people’s unique taste. We are trying to satisfy the majority.
Hotel was built in the 70's and it was renovated in 2002.
We do not deserve this tragic exaggeration. It is misguiding and a lie. Ask the people who visit us every year and some of them for do that for more than 10 years in a row.
This is not a writing competition.
We are sorry for the inconvenience.

Leonidas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

I stay for a few days in this hotel without a reservation. I book the room direct to the desktop.
They ask 130 euros per room. The room was situated to the last floor of the building, the furniture was very old, but clean. The breakfast was very poor and they use the same type of food every day.
We book for seven nights, but after five nights the weather was changed, it was cold and little rain. We decide to wait another night, but the weather rest the same and we decide to leave the hotel.
But big surprise when we ask to pay for our stay, they ask 50% from the price of the room to be paid because “if all the tourists decide to go, what we do?” said one person who was like the boss of the front desk personnel and we pay 845 euros for six nights, 65 euros’ penalty for early leaving.
I mention they don’t say anything about the penalty when we rent the room. It wasn’t fair play to take the money. Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammon_Zeus, Manager at Ammon Zeus Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
You chose autumn - September for your vacation which is generally a very good month and my own favorite to go on vacation. The only problem is that the weather sometimes it can be tricky. You should check a weather forecast site before you plan your vacation. You cancelled the rest of the stay because of bad weather and that’s fine. The majority of the hotels they do have a cancelation fee which is usually 50 % of a day’s rate. This is something that all the travellers know. The fifth flour is the best flour here and the rooms there are mostly “family rooms”. So you paid 130.00 € per day total for your whole family in the best flour with the most amazing view. This is a very reasonable price.
Please inform me on how we tried to cheat you.
What you need to do is ask for everything you need to know before you make a reservation. I can also help you find a weather forecast site (although there are hundreds)
We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Leonidas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania - Bucharest
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

I was at this hotel for the Orthodox Easter (middle of April), so, the first guests of the season for four nights with HB, which costs 180 E/pax by travel agency. The main trump of this hotel is the location, right on the beach, but mandatory you have to ask for a sea view room at the second floor or higher. The food isn't so rich, you haven't expect to much. The room at the second floor was large, they clean it every day, the balcony with the view to Sithonia worth all the money, the bathroom has hairdryer but uncomfortable bathtub. The staff is enough polite but not very good in English, except Jimmy, the waiter, he can a good English and is always ready to give all the informations you ask for. The hotel has an private parking and also there are a lot of places for cars right close at hand.
For those who travel a lot, Ammon Zeus isn't sure an 4 stars hotel by West European standards, but maybe OK for 3 stars.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

All reviews about the rooms, pool food are right.
Rooms – you don’t have enough electrical light in the bathroom and also in the room;
Food (breakfast and dinner) - not so good
Pool - they have only 10 sun beads at the pool and when all are taken they will not bring you extra sun beads and will send you to the beach where you will have to pay for your sun beads

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ammon Zeus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammon Zeus Hotel

Address: Kallithea - Kassandra | Halkidiki - Greece, Kallithea 630 77, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ammon Zeus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ammon Zeus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammon Zeus Kalithea
Ammon Zeus Hotel Halkidiki, Greece - Kallithea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ammon Zeus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.