We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST HOLIDAY HOTEL IN THE WORLD!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monika Hotel Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Corfu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monika Hotel Apartments
Save
You added Monika Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
| Sidari, 49081 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 427 Hotels in Corfu
blackburn ,lancs.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“THE BEST HOLIDAY HOTEL IN THE WORLD!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

What can I say we stopped here last year and we never go back to the same hotel but we did.
Its hard to desrcribe how brilliant this place is I ..sorry WE love it. Cheryl is amazing and will do anything to help ,we got on so well with her we went out for her birthday.We keep in touch on facebook too,how many places can this happen in the world.
Rooms are basic which is the norm in Greece and dont jump off the wardrobe like i did on the first night when the wife gets frisky ,it breaks haha. The rooms are spotless and the maids work very hard to maintain this.
The hotel owners Katrina and Costas ( I hope I have spelt these right) are the frendliest and most amazing people and I now consider them as friends. We arrived and we saw Cheryl and Costas and we got the most amazing welcome ,how many owners will greet you the folowing year with a hug and a pint...THANKS.
Stefan has left and now Spiros is the barman and he a very good guy and he's like me and tells endless stories and I had a sore throat with laughing about the crazy policeman stopping in the middle of the road with a torch.
Renya(I have no idea how to spell this) is amazing as well and Zena works her scooter off in the kitchen.
The hotel is in a good spot with a gentle stroll to town.
Best taverna... EL GRECO
Worst.....MEMORIES (((((AWFUL))))

DONT THINK ABOUT BOOKING HERE ...JUST BOOK!!!!
ITS THE BEST.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    55
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
42
63
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have just got back from a week long visit to Monika. When I say we I mean two 19 year olds on a couples holiday. We have been to many places and decided to pick a cheap hotel where we could do everything we wanted (excursions, eating out etc.) as opposed to a 5 star all inclusive kind of thing. I have to say Monika was much better than what we expected and I'm glad we did what we did. What you have to remember is the little amount of money you pay for these hotels so go with an open mind. The pros of this place outweigh the cons.

Pros:
Lovely pool compared to similar ones nearby (our friends stayed nearby and we went and saw their pool)
nice sized room with en suite bathroom and balcony
fully equipped bar next to the pool with flat screen tvs showing british programmes.
very cheap aircon (35 euros) and safety deposit box (10 euros)
rooms cleaned everyday
10-15 minute walk to main part of beach or there is a beach literally 200m from the hotel
very friendly staff
helpful rep (although that depends who you book with)
fridge in room was very handy for cold drinks

cons:
The towels that we received were dirty, so we ended up using our own towels which we packed extra anyway because I am really funny about sharing towels
beds are rock solid and very squeaky
we cooked one self catering meal, but definitely don't rely on the facilities. There was no kitchen as such and they provided a plug in hob (one), a sort of microwave oven and a sink. We had to cook on the desk. To be honest this didn't affect us because we weren't planning to use self catering anyway, but if you are a fan of self catering perhaps this isn't the place for you.

It is well worth mentioning that Sidari and nearby places are lovely. Sidari has something for everyone. We did a lot of things whilst we were there such as watersports, renting a boat, theos boat trip and renting a quad bike. If you are up for it renting a quad bike/ car is well worth it so you can visit nearby places. We rented a quadbike because it was cheap and easy to get around on and allowed us to visit arilles, stefanos, asterkira and roda which made for good days/half days out.

Renting a boat is fun aswell, you get to drive it wherever you want. We rented it out for a full day and made great use of this; exploring the coastline (which is lovely) and anchoring up in several places for a swim/sunbathe.

If you visit Sidari you will have a lovely time wherever you're staying, but Monika is a very good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed here in June with my sister. We booked it as a very cheap deal and were initially a bit worried about what to expect.
On arrival we was met by Cheryl on reception. She was so welcoming and friendly. We was shown to our ground floor apartment which had a terrace area. The room was very basic, however it was clean. You had to purchase your own toilet rolls which was something I've never had before...but wasn't a problem as there's a shop a few minutes walk away.
We never had any problems with sun beds by the pool and there's was plenty to choose from each day. The hotels Greek night was excellent fun...well worth the money in my opinion. The hotel bar was always busy too...we ended up there after eating and drinking in Sidari.
I would recommend also going to the Mexican and The Greek Village in Sidari...both offer great food. We also had drinks in Cargo and another bar near there that had a Lady Gaga and Katy Perry tribute which was great fun. It's about a 7 minute walk from Sidari maximum...thats a slow stroll along the beach.
Overall I would recommend this hotel for a cheap and cheerful getaway. It's not luxury but the staff are so welcoming and make the experience great fun. Thanks to Kostas, Cheryl, Spiros and Andrea for looking after us...we would defo come back and we would defiantly recommend this place. Lastly remember to take insect repellent as there's a lake nearby so you can get bitten...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Went for a week in August 2012 the apartments are VERY short walk away from the beach, very friendly and helpful staff, rooms are basic but all you need, cleaners kept on top of fresh sheets and changing bins etc. Barmen are lovely, cheeky and charming!! Lovely clean pool. Get a liquid plug insect repellent! Got eaten alive by mosquitoes on the first night, but that's nothing to do with the apartments! Internet- very cheap! Couple of mins walk from main strip. Supermarkets are a plenty a not far either! Really enjoyed the holiday! =) I will say that there is a cockerel that starts at 5 in the morning! but i found this quite funny and didn't affect the quality of stay for me! Didn't go to the 'Greek' night on Thursday eve,but it was raved about by other holiday makers! Be sure to visit Irish 'Bolero' bar if you like your rock music and Cargo for funny drag queen and good food!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St'Albans
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We've been going now for five years to Sidari,(not counting pre children days) and these are the best apartments we have stayed at. I echo all the good comments that other holidays makers have made about the Monika apartments. The people working there do their very best to make your stay the best for you, working very hard, always ready with a smile. Katerina, the lady who owns the apartments is a gem. Spiros and Costas make the bar/pool side area very welcoming, along with the ladies who cook meals to your order. Cheryl is fantastic, warm, friendly and always ready for a chat, whilst looking after the reception and when joining guests at the bar.
The swimming pool is kept brilliantly clean, and the surrounding areas comfortable to lounge in.
For the youngsters, theres computers with internet to use (a small charge as with everywhere) and internet access (free) for I PADS etc, (heaven sent for my boys)
The food at the apartments is very good, this year we ate more at the apartments than we have any other. There is a good selection of English food, and a choice of Greek traditional meals further on in the menu. Something to suit all tastes i'd say.
We had a lovely family apartment, with two bedrooms, kitchen/diner and bathroom. All rooms were big and roomy, and the cleaners came in everyday to keep the floors and bins clean for us.
The twin bedroom and the dinning area opened on to our own veranda area where we had table and chairs and two sun beds, never had sunbeds by our rooms before.
We were about 100 meteres from the sea, how perfect. Ten minutes stroll from village along sea front past many taverna's.
The river that runs along side the Monika is clean and has a fasinating variety of life in it (showing that it is certainly not stagnant), my favourite being the Terrapins that i used to like to look for on our way out/in, i saw baby ones this year. There's also some big fish which i think are Mullet.
Out and about, there's lots of lovely taverna's in the village to visit, look beyond the English ads and you will find some lovely traditional Greek places.
If you want to go further than Sidari, we always use Vlaseros Travel (opposite three brothers hotel) where phillip is always willing to cater to your choices, and full of good advice if needed. We used Vlaseros for car hie as well. (such reasonable prices for good service)
Being a bit more daring, if its Quad bikes or Mopeds you want, go for Jim's bikes (a bit further up the road from Vlaseros and on the opposite side) we find we get a good deal from him and are happy with what ever we hire. He's well established and knows his bikes. Going up into the hills, seeing all the villages and local people is charming, leading onto lovely beaches around the top of the island.
A great place for all, family, young people and mature couples.
We are now saving to go back next year and staying at the Monika apartments again. When you find somewhere good, you stick with it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff on Sea
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

we booked a last minute deal on Corfu and picked the Monika Hotel due to the great reviews on here, and I'm please to say they were true, The rooms are comfortable and very clean the showers are a little small but I'm qutie a big bloke! The pool is great and gets all day sun pretty much wherever you lay. The bar is where all the fun is had, the Team of Kostas and Spiros make you feel very welcome and are very kind, Cheryl is a great host and has all the inside info on the best places to go in Sidari. We would go back again and hope to next year.
Many thanks Darren & Christina.

Room Tip: River / Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

hi everyone. we have just returned from 2 weeks stay at the monika. firstly i want to say if you are unsure where to stay this is the place for you. it was brilliant.
on arrival Cheryl met us and instantly you could see she was friendly and professional. our room was 9b and it was a spacious studio. great room. the equipment was basic and alittle on the worn side but as its so cheap to eat out we never needed to eat in the room.
the staff were welcoming and the greek night they put on was the best i've seen. watch out for the fire!!!!!!!! Kostas and Spiros are so hard working and friendly too.
a brilliant holiday and a brilliant hotel.
thanks everyone for making it memorable.xx

Room Tip: 9b was ours as we had 2 teenage boys with us 15/17. lovely view and loads of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monika Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monika Hotel Apartments

Address: | Sidari, 49081 , Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 427 Hotels in Corfu
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Monika Hotel Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monika Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.