We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a party!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Biros Tavern

Biros Tavern
Bogdanatika, Greece
+302662031167
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 78 Restaurants in Paxos
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“What a party!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were in Paxos the first two weeks of September for a big birthday party and had booked Erimitis. The day of the party dawned and after 11 days of stunning weather the heavens opened - Erimitis rang us to say they had to close because of their clifftop location. So 2pm on the day of the birthday with 14 guests and no venue. Went to see Vangelis at Biros - no problem!! Amazing party coupled with plate smashing and greek dancing. Excellent food although no vegetables and the most amazing host in Vangelis who gave me the perfect birthday party. Excellent food and ambience - lovely surroundings - a cut above the usual Greek taverna.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirosTavern, Owner at Biros Tavern, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We are very happy that we succeeded in making your birthday unforgettable. We hope we will see you again in your next visit and why not to celebrate your next birthdays together again.
Vangelis-Roula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    31
    20
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Biros is the Greek business!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have been to Paxos for the last 7 years. Although Biros has only been open for 3 years this was our first visit. We have eaten (and drunk!) in many of the Paxos tavernas but can honestly say Biros would have to be one of the very best. To check we weren't wrong on our first visit we went back 2 nights later. The food and service were excellent on both visits.
The owner made helpful but not pushy suggestions and explained some special dishes that were not on the menu. We had 2 unusual salads to start, one with marinated courgettes and the other with aubergine and sun dried tomatoes. Both faultless. Likewise the recommended 2 meat casserole dishes which were slow cooked in terracotta pots.
Our carafe of local red wine was very tasty and topped up free of charge - no problem!
The decor is quirky but tasteful in a country style. The background music was quirky too! Cab Calloway and Ray Charles mixed with some Greek music!
Some reviewers have said it didn't seem a very Greek experience I understand that point of view but I think it overlooks the reality that when catering for locals and tourists alike it's important to maintain credibility and not stoop to the classic "Greek dancing coach party all inclusive fun night with free wine etc etc" There's usually nothing much "genuine" about such nonsense..
Of course there are plenty of local tavernas on the island where you can absolutely be guaranteed the genuine Greek experience if that's what you want but the menu, whilst being perfectly wholesome, may be rather limited. Biros offers a more varied and thoughtful experience and we shall be returning on our next visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirosTavern, Owner at Biros Tavern, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. It really means a lot to us. We hope we will see you again in your next visit.
Vangelis-Roula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely little details”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I visited Biros with my boyfriends family who have spent their summers in Paxos for years. We had noticed the reviews on Trip Advisor and upon asking around the general consensus was positive. In fact, as we sat down, Akis who runs the resturant on the front in Lakka arrived, which shows even the locals choose to eat at Biros.

Although Bogdanatika is maybe not the most picturesque location on the island, the taverna has really been beautifully decorated with a shabby chic theme in complementary neutrals, lots of wooden features and pretty mood lighting.

Paul our waiter was polite and attentive from the start when he helpfully directed us to parking for our two cars.

The owner was very friendly and immediately welcomed us and ran us through the menu and his recommendations. The best meal was the rooster in red wine and tomato sauce with chickpeas- really scrumptious. As two of our party don't eat meat- they had a selection of starters and particularly enjoyed the cuttlefish cous cous and potatos with rosemary and saffron. However be warned- this is a MEAT based resturant- and so fish eaters/vegetarians may find it tricky if they want a "main course" and not to pick several starters/salads.

As someone else mentioned, the desserts are AMAZING here which is unusual for Greece. We sample all three on offer that night and the chocolate pie with icecream was unbelievable!

The decor, attentive service from both the owner and waiters and the nice finishing touches of homemade Biros chocolates to take away meant we had a lovely evening and will definitely return next year.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirosTavern, Owner at Biros Tavern, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. Next year we intend to add fish in our menu but as "today's specials". We hope we will see you again in your next visit to Paxos.
Vangelis / Roula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pleasingly lived up to to expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was a purely trip advisor driven visit to Biros. We don't do 5 star reviews usually! But on this occasion there was no reason not to give one!
The ambience was good with this being one of the few paxos restaurants where the interior decor is better than the external tables - think shabby chic taverna ! , The food was tasty and excellently cooked. The little extras such as complimentary ouzo and dessert wine and chocolates on departure all add to your feeling of being looked after.
However let's be honest this restaurant Is built around Yannis,his character and drive , from the friendly and seemingly genuine initial pleasure at your choosing to eat here , through his sitting down with you at table for detailed explanation of the days specials and advice on choosing your dishes , to his personal goodbye, he ensures you enjoy your time here.
The dishes we ate ? Well the cuttlefish with black ink giant couscous arrived glistening on the plate, with excellent flavour and the tomato and creme fraiche salad a perfect
Iight starter as my wife had asked for . For mains the two oven cooked casseroles of pork with white wine olive oil lemon and thyme served with chickpeas , and the second of chicken with tomato basil and red wine with pasta both of which were on the days specials had been perfectly slow cooked and were intensely flavoured .
This is one paxos restaurant where the 3 or 4 sweets on offer are not after thoughts but were intense home produced hits of chocolate or lemon flavours best experienced than described ! and at a total of 58 euros for two including 3 courses and wine we were more than happy.
When really busy I would guess it could get quite difficult to maintain the personal touch but on this evenings evidence I would suggest you try it !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirosTavern, Owner at Biros Tavern, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We are really glad that we met your expectations and you enjoyed your time at Biros. We really hope we will see you again.
Vangelis / Roula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“This wonderful place made our holiday, a real taste of Greek hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Firstly Id like to apologise for the lateness of this review we visited three times the second week in July just before the tiny baby swallows flew thier nest above the door into the restaurant, just magical.
We were amazed at this lovely restaurant, which came so highly recomended on trip advisor as it was literally just down the road from our fabulous apartment the Margarita, which was very lucky for us.
Vangelis is a wonderful Greek gentleman who really cares about the food he serves and about his guests. We felt like we were vsiiting an old friend, he was so attentive and genuine and went out of his way to serve us the food we would enjoy.
He could just look at us and tell us what we fancied for dinner, and he always got it right.
We had the fixed price meze that just kept coming, each course more gorgeous than the one before. Honestly they will just keep bringing the most delicious food untill you have had enough, we just could not believe the value and quality, it was the best food and best value of anywhere we ate on the island.
The restaurant itself is so pretty, and atmospheric, I was delighted with the place, and even though it is on the road had a lovely idylllic quietness about it that made you just relax and enjoy the food.
We had the meze every time as we just loved seeing what would come next and we enjoyed the complimentary aperitif (ouzo) and digestive(santorina dessert wine), and the house white by the carage was delicious and reasonably priced.
We never paid more than 70 euros and we left feeling full, and happy, loaded up with a free bottle of wine and fantastic homemade chocs, real great hospitality that I had feared was gone for good , but 32 years after our first visit to Greece we found it again in Paxos at Biros..
Thank You Vangelis, you were a perfect host , we loved it and if we ever return , we will definately come and visit your fabulous restaurant again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirosTavern, Owner at Biros Tavern, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for these wonderful comments. It is very important to us to know that we were up to your expectations. We really hope we will see you again.
Vangelis / Roula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biros Tavern also viewed

 
Paxos, Ionian Islands
 

Been to Biros Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biros Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.