We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Periyali Villas

Periyali Villas
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zakynthos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Periyali Villas
Zakynthos, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 319 Specialty lodging in Zakynthos
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed at Periyali at the end of May / beginning of June for 2 weeks last year. As other reviewers have commented, the service from Simpsons was very good.
I think the set-up of Periyali gives you the best of both worlds, you have the privacy of your own self catering accommodation and swimming pool, but equally you can go up to the cafe and communal swimming pool for socialising with the other guests. With only 11 villas on site, nothing ever feels too crowded or busy and the children all soon make friends with each other.
Our son was 2 and a half last year and went to the children's club for half days. While he wasn't too keen on his first couple of days, he soon looked forward to going. They have a good programme for children with a mixture of indoor and outdoor play, ride-ons, sand-pits, trains, cars, kitchens, books, messy play, anything a child could ask for! They also offer an evening session, where the children watch a video (Dumbo springs to mind from last year!) and the parents can go out for dinner.
There is a beautiful beach, a few tavernas and a mini supermarket just 10 minutes walk. There are lots of other beaches and tavernas within a short drive. One point to note is that the local mini-marts / supermarkets are quite expensive, you are better off going to a bigger supermarket further afield to stock up.
I would agree with the comment that the villas could do with some updating and I believe that that is on the horizon for 2012. Having said that the villas and gardens are very well set-up for children, with eg plastic cutlery, plates, cups etc. Additionally, there is a patio area immediately outside the villa which is fenced and lockable, so that children cannot just run into the swimming pool, and the whole private garden itself is fenced and lockable.
We are going back this year for 2 weeks in September, the only difference being that there are now 4 of us (our sons will be 3.5 years and 10 months)! We looked around for other similar places, but anywhere else so well set-up for families seem to be on a much bigger scale which is not really our thing - we feel that Periyali really is unique.

Room Tip: There are 4 sea facing villas which I personally think are worth the extra money as they are set fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at the Periyali for a week in June with our 4 year old son. The whole Simpson experience was excellent - good pre-holiday communication (especially for the children's club with a letter addressed to our son and his own back pack), well organised on both arrival (no queuing for car hire) and departure thanks to the Simpson staff at the airport and fabulous friendly service in the resort from Denise and also Jules & Tony at the snack bar. I'd describe the whole experience as being somewhere inbetween booking an independent holiday and a full-on package holiday. You are not bothered or hassled by anybody but just have a friendly helping hand to guide you and take away any of the stresses of travelling. Janelle and her team at the Turtle Club were brilliant and our little boy loved it, we booked for half days, not thinking he would go every day, but he couldn't wait to get there! The location of the Periyali Villas is brilliant - they are in a quiet spot but within 5-10 mins walking distance to a very safe child-friendly beach, 3 tavernas with playgrounds and a mini market. It was also lovely to just relax by our own pool when our little boy was at the Turtle Club in the afternoons. The villas are well equipped for children, but probably need a little bit of updating as they look tired in some areas. We enjoyed a day out with Mario on his boat and saw quite a few turtles - would definitely recommend this. We will certainly go back to the Periyali again - but for 2 weeks next time!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

First time we have travelled with Simpson and we thought their service was excellent. Firstly, it was so nice to arrive and the car to be already to drive off without having to queue in the heat. When we got to the resort, Denise Tony Jules and Janelle were on hand and were fantastic at passing on their knowledge about where to go and where to eat. The kids club run by Janelle and her team was brilliant- the girls were so excited about going - they had a letter sent to them before we left, to let them know about what they might be doing whilst they were there, and were given two rucksacks to pack their toys. They went for 4 mornings and one evening for a dvd night. They loved it and made lots of friends. The villas themselves are extremely clean but basic and quite worn. It was lovely having a private pool and we couldn't believe how quiet it was despite the fact it was August. Really relaxing! The shared pool was great and the kids loved playing with their friends from the kids club. The beach at Gerekas is a 10 minute walk. It is a turtle nesting beach and watching hatchling turtles make their way into the sea was amazing - like a live nature documentary. There are tavernas within walking distance and they had playgrounds to amuse the children. There area also mini markets to get the essentials. We also enjoyed days out to the waterpark, hiring a motorboat, seeing the loggerhead turtles in a submarine and evenings out in zante town. We were only their for a week, but there were people we met who had been their 4 times! The staff were so great that they have posted back my daughters new watch which we left behind. A great family holiday!

Room Tip: We stayed in cleo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at the Periyali villas - we were there for a week in May 2011 and really wished we had booked for 2!
The villa was lovely - really well equiped and nicely decorated in a simple Grecian style. The pool at the villa was lovely and the gardens around the complex are beautiful - olive trees and wild flowers were in full bloom.
Our daughter absolutely loved the Turtle Club and couldn't wait to go each morning - the staff and facilities were excellent.
The location of the villas is perfect and definitely the nicest part of the island. The nearest beach - Gerakas is absolutely stunning and very child friendly and there are several really nice Tavernas within 5 minutes walk. Again, theye were all really child friendly with playgrounds and gardens for them to play in.
All in all we had a wonderful break and would defintely go back to stay at periyali again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimpsonTravel, Manager at Periyali Villas, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear guests

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope to welcome you all back to this lovely spot sometime in the future.


Desmond Mall
Simpson Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We travelled as a family of three with our 3yr old daughter in June.

We were met at the airport by a very pleasant Simpsons Rep and a very efficient hire car pick up: Tip - Provide Simpsons Travel with all Licence details before departing for quick car pick up (everyone seems to get a Ford Focus 5dr)

On arriving at the Villas in Porto Roma we were very pleasantly surprised by the beautiful scenery and quiet location.

We were however somewhat disappointed with the Villa itself (Kaliope), as the general condition i felt was not as described in respect of the refurbishment when taken over from Simply Travel a few years earlier. It just appeared on the face of it to have had a lick of paint and a small dip pool added.

Whilst we were happy to pay 'over the odds' for good childcare we did feel the Villa was not worth the apportion cost.

The Kitchen & Bath/Shower rooms could do with updating.
The TV packed up Day 1, however, it was replaced Day 3.

The Villa was however clean and tidy when we arrived.

The Creche was fantastic, very well run by well trained and attentative young ladies.
Our daughter could not wait to go in every day, be it just for mornings, all day or in the evening creche. The activities, toys, books, dvds and general play things available were as good if not better than her Nursery at home in the UK. Best we have experienced abroad!

The three local Tavernas in walking distance provide and cater for families with play areas and a good choice of food. Fresh Fish is exhorbitant as the Med is so over fished.

Local Supermarkets within 10-15min drive will suffice for all your needs, unless you want to save some money driving to the Dia Supermarket in Zakynthos town which is a 1hr return trip.

Local beaches also are superb, namely;Gerakas (10min walk - Turtle protected & 8Euros for two sunbeds) Porto Zorro & Banana Beach which are drives.

It is no longer cheap to purchase food & goods in Greece and we actually found it cheaper to eat out in the evenings and make our own breakfast and lunch.

It is an interseting island to explore, however, driving times and distances are fairly substantial if going to the far North of the island. The beauty of Periyali's postion is that you have everything pretty much on your doorstep if you dont want to explore.

Some people we met at the Villas just stayed around their pool or beach and were quite happy.

The Communal pool is a good size with a small childrens pool aswell.
The Pool Snack Bar is good and and was used by most people when we were there.
BBQ on a Weds evening if the resort is near full and the Creche girls do a little show with the children 15Euros/adult and Under 4's free.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jn200
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

We had our two week hols at the Periyali Villas starting end of sept till early October. We booked one of the two level two bed villas for two adults and one two year old.
Overall we had a good time and what attracted us the most to the place was the concept of a creche on site which meant that we really had a break from parenting and was by far the best part of the holiday.
However we did have a few issues which would prevent us from rebooking next year so look away now if you are a Periyali villa fan!
We felt the villa itself, although nicely painted on the outside, was very run down inside - the kitchens and bathrooms need updating urgently, and although the furtniture looked ok and is practical for kids, it was all a bit too much of Ikea which cheapened the place. The other issue we had was with the beds - they were the hardest and most uncomfortable beds and to be honest meant we didnt really have great nights sleep. Both the towels for showering and the red ones they provide for the beach need replacing - all faded, thin and many had holes in I'm afraid.

The other issues we had, not to do with the villas themselves, is that if you decide to choose this type of holiday, be aware that grocery shopping in Greece is expensive and not the best quality so you do spend a lot of money on food, especially if you are there for two weeks. Also, Greek food in restaurants,although simple and nice doesnt really have a good enough range to keep you interested for long compared to French or Italian food.
Harsh comments, we know but we are pleased we went as it is a good place for young kids, we just feel as though for the price that is charged to rent the villas, the owners should be constantly updating things and perhaps make it a little more luxurious than practical.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

Periyali is now exclusively used by Simpson travel over the summer months. those of us who used Simply (not to be confused with Simpson) in the old days will be delighted to hear the standard of child care is as good as in the old days.

The villas are situated at the end of a peninsula near Gerakas beach. If you are into nightlife and clubbing then this is not for you. The whole area is delightful and whilst it doesnt have nightclubs etc there are several taverna's near which do ok food.
The taverna on the beach overlooking the bay does excellent fresh fish albeit not cheap.

The villas themselves had all been refurbished for this season and were in a very good state. Hopefully Simpson will encourage the owners to keep them in that state as some people who had been there previously had commented they were previously a little run down. They are very very simple. this is not 5 star luxury. the villas do have aircon but not in the upstairs bedroom. It was 45 degrees when we were there and we ended up sleeping on the sofas downstairs. I understand that there is a limit to the electricity supply and having air con units upstairs would mean that limit was exceeded. On the couple of "cooler" days it was fine with a fan and I have to admit the temps were extraordinary during our stay. The villas are clean nicely furnished and large enough for a family of 4. I have stayed in worse places costing 3 times as much.

The villas all have the usual fridge cooker etc all of which worked well. they all have a TV and DVD which is useful for over tired children!

One of the real pluses is that each villa has its own pool as well as the main pool. Although the villa pools are small they are great for quick dips. The private pools add something that most similar villa complexes dont have and are a real bonus. The real bonus however is the kids club. The facilites and staff are great and even my 4 year old who is not the best "joiner" didnt hesitate to go to the club every morning. One really good idea is that two evenings a week the kids club has an evening session so parents can go and have a civilised meal. Those evenings were real treats. I accept so much depends on the kids club staff but I am sure that Simpsons will take their usual amount of care year on year. the rep who I imagine will be there for a while is excellent.

On site there is a pool bar which serves the usual snacks. these could have been better and with only a minimal improvement could have been excellent.

A word of warning for people without young children. this is a affordable option for those of us with smallish children and all 12 villas were full of families with small kids. If you are allergic to children go somewhere else during shcool holiday times. If you are after a relaxing holiday i would still recommend the villas as they would be so peaceful during term time.

We have already booked (as have 2 other families who were there at the same time) for next year.

  • Liked — staff, kids club, private pools
  • Disliked — bar food little basic and limited
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Periyali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periyali Villas

Address: Zakynthos, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 319 Specialty lodging in Zakynthos
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Periyali villas in Zakynthos provide the chance for families to have all their individual needs met. The villas are spread out over three acres of mature gardens and trees: a location unparalleled for families, combining service and first class childcare, with local culture reflected in both the design and spirit of these attractive properties. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Periyali Villas Hotel Zakynthos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Periyali Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Periyali Villas to your Saves list