We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ionion Star Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ionion Star Hotel to your Saves list
Ionion Star Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lefkada Beach, 311 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 77 Hotels in Lefkada
wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Third visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is our third visit to the Ionian Star in Lefkada. The hotel was still a great choice. The bedding and towels were frequntly changed by the cleaners who were very polite.The main things for us with this hotel, was the fact it is the only hotel in the town centre with its own swimming pool, the location of the hotel is in the town so it means you dont need taxi's and the town has everything that you need such as bars, shops and restaurants. We plan to go back again in the not to distant future and we wont even bother to look anywhere else to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
24
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I was going to stay in this hotel on the 24th-26th of April, as I were on a business trip. I have to admit that when I saw the reviews of this hotel, I could never expect what I found!

My experience begun when I took the key to my room... My room was really aged, smell badly and the worst of all was that at along the room door where vests which would close with a door in front of them. The vests' doors in my room were broken and wouldn't close. So, I went downstairs and asked for another room.

The employee looked at me as if I was asking for something really weird and when I explained to him why I was asking for another room he said: "All rooms are like this!" I asked him whether he meant that all the vests' doors wouldn't close. He replied: "Ok, I will give you two rooms to go check yourself, if any of them suits you. If not, we don't have any other rooms."

I just left the room keys and looked for another hotel! I seriously have never been treated worst in a hotel in my whole life!

In general the only thing I can say about this hotel, is that the photos are a fraud and the rooms are nothing like what you see or to be true the 3 rooms that I saw on the 1st floor...

Another note would be that his person was talking to me while he was smoking (in the hotel lobby) by the time he paused the movie he was watching in his laptop!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiorgosKon K, Director of Sales at Ionion Star Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Madam
I read your review. The receptionist understood your request about the vests. These vests are to ventilate the room. As you mentioned, there is a small door to close them. Because of this broken door in your room, you were given three keys to take a look and choose one room. You didnt. Why? The other rooms didnt have any broken vest door. Also,these rooms are renovated (in the begging i aggre that you maybe took a non renovated room).We have photos from both rooms (renovated and non).
I understand that you didnt want to stay to our hotel no matter what. The receptionist described to you a truth, and the truth is that indeed all our rooms have vests. So i dont know why that has insulted you.
On the other issues, the lobby is an area that smoking is permitted. But i agree with you that the receptionist shouldnt do that in front of a client. For that you have my truly apologies.
To sum up, i think that you are a little bit exaggerated, when you said that you were treated more badly than ever. But beyond this, i promise to you that we will correct any mistakes we made in your case and i apologize for any inconvenience.

Kind regards
George
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Rooms: basic rooms, basic facilities available. Bathroom needs referbishing. Noise levels were good despite outside traffic.
Staff: friendly and personable. We obtained useful info on the island and plaes to visit/avoid.
Parking: an ordeal! Impossible to find parking parking spot in August, although some months may be different than others.
Overall: we lined the lounge area and swimming pool. That area of the hotel was refurbished but the rooms were not and looked a bit dated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Clean, friendly basic but perfect for my needs!

Having spent 5 days on a yacht as a guest with a Flotllia skipper and his hostie and another member of staff (they were working VVV hard) I needed to give them their space back and find some quiet in the chaos.

I had already spent a little time by the pool before we had set off for our week of sailing so was familiar with this hotels location and pool and cocktail bar so I knew it was where I wanted to stay on once I had decided I needed to get off the boat.

My needs were simple - Wasp free, air conditioning, my own bed, some outside space (no view required), my own bathroom. I got all of the above for 55 euro's a night. Breakfast was simple continental, but that was more than fine. Its location is really perfect - I would definately stay there again. I really loved Lefkas. And the Greek people could not do enough for you.

The cocktail bar was incredible. Theo is amazing at his art of creating cocktails and I would highly recommend the blue pina coloda- (can't remember its proper name) but it was lower fat (coconut milk instead of cream) although beware - they are potent. No

Room Tip: My room had three beds if you needed a triple... For 55 euros this makes it really good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

we stayed at the ionian star the last two weeks of august. the location was excellent and right in the center of the main town.The rooms were very clean and the sheets and towels were changed every day. The breakfast was good and a varied choice. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull.The highlight of the stay at the hotel was the pool bar, it was run by a wonderful guy called theodore, this man was a genious with cocktails and people came from all round the island to try them and the art of making the cocktails for him was a passion and a story of how each cocktail evolved was told with every drink,"what a guy". The hotel pool was cleaned every day and was mostly very quiet so a sunbed was easy to get.We will definately be going back especially to see Theodore.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I stayed in this hotel one night and found it to be clean, pleasant, well located and with very friendly reception staff. The breakfast was just about OK and lacked atmosphere but apart from that it was a lovely place to stay over with pretty views.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

I can't say nothing bad about this hotel! Location: city center, with great view to sea and the park. Room: very clean. I have never seen cleaner room! With tv, a/c, big bathroom, a litle lobby, double door, modern furniture, balcony, mini bar, telephone. An amazing swimming pool and 24 hours reception. It has not parking, but there is place to park your car. In addition, the price was very good, because I book it from the travel agency! Don't miss them! I recommend the hotel absolutely. Have nice time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ionion Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionion Star Hotel

Address: Lefkada Beach, 311 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 77 Hotels in Lefkada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ionion Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ionion Star Hotel is situated at the most beautiful point of Lefkada town, in front of the harbor and next to the park of poets, providing a spectacular sea view from its rooms. Ionion Star Hotel, open all year long, is a 3 star hotel, built in 1983 (by EOT as XENIA) and completely renovated in 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ionion Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ionion Star Lefkas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ionion Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.