We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant very friendly would def. go back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kerkyra Island Studio Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Corfu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kerkyra Island Studio Apartments
Spiros Markatis | Messonghi, 49080, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 431 hotels in Corfu
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant very friendly would def. go back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here with my other half and we had a brilliant time. Lovely family run business mother, father and son.
The food here was lovely we ate there pretty much every night, lovely home brown foods such as jacket potatoes.
They arranged nights like Greek night which was brilliant we booked a table and sat with our next door neighbours which we didnt mind, we were right at the front i had the greek man sit on my lap :P haha. they done the plate smashing etc and got everyone involved in the dancing more than once and the greek food served was really nice Very good value for money!!

Our room was really good for the money we payed. could of done with a double bed though as had to push two together but didnt fuss us too much.
We paid for air con as it was august! it was a must have !!
As far as the utensils and cooking equipment, there wasnt an oven which if you were planning on eating at the apartment isnt very helpful but the food at the bar there was so cheap it worked out just the same plus was really yummy and a good atmosphere!

The pool area was all good nothing bad to say. beautful mountain backdrop.

Is a good 15/20 min hilly walk to get to the nearest shop. which we liked as we wanted to be more remote. Some nice beaches near by. We chose to sit on the sand where it was quieter and only had a few people near us rather than further down the beach on a sunbed where it was quite crowded.
We did not realise they are shingle beaches. when the tide is out you do see more sand. There is stones as you first get into the water then after that sand. there was lots of little fish in the water was nice to see.

Was a really nice place to stay would go there again dont be fooled by any bad reviews you get what you pay for. :)

also was a pool table and bit for younger children to play

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
carmarthen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a great time staying at these appartments, they were very spacious appartments, we had room 108 with fabulous views. Spiros and is family were very welcoming and coudnt do enough for us. Spiros was quite funny when you got to know him. We booked the optional breakfast, which was ceareals, toast and jam, with coffee/tea and orange juice, which suited us fine, There was breakfast available on the menu if you didnt pre book with lots of choice, so if you want variation go with that. The food at the hotel was really good, we ate there most lunch times. There was water and milk available at reception, saves lugging it up the road from the village. The pool area was lovely, and on many days it was very quiet, so no problems with sunbeds. The walk to the village was along the coast line, but the road was quite busy, definitly torch handy when walking back at night. Messonghi, was a small village with some really good restraunts, and shops. Our favourite place to eat was Dionossys Taverna on the beach, fantastic food ,overlooking the beach, very friendly. We had fantastic weather, hired a car from Michaela the rep for 5 days reasonably priced, delivered to the door, no messing about like some people had when booking else where. The whole holiday was brillant, you could be around the pool which was very peacefull, or down on the beach in the village if you wanted it busy. FANTASTICthankyou Spirous and family for a great relaxing 2 weeks.

Room Tip: Room 108 in the appartments down the lane from the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Previous reviews made us doubt our choice of accommodation when we booked with Olympic earlier in the year, however we were greatly surprised with the room, pool and helpfulness of the staff who we didn't find pushy ( as earlier reviews led us to believe). Our room was well equipped including an adequate sized fridge and several hobs for cooking - although the restaurants in messonghi and moraitika were cheap enough for us to eat out every evening. The apartments are 10-15 scenic walk from messonghi, the beach and bus stop to Corfu town. Cholomos is also recommended - a 40 minute up hill walk but well worth it for the views and taverna at the top (spiros will be able to help with directions) would advise setting off early to avoid the heat !
Overall we found this to be a very relaxing and cheap holiday, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went self catering and were given room 108 which had a double bed and a single bed and was very spacious with double balcony. Had everything we needed although we only had cereals for breakfast and made sandwiches to take out for lunch. Just a 10 min walk to mesonghi beach which also had a couple of bars and supermarket or 20 min walk to the next bigger town Moraitika which had lots of bars and tavernas. Walk the other direction took you to taverna Elana run by George very good value for money but tended to run out of some items on the menu by about 9pm. Also a lovely restaurant called fishermans haunt 2 min walk right on the coast fabulous. A 10 min drive to Boukaris lovely restaurant on the coast again stunning scenery and views superb. Corfu town a must shops are brill. Trip to Kassiopi and Kouloros not to be missed and the taverna panorama stunning with views to die for the sea was like a bath with free use of sunbeds and hammocks in the shade if wanted check their website www.panorama.corfu.gr. a fantastic holiday although boat trips a bit on the expensive side euros 28 compared to around £10 in Turkey. We had a car for 5 days instead about euros 140 and Olympic through in a free nights stay at another hotel on the island. All in all a fab holiday and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Room 108 very spacious with extra bed and double balcony although it you had to walk to the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

stayed here 1 week from 7th June 2013. There appears to be a lot of repeat guests at this small family run complex so I guess that speaks for itself. We were slightly disapointed when we arrived to be taken out of the complex to a little way down the lane to a an apartment block which we were not aware was part of these apartments but after our initial disapointment we realised this was not a problem as the area is so peaceful it didnt really matter. The large studio was clean but dated but to be expected for the price you pay we had a large balcony a modern full size fridge, kettle and toaster and 2 ring hob, but to be honest who wants to cook on holiday so fine for eggs for breakfast and cups of tea/coffee toast etc, although you can get a very reasonable cooked breakfast at the complex which was very good value. The pool area is lovely as is the bar and we enjoyed coming back every evening for a night cap and catching up with other guests and we made some nice friends while we were there. i would highly recomend these apartments if you want a quiet well run complex in a lovely part of Corfu that still manages to retain some tradional Greek culture. We will return at some point .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

After reading some reviews about this hotel after booking a weeks holiday here (3-6-13) we were a little sceptical but our conscerns were soon erased once we arrived and met the wonderful family running this hotel, they did everything possible to make everyones holiday a stress free and relaxing holiday, the bus from the airport dropped you off in Messonghi village as the narrow road to this hotel was too tight for the bus, it was then that Spiros the owner of the KIH took over, he took us the short 5 minute drive to the hotel in his mini bus and returned us to the pick up at the end of our holiday. Once at the hotel we were quickly shown to our rooms, the rooms were very large and comfortable with a large balcony, the room had a fridge 2 ring cooker and a sandwhich maker/toaster there were 2 single beds with a sofa bed for a 3rd person table and chairs in the room and on the balcony, the bathroom was very large for Greece standards the hand held shower was over the bath (so the bathroom did not get soacked), great food at reasonable prices was always available in the hotel, speciality nights were held during our stay and were great value, all in all this hotel is the best we have stayed in on all our visits to Corfu,
To put things into perspective, all the guests other than our selves were repeat customers so that says it all, if you feel like eating out there are 4or 5 resturants within 5 minutes walk of the hotel and a lovely 15 to 20 minute walk will take you into Messonghi village centre, if you plan to stay out till after dark, take a small torch for your return to the hotel as the road is narrow in places and street lights are not the best. We would like to thank Spiros, Voula and their son Yannis for a wonderful holiday and we will definately be returning this year (hopefuly 16-9-13)
We thought all the guest there at the same time as us were fantastic and great company, so thank you all.

Quiz man Mel & Christine

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Have just returned from 2 weeks at these apartments. Generally not too bad an hotel for the money but a few niggles. I had requested a room on an upper floor and we had a room overlooking the pool area and as people were sitting on sunbeds immediately next to our balcony we felt we had no privacy especially in the morning. One good thing is that the pool is closed at 7 pm and opens at 10 am. The pool area was kept very clean and the gardens were also very attractive.

We had a very big room but it was extremely basic, no corkscrew! The bathroom could have been cleaner and the towels were so old they were virtually see through and very tatty.

Spiros as one reviewer said is very money orientated and as we spent very little money in his hotel he was less than friendly towards us but his wife was the complete opposite and very friendly. We did not avail ourselves of the entertainment in the hotel so cannot comment but it did seem quite expensive. Also 50 euros a week for a/c I think is quite steep but as it was very hot, necessary.



The apartments are a good 15 mins walk into Messonghi village where the closest supermarket is and there are quite a few tavernas along the beachfront. There are two very good tavernas close to the apartments. We walked in every day to the beach and most evenings for our meal which was no problem and as others have said it is a good idea to have a small torch. Mary the English lady who rents out beds and umbrellas is very helpful with local knowledge

All in all we enjoyed our holiday and for a low budget holiday I would recommend these apartments as long as you don't have high expectations. One last thing which is not mentioned is that the apartments are directly under the flight path to the airport so if windows or shutters are open it can be very noisy (I do appreciate that the owners can do nothing about this). This is a shame as they are located in an otherwise very quiet area.

Room Tip: Upper rooms more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kerkyra Island Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerkyra Island Studio Apartments

Address: Spiros Markatis | Messonghi, 49080, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 431 hotels in Corfu
Also Known As:
Kerkyra Island Studio Apartments Hotel Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kerkyra Island Studio Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kerkyra Island Studio Apartments to your Saves list