We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best reason to always return to Corfu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mirtiotissa Beach

Mirtiotissa Beach
Pelekas to Vatos Road, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 74 Attractions in Corfu
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Dorset
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The best reason to always return to Corfu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We love Greece....we love beaches..........Mirtiotissa Beach - we found this back in 2008. We stepped off the plane, picked up the hire car and our first port of call was to hunt down Mirtiotissa Beach,,,,,,,,,,,driving through olive groves at 7.00 in the morning with our instructions that we had found on the internet we eventually came across a concrete track which led to an empty car park. We jumped out the car and decided to walk as the track was pretty precarious in typical Greek style. We walked down the track past a taverna and following down the hill, it is very steep. There were cars on the sides of the track but we certainly felt safer leaving the car in the care park. Eventually we found the little steps that lead down to the beach. An early morning swim, this beach is amazing, even when busy it is just magical..........we have spent so many holidays in Corfu just because we love Mirtiotissa Beach. If you love nature, stripping off and not worried about people being themselves this is the beach for you. Don't be put off by the access, and the Taverna on the way down has a large car park, they charge for you to leave the car all day, but a far less walk than from the top car park.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    18
    7
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Out of the way, small but beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I have been unlucky with the weather this trip to Corfu, so a few days of sun and we popped to this beach after the reviews on TA. Unlike other reviewed places in Corfu (Lover's Canal - pleeeease) this was not a disappointment. The best thing about it is the lack of development. It's out of the way, there are few people there and a shack in the corner. It's west facing and sunny all day. The waves crash against the shore and the water is crystal clear. Basically, what is not to like?

Well - perhaps one thing. If taking off your clothes isn't your thing, this beach probably isn't either as it's 90% nudist. That 10% stand out (especially when chatting with the nudists or scanning the beach rather too often) and the general idea is to get your clothes off and enjoy feeling the sun against you. Feels wierd at first but soon enough the most natural thing in the world.

To get there, hire a car and bring your satnav. In your satnav, enter the coordinates Latitude: 39.596, Longitude: 19.798429. You will go straight there, no problems. The umbrellas are 2 euro from the shack and the loungers 3 euros each.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Liam61”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Swimming is always best in the nude. It is amazing how quickly any embarassment or fascination disappears. Great sea and great beach.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Gorgeous but not an easy place to reach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

What a fantastic location. Crystal clear warm water and not many people. Divided into two distinct areas - a small sandy beach and rocky coves further along. We climbed in over the rocks which required some care but the water was amazing. Parking is along the narrow road which could get quite congested in season. The road is also pretty steep which might put off some drivers.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“secluded off the beaten track small beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

this is a really small strip of beach .... strip being an appropriate word - its a nudist optional beach ! limited parking if using a car . no facilities apart from soft drink/small taverna/deckchairs . good to find on adventures with a moped ! great views/photo ops from cliff roads into the bay . only several people there when we visited . sandy beach . when tide is in space is limited . ill upload some images now , incl some great 180 panoramic views tho im sure TA will resize them into small nothingness pics lol , lets see

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirtiotissa Beach also viewed

Corfu, Ionian Islands
Paleokastritsa, Corfu
 

Been to Mirtiotissa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirtiotissa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.