We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Porta del mar Beach Villas

Enter a caption for your photo
Zakynthos
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
gaynor030...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

It's hard to capture with words or even photographs the palpable ambience that envelopes Porta del mar. We had the most perfect holiday and felt relaxed from the very second we set foot in the grounds! Tasos,Pavlina,Kostas and Eleni were the perfect hosts and very quickly are able to guage how much or how little to attend to your needs- nothing seemed to be too much trouble!
This is a peaceful and quiet place with everything you need for a relaxing holiday. My children spent most of it playing on the beach or in the sea, which offers lovely still, calm clear waters in the morning and some rolling waves in the afternoon due to a lovely cooling breeze.It was great to be able to pop back up the steps to the bar for a refreshing drink when needed or sit in one of the pagodas and watch over the beach as the rest of the family fooled around in the canoes or on the sailboards.Highly recommended- you would have to look far and wide to beat this!Thanks from Gaynor and family

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
steveandc...
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A real heaven away from the stresses of life..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Well, what can I say?! Myself and my husband stayed at Porta Del Mar from 12th-19th September 2010, I did not want to come home! It is exactly what it says on the tin.... a little hideaway, well away from touristy areas, with this place you see the REAL Greece, manicured, well kept gardens surrounding the villas and then step outside the villas complex and it is just Greece, unmanicured areas, no hotels side by side, with streams of tourist buses tooting, taxis and cars, just peace and tranquility, goats by the road, the odd villa here and there rented for holidaymakers, but much of the surrounding is Greek folk in their homes. There are a few tavernas within walking distance, a real good one to try is The Grill, just say hi to Sakis, his mother is the best cook and here we had the biggest prawns I have ever seen! Good food, friendly Sakis, reasonably priced, worth going to. You can walk further to more tavernas too. There are supermarkets within walking distance, we managed to get everything we needed at these.

The villas at Porta del Mar.....wow, we are going back! We loved it there, loved the family, Tasos & Pavlina and their daughter Elina and their son Costa, friendly Greek family that speak good English (though have trouble understanding if your'e Scottish haha!) We went out one day on Tasos's boat and he took us to the Blue caves for a few hours and then stopped off in the sea for coffee on the boat when we got back. Lovely trip and Tasos is truly mad in his boat, he likes speed!!!! One night we had Pizza night where Tasos made the bases and we all got to choose our own toppings and they were cooked in the outside oven, yum!

Never even missed not having a pool, down a few steps from the villa and you have the sea right there with a beach and sunbeds to use, who needs a pool! There are other areas around the gardens with sunbeds to lay on if you dont want to be on the beach.
Gardens were well kept and very pretty. The villa we stayed in Calypso, was just as we expected, real Greek with two balconies, air con (free) which we only had to use twice (me using hairdryer made it hot!) as the villa was cool enough the rest of the time. Had everything we needed in the Villa and the whole holiday was very relaxing and stress free! If you want all inclusive, pools etc etc then go to a hotel next to another hotel! If you want a relaxing, stressfree holiday in a quiet little unspoilt place, then go to Porta Del Mar, within two hours of being there after being in England the stress leaves you, trust me! Well done to the family that own it, keep it as it is, you have got a little goldmine there! Will be back next year all being well! Collette & Steve

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Die_Lyse
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010 for a stay in September 2010

We spent 10 days at Porta del Mar in the Villa Calypso and absolutely enjoyed our time. Despite Alfa36 saying that you should avoid this place as a young couple I had one of the best holidays ever and I do consider myself as young. We found everything as it was described on the website and we knew that it is going to be quiet and that's what we loved about it - getting away from busy city life. The Villa we stayed in was very close from the beach and always clean. We enjoyed the Pizza and BBQ night and were very lucky to spend our time with other guests who contributed to the whole experience as they were all very nice and chatty. However, if you want to keep to yourself you will never feel disturbed. I loved how laid back Tasos, Pavlina and Elina were and they made us feel like home even after a full season of work.
It is also possible to book a boat trip to the main sights on the island and avoid the crowded tourist boats. All in all it was a wonderful experience and I will surely recommend Porta del Mar to everyone who is looking for a hide-away from hectic work life. The island is rather small and if you are looking for a lively tourist place you can easily get there within less than 20mins.
Thanks for a lovely time!
Lysann

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Cmerry51
Swindon Wilts
2 reviews
“Friendly, Relaxing and Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010 for a stay in August 2010

If you are looking for somewhere to relax enjoy the wonderful views and hosts to die for, then this is the place for you. The owner Tasos had arranged for a taxi to meet Hazel and myself from the airport. When we arrived we were greeted as 'old' friends (even though first visit and only contact had been vial email). After a very much appreciated cold beer we were shown to our villa - very clean and spacious. There were views from the two balconies of the sea and gardens. Our two weeks there have to be some of the most enjoyable we have spent on holiday.
One word of advice is to take beach shoes as entering the sea there can be a problem - mixture of stones and sand.
Tasos, Pavlina, Costas and Helena really do make you feel welcome.
A car is needed to see the rest of this wonderful island, we last went there 10 years ago - will we leave it as long again not a chance and we will be going back to Porta Del Mar.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Mosey2010
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect place to relax and unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

My 16 year old daughter and I have just spent a wonderful week relaxing and unwinding in its friendly and relaxed surroundings. We were well looked after .The Owners, Tasos and Pavlina and their daughter, Elena, could not have been more helpful and kind. We had delicious food served at the bar and enjoyable evenings around the bbq. We made several friends of the other guests on these evenings. What we liked most was that it was very much up to us as to how involved we got with the other guests/Owners. We loved having breakfast overlooking the sea listening to the waves on the beach. Our studio was clean and tidy and roomy with plenty of space. Easy access to private and public beach , own loungers available and showers. The windows had mosquito grills and the a/c allowed an uninterupted nights sleep. They organised a car for us to hire and made several recommendations of where to go - all very successful. We would highly recommend Pavlina's moussaka and Tasos's fresh orange juice! Will definately be going back. I work extensively in the hospitality industry and would highly recommend.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
tanmey
1 review
“Perfekt zum entspannen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
Google Translation

Die Portadelmar Villas sind schön, einladend und geräumig. Die großzügige wunderschöne Gartenanlage mit Bar, Café und Restaurant bietet verschiedene Plätzen mit Meerblick. Wer möchte, kann totale privatheit haben oder auch Geselligkeit mit den anderen Gästen.
Der persönliche Service der Inhaber ist überragend, das essen sehr gut und frisch, teils aus eigenem Garten.

4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$936
/ Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Kostas R
Speaks English, Italian, German
Listed since : May 2006
Response Rate: 70 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 40 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing