We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lefkada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sands Hotel
Save
You added Sands Hotel to your Saves list
| Nidri, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Lefkada
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we were dropped off at the Sands. We were expecting a pretty basic greek hotel but found the place to be much better than expected. Our room was facing the mountain with a great view and very quiet - couldn't hear the poolside chatter and music much at all. The location was great for us as the best bit of beach was just across the road and too far from the main part of Nidri to attract too many sunbathers. We loved the nearby restaurant with the tables right on the beach. It was great to be able to get a cold beer whenever we returned to the Sands. We will certainly be going back to Nidri as we loved being able to get the ferry across to Meganissi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    32
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
71
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We found the Sands hotel to be everything we needed, and for a fantastic price! The owner couldn't have been more helpful and was always on hand to answer our questions, serve food (always delicious) and drinks or just generally have a chat. The rooms are fairly basic but had absolutely everything we needed and were cleaned to a fantastic standard every day. Great location for wandering into Nidri in the evening and the beach is just across the road so it's really perfect. The hotel is small and all the guests were friendly to one another and chatted and had drinks at the bar - very sociable place but we had no issue with noise whatsoever but if you were concerned about this you could request a room at the back of the complex. Great accomodation in a great location, no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Would definitely recommend anyone to stay at the Sands. Had a great time! Nice and clean and as it's quite small it was really nice and quiet around the pool. The owner Laertis AKA Atlantis!!!! is really friendly and great to have a few drinks with on a night. Also makes the most amazing food and really nice salads with his own grown tomatoes. If you stay, definitely go to the weekly bbq - some of the best food we found in Nidri and we ate in a lot of places!! It's opposite the beach and only a short walk to the harbour with loads of nice restaurants! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthWest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a great hotel where the owner goes out of his way to help you enjoy your stay; unlike your reviewer of the 07th Oct who seems to find fault with everything. I was one of the people staying at the hotel on the week when the client complained about the noise, it did not affect me or my party. The owner created a lovely atmosphere where people felt relaxed and the sun was shining. This was shown by the fact that 34 people came to the barbecue and had a lovely meal. I found the rep to be honest, friendly and tried to ensure people had a good time. He did not push the trips down people's throats, he was always there if needed. The food in the hotel was excellent and well worth staying if for. I saw many client's eating at this hotel and many others who ate out as well. I never saw anything to suggest that if you did not spend money at the hotel the owner would take offence. I am not sure what the person below is trying to prove because our group of five people had a great time. If you read all the previous reviews you would see how positive they were. If the client had a problem with noise then he should see the rep and then he could take action .Myself and my friends had a great time, You can join in or do you own thing every one is welcome..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

well,,, lets put this in perspective, if your after loud music till the early hours of the the morning, sitting round a bar with over priced drinks, listening to fat sceaming northern lassess listing to repeats of the birdie song then YES, this is ideal for you, it is loud ,your dictated to when you sleep and when your awoken in the morning, so by all means go there. it is a great location, in the main street, next to a lovely beach, great places to eat and generally really clean and tidy. rooms are always very clean, i got a back terrace which looked on the back of a bushed area but relaxing , there arent any terrace privacy devides which would of been nice..as it is self catering found ourselves eating out , very cheaply in various places on the island, this is at much of the disliking of the owner, as if your not drinking nor eating at his place or joining in with his very loud night time events he will make you very unwelcome and also view his dislike of it ..... after nearly 2 weeks of loud music , screaming lasses and constant appeals to the owners better humour to keep the music down, we decided to move to another hotel for the rest of our holiday.nidri is fantasticly situated, if you want to get about, weexplored the whole island and found some amazing people up in the mountains, hire a quad from santas or a speed boat from dennis and have fun.dont listen to the olympic rep, he cant get you it cheaper, hes lining his own pocket, make deals with the locals instead when hiring stuff youll get it cheaper, will be back to lefkada next year but not at sands hotel, sorry andreas your attitude stinks, find a nicer more peaceful hotel for the same money

Room Tip: want a good room??? choose a differant hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful small, friendly hotel. Ideal for relaxing around a quiet pool. Hotel management cannot do enough for you. Definatley going back in 2013. Highly recommendable hotel. Close to everything you need but in a quiet location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Ideal location opposite the beach and a stroll into town. Have stayed here several times and never been disappointed. Laertis is a great guy always very obliging, you must try his breakfast, the best in town ! There is a good sized pool with sunbeds, the rooms all have balconies with either sea or mountain views. Lots of good restaurants Toms on the beach in town is good and the Pinewood opposite are well worth trying.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Address: | Nidri, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 77 Hotels in Lefkada
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Lefkas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.