We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value per money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Macedonian Sun Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Macedonian Sun Hotel to your Saves list
Macedonian Sun Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kallithea 63077, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Kallithea
Cluj-Napoca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value per money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We chose this place at the very last minute, because of the very low booking price and went on a 1200 km journey, by car, to reach it.

The rooms: (-)very dark, with your average sandstone floor, very old furniture with an old smell coming from the closet housing the minibar, ants all over the place, modest bathroom. Having said all this, it was cleaned daily and we spent very few time inside.

The hotel: (-) it's got a small swimming pool which closes very very early, we spent very little time there; the breakfast/dinner was to greek standards, that is, 10 of 12 types same each day, basic, but eatable. It's got a small, but very nice garden in between the hotel's bunks, with peacocks (++). It's part of 3 hotel complex and you can go to the other swiming pools (+).

The location: It's situated 1.5 km away from the main resort and about 400 m from the beach front. The sand and the water however make up for what this hotel is missing. Being a remote location it's not that visited and you'll end up having a great time on the breach (+), then again, you'll have to walk a bit to find some sort of entertainment.

You can't expect to much considering the money invested.

Room Tip: Even though at first I've found bottom floor to be a disadvantage, it turned out to be blast as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    15
    9
    8
See reviews for
20
24
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Please don't go to this hotel. It is definitely the worst I have ever been to. NO HOT WATER in the shower. AC doesn't work while it is extremely hot weather. The staff is rude on a regular basis. Breakfast was disgusting. I would not recommend this to anyone, for the quality/price ratio, I recommend going to a hostel, you will probably have a much better experience. I would give it 0 stars, but that is not an option in this site.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

From my point of view, this hotel offers good value for money. Of course not everything is great, of course it can be better, but it will cost you much more to get all these.
I knew what to expect and the hotel offered me even more then expected.
Cleaning service - they clean rooms if you don't add the sign not to do it. I met the cleaning staff daily making their round.
Surroundings - the area itself is nice, but away from Kalithea for a foot walk. Beach is not so far (10-15 minutes to walk easy), some shops nearby...not very much. But with a car, you can go anywhere around (get your lady a driving license and you're safe for drinking :D)
Food - not the best ever, almost every day is the same, but thanks for big variety so you can choose to eat fish one day, pork in another one, some vegetables in another one, etc. Olives were really good there. Frutis, cakes...is all in. Just watch for water as you will pay for it. It includes some poor juices, coffee in the morning...but that's all.

So, I can say is a good place if you are not a too fancy person, and you know what to expect from it. Cheers !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

it was a nice trip to Greec, the staff was friendly and people here r nice.The room was clean and they changed towels every day. There is a free internet access in the lobby ( Wi Fi) and in comparison to 4 stars hotels nearby ( where internet costs 5 euros per hour). The garden is big and there are lots of peacocks and roses there. The only thing we didn't like was a little noisy sometimes, but anyway it was fine. The food is not very various but still it was enough for people who travels not for food ( fruits, vegetables, meat, cereals, sweets every day). It was good value for money

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Dear visitors and tourists! I stayed at the Macedonian Sun hotel in August 2011 and I can say that this was perhaps the worst place I have ever stayed at! Even though I liked the location, the environment, the food and the room, still I am not going to that place anymore.
The management of the hotel MUST WATCH the way the stuff behave to visitors! It looks like all male people working there (especially at the restaurant!) are trying to catch girls who stay at that hotel and have fun with them! And moreover, the stuff steal visitors' personal belongings like clothes etc! Two pieces of my clothes were stolen! I am never going to that hotel anymore.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cluj
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Outside is a dream nice pool, but you heave surprise that after accommodation ,found that air conditioning is off, parking outside the hotel is small wiifii not exist and few places at the table vhen you goo too eat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed at the Macedonian Sun in June 2008... It's a nice hotel, well organized with a large courtyard delimited by bungalows on two levels... nice pool, the grass, the flowers were in very good shape... an some peacocks walking free !!! really nice considering the price (if you go there in may-june its ok, otherwise too expensive for the offer).
The rooms were clean (you had to fight with the cleaning-women, they were cleaning every day), in good shape for a 3* hotel (if you want luxury go for a higher rated place), we were not afraid to sleep there or use the bathroom.
But, watch out for the food... mostly the same vegetable salads, rather not fresh... not so much variety in the cooker's mind... and a small bottle of coke (0.25ml) costs 2 Euro.

The place is situated in the second line, near the road (watch for the kids, for the traffic is quite intense sometimes) and you have to walk 5 min to the beach (there are 2 large 5* hotels, of the same owner as Macedonian, on the beach and here you go for sun and water)...
we didn't have to pay for the sunbeds and we also went there in the evening for the shows, quite ok !!!
In the water you may have to use water shoes, because of the stony beach and of the many hedgehogs you will find.

Don't miss the "taverna"'s... the greek pub, with good, fresh food and wonderful people...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macedonian Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macedonian Sun Hotel

Address: Kallithea 63077, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Kallithea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Kallithea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Macedonian Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TheMacedonian Sun Hotel is situated on a hill top, with accommodation amongst wonderful vibrant gardens, surrounded by evergreen mountains and only a 5 minutes walking distance from the sea. In these colorful gardens, near the calm sea with its fabulous Mediterranean blue color, its sandy beach, with gentle breeze and sun filled days, guests will experience the vacation they desire whether with family or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Macedonian Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macedonian Sun Hotel Halkidiki, Greece - Kallithea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macedonian Sun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.