We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good located hotel/apartments...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monika Hotel Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Corfu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monika Hotel Apartments
Save
You added Monika Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
| Sidari, 49081 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 426 Hotels in Corfu
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good located hotel/apartments...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Clean and basic apartments. Friendly staff. Nice pool and grounds, bar and snack bar area. Location great for peace and quiet, yet only a 10 minute walk to the centre of Sidari for bars etc. A few tavernas on the way. Main beach busy and quieter beach nearer hotel.

Good prices for meals and drinks in resort. Reception recommended places to eat for good greek specialties.

Lots of excursions if required and Sidari very pretty and green.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    55
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
42
63
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is great if you are looking for cheap and cheerful. The rooms are VERY basic, but the maids are in everyday and the place is spotless! The hotel's pool bar was lovely, we had breakfast here pretty much every day then we went to the pool which was very nice, clean and spacious. There are also plenty of sunbeds around the pool so you won't have any bother getting one. The air con for the room is 35 Euros for the week and my advice...PAY IT! The room was like a sauna before we bought it, so glad we did! There is also the option of buying a safe for valuables, this is 10 Euros for the week. However it is a bit annoying as the safes are all in the reception and you get a safe key but you still need a key from reception to open it. The downfall for me with this hotel is the location. It is about a 10 minute walk away from the strip but there are few pavements so most of the time you are walking on the road and the locals tend to drive a bit on the wild side. Also, mosquitoes are a bit of a problem here, but I guess you'd get that anywhere. All in all, this was a late deal for us and it was a good hotel, we had a great holiday overa

Room Tip: We were in room 34 and the view was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed from 9th to the 16th August, family of 4 including 5 year old twins. we had a lovely time here, we stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was very spacious. The rooms were basic but very clean (housekeeping visited daily), loads of wardrobe space as well.Our children loved the pool, again this area was very well maintained and clean, the food was good here and the staff especially the waitress Denia (may be spelt wrong!) who the kids loved. It was a family atmosphere and all the staff, and guests, were very friendly. Overall we had a lovely, relaxing holiday, the main strip in sidari was far enough away for us to not really notice the nightlife but we could go out if we wanted. The one thing we would have liked was for the Monika to have provided more entertainment in the evenings, the one night they had a singer was enjoyable, Overall we would recommend here for families looking for a budget break in the summer holidays.

Room Tip: 2 bed apts in block are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St'Albans
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a lovely welcome back from the owner, her family and staff. I was touched that they remebered us. All staff are keen to make sure your stay is the best for you.
The apartment (different from last year) was lovely and kept very clean each day for us.
A great place to stay whilst you enjoy all that is offered at Monika (great food, pool and bar), also in Sidari.
This is our 2nd time at Monika (our 8th year in sidari) and the best place we have stayed, we will be back next year.
One tip i now use is that mosquito's hate avon's skin so soft body lotion, i didn't get bitten. At the local shop they sell a good repellant in a yellow can (used to be called autan in England) its about 7.50 euro's but last a long time and works.

Room Tip: We've always had a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was moved here from star studios in st George's south
thank god cause this place saved my holiday.
My first reaction was a lovely welcome and a great atmosphere, very clean and pleasant.
Beds were comfy
The food was fab we only really ate here cause it was a clean place to eat.
The beach was just at the end of the path so literally on ur doorstep. And a short walk to the town I'd say 10 mins along the seafront.
Only one problem is the mozzies my son was bitten a lot, take some raid or buy at the shop to spray ur room cause the repellent does not work.
Pool area lovely
All in all a really nice place to stay.

Room Tip: I think there all quite good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just arrived back from a week at the Monika apartments and already wish we were back there! We arrived early hours of the morning and were directed to our room by the Olympic transfer rep. Our room was basic but clean, tidy and spacious. One thing perhaps worth mentioning is the lack of double beds in the hotel, when we booked, the travel agent specifically mentioned we would have a double room, however on arrival we were greeted with two single beds,we asked the Olympic rep about this and she quite quickly mentioned there were no double beds in the whole of Sidari and we would have to deal with it tomorrow by speaking to another member of Olympic staff (Quite keen to pass the book to someone else - Typical Olympic!!). The next day we mentioned this to Cheryl on reception who apologised profusely and told us we were the third couple that morning to ask about the bed situation and that they don't actually have any double beds. I would see this as fault of the travel agent and Olympic holidays combined and not the fault of anyone at the Monika. We stayed in room 32 facing the river, which was nice but attracted us to our fair share of mosquito's so make sure you take plenty of repellent with you as it can be quite pricey in the resort. We purchased a safe box and air con for our room which was good value.Bedding and towels were changed once during our stay. The pool area around the hotel is large and there are ample sunbeds for everyone. We used the pool a few days and headed to the beach (1 min walk) on other days where we purchased a sunbed for 2 euro 50 for the day! The location of the hotel is great around 10 mins to the main strip, however there are plenty of nice restaurants to eat close by to the hotel and ample on the main strip.The staff at the Monika are fabulous and friendly - Nothing was too much trouble for them at all - Especially Cheryl who came to our rescue a few times including when my hair-dryer broke and when we lost our room key (A result of a few too many beverages one night - opps!) I would highly recommend a stay at the Monika and would love too return sometime in the future! (Perhaps not with Olympic holidays next time)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We arrived at 6am and the reception was closed, no one was there to help with our cases and we were left to wander around to find out apartment by the Olympic rep who eventually gave us our keys with no explanation or welcome to your room..
We were in apartment 5, opposite what can only be described as a swamp..
Our room was extremely clean, very dated but pleasant..
We unpacked slept for a few hours then went down to the pool area which is really lovely, plenty of sun beds and seating areas, pool lovely and warm with lilo's free to use .
Carlos the rep came to do his welcome meeting which was very informative and at the end we even had a complementary ouzo, nice touch.
We decided to book the dinner/bar crawl with Carlos for that evening so we could get to know the area and it sounded good value at €16 euros each with a two course dinner and a shot ( alcholic ) in each of the 5 bars we visited
Carlos gave us directions which were completely incorrect and we went around practically the whole of Sidari but in fairness it could have been a lost in translation moment..
We arrived at 845pm, 15 mins late, we joined another group who were pleasant enough, we ordered drinks and food..
Our food didnt arrived together and was very poor quality altho the restaurant was very very busy.
Once finished we went on the bar crawl for the free 'alcoholic shots'
We walked past lots of busy, lively bars and ended up in the quieter ones, often being the only ones in there.
Bar one, shots were on the bar ready for us..
Disappointingly it was watered down fruit juice!!
We actually found it very amusing, we bought our own drinks , the entertainment was good, this was pretty much the set up for the rest of the bars altho we only saw the free shots in one other bar, when we asked Carlos where our free shots were he glared at us and said we didn't join in so we didn't get them even tho we saw him drink enough freebies, which we thought was odd!
Deciding we'd had enough of being dragged into the quieter bars we left around 3am and went out on our own
We walked back to our apartment and got in about 630am, great start the the holiday!!
After a few hours sleep, we woke, had breakfast and spent the day by the lovely hotel pool.
Whilst enjoying a swim Carlos stormed over asking for a word and then proceeded to sternly tell us off about getting in late and a complaint had been made, apologising profusely whilst inside thinking ' I'm on holiday' surely if a curfew is imposed we should have been informed before booking and we would have stayed elsewhere!
Deciding for the sake of international relations we would be ever so quiet that night when we came in.
Off we went out that night later, enjoying the strip, sampling the local wine which was like paint stripper, we tiptoed in at 430am, early night for us!!!!
Quietly let ourselves in and fell straight asleep.
Whilst dreaming of beautiful golden sands I was rudely awakened by what could only be described as ' hammering' the door down, it took a while to register what the noise was so sleepily I opened the door, it was 10am..
Stood outside was a lady, who I learned later as Cheryl,
Ranting and raving , screaming she must have our passports and that another complaint had been made...
Stood in shock and disbelieve whilst she continued to yell at me for the next ten minutes.
Whilst I appreciate Cheryl had a duty of care to ALL guests she wasn't prepared to listen to my side .
After Cheryl stormed off I got dressed and went to see Carlos, our rep who was due to the hotel at 10am, 15 minutes late he arrived, I calmly told him what had happened and said for the sake of harmony we wanted to be moved hotels which he replied this was out of the question so asked to be moved rooms, this was also not possible altho Carlos promised to try his hardest.
I went back to the room and Carlos came to see me about an hour later with the news we would be moving rooms the next day.
For fear of being complained about we stayed in watching one of the three channels on offer!
The new room (46) wasn't as nice, the beds were very hard but it was basic and fine.
After we moved not one complaint was made..
The long and short of this being we were made to feel like outcasts
We're 43 and 40 y/ o women, just wanting to relax and let our hair down. I'd understand if we had wild parties in our room nightly
The hotel was nice, has similarities to Butlins in the way the apartments are laid out, Mosquitos are a huge problem, we were eaten alive literally, bring plenty of repellent with you as it's expensive to buy.
Overall if your looking for a quiet holiday, in bed early this is the place for you, I found it lacked atmosphere, the pool area has music played quietly and we almost felt we couldn't have fun.
The location is perfect, literally 2 mins from the beautiful beach.
About 10 mins to the main strip which is lively
Altho the start of the holiday was spoilt once we were moved we were left alone..
Cheryl and one of the bar staff waved off our coach and ppl genuinely seemed to like her,
I think if you conformed to the perfect holiday guest you'd enjoy your stay better
On a positive note..
The food/drinks excellent, fairly priced, lovely pool, fab area to shower, dry your hair on the last day when we had to vacate the room.
Altho I wouldn't stay here again my opinion is purely based on being made to feel like troublemakers but for older couples, families with children it's perfect...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monika Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monika Hotel Apartments

Address: | Sidari, 49081 , Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 426 Hotels in Corfu
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Monika Hotel Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monika Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.