We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meganissi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Meganissi to your Saves list
Hotel Meganissi
Katomeri, 310 83 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Lefkada
Leicester U.K.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Hotel Meganissi is one of those rare finds. It combines efficiency with freindliness and a homely atmosphere. The setting is idilic, nestled in the hill side with magnificent views down through the vally to a picturesque harbour. George runs the hotel brilliantly with his mother in charge of the cooking. We had every evening meal at the hotel because the food and the setting was perfect. The rooms are fairly small in the main part of the hotel but if you want a bit more space and luxury you can upgrade to one of the new rooms situated in a brand new building adjacent to the hotel.
The port of Vathi is approx 12 minutes walk downhill from the hotel and is a charming place to have a lazy lunch people and yacht watching.
You could quite happily stay at the hotel all week without venturing beyond the beautiful swimming pool but you should ideally think about renting a car or moped for one or two days to see the rest of the island.All in all a great weeks break which I would recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday just recharging the batteries.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    17
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

just returned from a 2nd visit to the Hotel Meganisi. We met up with some lovely people who we met there last year. we all go back you see! George still chasing around like a headless chicken but still fantastic! Food wonderful but could do with a little more variety perhaps but on the whole, a very good week, and good value for money. We hired a quad bike this time which is a great way to see around the island. Will return again, hopefully with Jean and Roger???

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Just returned from a really enjoyable stay at the Hotel Meganisi. As the other reviews confirm, the hotel is in a beautiful setting with great views and offers traditional Greek hostility. The island is compact and there are regular bus and ferry services to neighbouring villages and islands. There are easily accessible, unspoilt and scenic walks to nearby bays and beaches. Everybody is welcoming. The island does have a timeless quality. The small port of Vathy is about a 15 minute walk downhill from the hotel. This is a fantastic place to just sit and watch the numerous boats come in or even to take a small motor boat out yourself as we did (this cost 45 Euros per day - plus fuel at approximately one Euro 80 cents per litre). The ferry over to Nidri takes about 40 minutes and is just 4 Euros return which makes a good day trip.
We had a superior room, which is big, clean and very comfortable with spectacular views. Just a word of warning - although there are 12 superior rooms, it should be noted that there are different sizes to the terraces depending on what floor you are on. We fortunately were on the middle floor and had a substantial sized terrace with a table and chairs, drying area and 2 cushioned sun beds. The floor above had an even longer terrace area, however, those below were ‘short changed’ in the fact that although they had an identical high quality ‘superior room’, their terrace was significantly smaller and did not have room for sun beds. We felt we would have been aggrieved if we had been given such a room, especially as in the brochure it misleadingly states that all superior rooms have sun beds.
The food was good and very reasonably priced (about 30 Euros for 2 starters, mains and drinks). Breakfast is basic – just fresh bread, jams and honey and boiled eggs with coffee, tea and orange juice. It is a little confusing on the first morning because you have to ask for the yogurts and anything cooked. It is also unclear as to what is included free. I has Greek yogurt with honey everyday – which is totally delicious – and was not charged for it.
Overall, we had the most relaxing time we have had on holiday for a long time. You really feel as if you are getting away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

I have had the pleasure of staying at the lovely family run Hotel Meganissi on three occasions now. The family make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. It is a family run hotel and all the family are involved, they make you feel so welcome. The whole experience is a must and I would recommend this holiday to all. Thanks to George and his families hospitality I will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Have been there 4 times, every time its wonderfull!!, Lazy, sunny, and the only time i ever read!! the rest is the best! you cant get better service, everyone is so friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
Fab food, the atmosphere is welcoming and warm.
Cant wait for 2011!!! and every year thereafter!
I always recommend this holiday to my friends. I have family living in Crete, but meganisi is diiferent, just wait till you discover it!
The great thing is that you can do as little or as much as you want.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Meganissi was the island Aristotle Onasis wanted but could not have as the locals were not going to be thrown out of paradise! The island has little development, few cars, great walks and superb views.
Hotel Meganissi is family run, with multilingual George providing genuine hospitality. The food was traditional Greek. Better quality and cheaper than the tavernas on the waterfronts.
The room was completely cleaned every day by cheerful locals.
Do go, if you want complete relaxation and the sound of Nightjars sending you to sleep.
Do not go, if you want to take loud children, visit amusement parks or loud discos.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

The Hotel Meganissi, like the island itself, is one of those unspoilt little gems from the Greece of 20 odd years ago. I've been back time and time again, on many occaisions introducing friends to the place few have heard of.

Think of peace and tranquillity, with a warm, warm welcome from George and his family. Think of spotlessly clean rooms with equally spotless bathrooms, a little on the smaller side but if you want something large and modern simply book a superior room!
Think of nothing being too much trouble - just ask and if it's possible it'll be done.
Think of traditional greek food prepared and cooked in a spotless kitchen that Christina is, and quite rightly so, so very proud of.
Think of a lovely pool area, stunning views and oh so peaceful.

You've just thought of 'Georges', the Hotel Meganissi

BGBob

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Meganissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meganissi

Address: Katomeri, 310 83 , Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Lefkada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Meganissi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meganissi Hotel Lefkas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meganissi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.