We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful... If you have a car!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Nicolas Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added San Nicolas Resort Hotel to your Saves list
San Nicolas Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Mikros Gialos, 31084, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 101 Lefkada B&B and Inns
Lyon, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful... If you have a car!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had some wonderful time at San Nicolas hotel. The rooms are nice and spacious, the staff is friendly and the beach (pontoon) very cosy. Also the restaurant is very nice. Fantastic view. Only negative is the setting which is a bit remote.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    13
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Decided to eat here for supper as a change from local tavernas, and I'm glad we came.

More than anything else it is the setting that would bring me back, and as the evening grew darker and lights begin to twinkle in the distance it felt more and more magical.

It's a well designed hotel, minimalist chic meets stone and decking - and expertly lit at night.

Food is fine, service warm and friendly - it's not as cheap as the local tavernas, but that's not why we came.

Well worth a visit, and the best Mojito I've had for some time, with the mint freshly picked from a bush by the bar, perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just come back from a week's stay, following a week sailing. The hotel and the location are idilic, difficult to find better.
A couple of small niggles, a shame (given the pricing) that drinking water is charged out and there are no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms. A rather dictatorial note is left in rooms asking guests to only consume water and food that is bought at the hotel...maybe translation, but I did note the majority of the guests ate their evening meals offsite. I would have thought it better to offer guests complimentary water, I think it would pay dividends.
On the whole the staff were lovely.

Room Tip: We had two rooms at the top (3rd floor) the views from there are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed a week here following a week's sailing and it was the perfect choice. Everything about the place is exceptional from the uncluttered, minimalist design, the beautiful location, the sense of serenity and best of all the friendly, helpful staff who make the guests feel very special indeed.
From the moment we check-in to the time we were waved off by Lena (sorry if the spelling is incorrect) we felt the small team really cared. I'd also urge prospective visitors to disregard the reviews criticising the food, sure it's pricier than the small tavernas close by, but the quality and choice is excellent and the setting, on the decking high above the sea, is stunning.
Room 301 is designated as the Honeymoon Suite and is worth the small premium for its huge, private balcony with its comfortable lounging chairs as well as the usual table and chairs - oh, and it has huge four-poster bed...
Even though the hotel was full there was always plenty of spare loungers by the pool or by the small beach at the bottom of the hillside upon which the hotel is built. Although arranged on several levels with some steps, access almost everywhere is easy via a series of lifts.
We stayed on a B&B basis and can confirm that the breakfasts could keep you going until dinner if you were so inclined. However, the temptation of a late, leisurely lunch at the bar overlooking the beach was often irresistible. Although the lunches are not cheap the quality and quantity is again good, the setting stunning and the service always attentive and friendly. Only the price of the coffee is worthy of any criticisms - €5.50 for a small cappuccino gives pause for thought even to a caffeine junky like me!
Our evenings usually started around the pool bar, often with an expertly made Mojito, then we usually took the short stroll to the first of the handful of tavernas in Mikros Gialos. This was no reflection on the San Nicolas, just us wanting to enjoy the locality.
Overall we found our stay every bit as relaxing as our (blissful) experience of The Maldives, without the long-haul to get there. It is also the perfect counterpoint to the cluttered confines of a yacht, giving us our ultimate holiday...thank you Sailing Holidays Ltd, great choice.

Room Tip: Room 301 "Honeymoon Suite" worth the premium for extra space and added privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were not able to book a room at this hotel as it was fully booked so we were allowed to spend a day by the pool and beach area. We had a very relaxing day and enjoyed the small but clean beach and clear sea waters. Great views of the bay. We had a good lunch at their Ammos café on the beach. We were so happy to spend our last day at this hotel and get away from Enodia hotel at Vassiliki where we had a terrible experience.

Room Tip: Unfortunately we did not stay here as fully booked. We spent a day by the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Following a fantastic weeks sailing with sailing holidays booked a week at the hotel. Great room with a Hugh bed after a week aboard a boat. Facilities are stunning with lovely pool and beach. Only 20 rooms which makes you feel elite and special. Service from the staff very good, but misses a good host. We ate locally and at the hotel which provided good variety both in quality of food and cost.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

LOCATION

+Absolutely beautiful location on the Southern tip of Lefkada island
+Overlooking the magnificent bay of Poros, with its turquoise waters, picturesque village and traditional taverns
+Not touristy (like for example Nydri), calm and well preserved area with olive trees from the top of the mountain and reaching the waters
+Clean waters, beautiful public beach and even more beautiful private beach below the hotel

-A little bit far from the main town (45min by car) but not sure this is really a minus since the area around the main town is very touristy and a bit spoiled

ROOMS

+Very big in size
+Modern furniture
+Stunning views of the bay, the pool and the private beach
+Floor-to-cealing windows so very bright and enables you to gaze at the sea while lying in bed
+Mosquito nets on all the doors leading to the (huge) veranda so you can leave the windows open and not worry about small insects (like ants or mosquitos) coming in the room

-Nothing negative to say...

SERVICE
+Very good service, personnel very polite
+Delicious breakfast with a different home made pie every morning (cheese pie. spinach pie, squash pie etc), eggs made to order and a big choice of both sweet and savoury breakfast options, emphasizing on Greek products
+Food served at the restaurant and the beach is very tasty. Menu includes traditional Greek dishes (such as baked Aubergines with olive oil - delicious) and more international snacks like club sandwich.

-If not included in your package, breakfast is expensive so make sure you buy a B&B deal

BEACH /SWIMMING POOL
-Beautiful pool with view over the private beach
-Private beach below the hotel is stunning! There is a deck with umbrellas, from where you can also dive into the green-azure waters, as well as a small sand beach if you prefer to enter the sea slowly. Waters are magnificent, clean and at perfect temperature. Also great for an evening swim!

OVERALL
Thoroughly recommend this hotel, we had a fantastic stay! Beautiful location, beautiful hotel, beautiful beach, beautiful food - what else could you ask for :)?

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite on the top floor is one of the best rooms - stunning views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Nicolas Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Nicolas Resort Hotel

Address: Mikros Gialos, 31084, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Lefkada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Nicolas Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Nicolas Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Nicolas Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.