We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel and staff - typically greek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monika Hotel Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Corfu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monika Hotel Apartments
Save
You added Monika Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
| Sidari, 49081 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 427 Hotels in Corfu
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel and staff - typically greek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Just returned from a week at the Monika. Hotel iit has a great location at the qiet end of the Sidari sea front 1 min from sea and adjacent grass land and small river. There a two blocks with ground floor and first floor rooms, plus smaller blocks with larger rooms. All have air conditioning but this costs 35 euro per week. Mosquitoes can be a problem at night so take some Jungle Formula bug repellent, cheaper stuff doesn't work. All staff speak english and pool has plenty of sun beds. Local supermarket is a bit expensive but good betterdeals in town. Self catreing facilties are basic but for small meals. On site restaurant fair priced but a bit limited in variety. There are two petrol stations as you leave sidari DO NOT refuel at the SECOND ONE as you leave the town ! at one couple and us were short fuelled by the young lads on the pumps here. If you have to refuel at this one watch the dials as they refuel car then check the fuel gauge before parting with your cash. This was our first visit and were very very impressed especially as it is a 2.5 star good value for the rating. Yes we will go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    55
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
42
63
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Got back yesterday from a lovely break in Sidari. Being the beginning of the season, the town was quieter than it may be later on in the year. The bonus was that everywhere was really clean. The beach isn't fantastic but the countryside more than makes up for it, the island is lush but you pay the price with mosquito bites. Be prepared and take, and use, midgie lotion.

The hotel was great, especially the pool which was really clean. A definite bargain and I'll come again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

this was our first time at the monika,and we loved every minute there.the staff were very friendly and coudnt do enough for you. the rooms were basic but were ok .food was really good .they have a great pool and plenty of sun beds.the monika is about ten mins stroll into sidari where there are plenty the of shops restaurants and bars.the beach is a couple of mins walk away but is mostly shingle.the better beach is behind all the bars in sidri,which every one is welcome to use also there are plenty of sunbeds at only a few euros.we found it very good value for money and will definately go back again .the only thing i wud say is take mozzy repellent and a plug in for the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Had a really great holiday. Hotel was small and friendly. We went half board and the meals were great. English breakfast in the morning and choice of 2 meals at night. Enjoyed every meal we had.

Hotel was in a perfect position. It was a 10 minute walk into the town of Sidari so it was near enough for shopping and night life, but far enough away to not have the noise from the town. It was in a very peaceful location.

It is a fairly small hotel, but is comfortable and clean. Our room was cleaned daily to a good standard. Towels were changed daily. The room was basic but adequate and everything was in good working order. One day our shower head fell off and we didn't even have to report it. The maids must have done as when we came back one day someone had been in and fixed it! We found all the staff and the owners at the hotel to be friendly and helpful. The owners were very homely people. Our waiters were excellent.

The pool really is the highlight of this hotel. It is really beautiful with plently of loungers to go round. We had some really lovely lazy days in the sun around this pool. The pool is actually colder than the sea though, but it was not so cold that you just couldn't get in, and it was welcome on some of hotter days we had there.

The beach is a stones throw away from the hotel. The beach by the hotel is adequate. The best beach is in the main town, about a 10 minute walk away. But we always stayed at the beach by the hotel and is was more convenient. Nothing wrong with it anyway, just a small strip of the beach, and in fact we enjoyed it more as it was so quiet, and we could always find a nice quiet spot to swim and sunbath.

Had some good nights at the BED club in the centre of Sidari. Have a quiz at about 9:10, a tribute act around 1030 and then dancing into the early hours. Had some lovely nights there. We won the quiz on 2 nights so had free cocktails 2 nights in a row!!

I would definately recommend this hotel. OK, it is fairly basic, but it is in such a good location, and we found it friendly, comfortable and clean. Would definately like to return. Great holiday!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Monika Apartments and had a wonderful time. After reading reveiws we were both slightly nervous about what to expect with the area and apartments, but we were more than happy with what we found.

Just far away enough from the strip for peace and quiet but a 5 min walk along the beach front takes you to the center of town with some lovely places to eat real greek food and lots of bars. May i suggest Cocktails and Dreams bar just at the crossoads, Yannis the bar man makes the best cocktails.

The hotel itself, the room was basic but it had everything we required. Beds, shower, bath, fridge and we used the cooker once, took awhile to get hot but worked. We didn't have a double bed but just pushed together the two singles. It was cleaned every day, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the Monika special breakfast was one of the best fry ups i have ever had.

Beware of the insects though we got quite badly bitten on the first few nights but after getting some insect spray it wasn't as bad.

We also went on afew trips around the island which i would highly recommend. The mountain safari trip through the old town and up to the highest peak in Corfu was breathtaking and the restaurant you are taken to after was lovely.


All in all we had a fantastic holiday and i would 100% return.

Jenny and George Room 16

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

I just wanted to post a review about Monika apartments as some of the reviews on here haven't been the best and have left a few people worrying about what the place was going to be like when they got there!
This hotel apartment is 2 1/2 star so firstly please remember that. It's not 4 or 5 star so don't go expecting it will be up to that standard!
Our stay there was fantastic! The staff are all very friendly and will do what they can to help you with any problems you may have, the complex is very clean and well looked after. The pool is a good size and there are always more than enough sun loungers around it, so there's no need to get up at the crack of dawn to put your towel down!
Our room was small but clean and it had everything we needed. The cooking facilities were very limited as you usually find in self catering accommodation abroad but it all worked perfectly efficiently! There was a small fridge, an oven with a grill and a single ring hob. Obviously you're not going to be able to cook a top notch meal in the room but it's adequate for making toast for breakfast, warming croissants, cooking pasta and simple dishes. There are plenty of restaurants and bars to eat in around the resort so you would want to go out and enjoy those during the stay anyway. The hotel bar also has a menu so you can get a snack for lunch there, or an evening meal if you don't feel like going out for the evening to one of the restaurants.
It's only a 2 minute walk to the beach where there are sunloungers for hire, also pedalos, motor boats and canoes. Further along the beach is a bit bigger and better kept but beach near the hotel is perfectly ok if you want a bit of peace and quiet from the kids in the pool but don't want to walk far!
The sea was very calm and reasonably shallow for a good way out, so pretty safe for kids. 2 x sun loungers and an umbrella cost 7 euros for the day.

Loads to do and see in the evening for all ages, loads of bars, restaurants, shops etc

All in all we had a fantastic time and will be staying at the same complex next year!

One thing I will say, please take plenty of Mozzie repellent and wear it at all times! There are a lot of them about and even people that don't normally get bitten were getting bitten to death! Also buy some Mozzie killer and spray the room with it every evening before you go out...there's a river/pond across from the hotel and it's a breeding haven for the damn things! More this year than normal apparently but even so be careful as a few people were getting infected bites and having to take trips to the doctors.

PS There were 3 kittens there; 1 black one, 1 white one and one black & white one. If you see them make sure you give them a tickle...and some cat food!! (you can get it in the supermarkets) :o) We named them Feta, Olive and Tzatziki but I'm sure they have hundreds of names!! Timid but very friendly!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I stayed at the Monika at the end of August, it is in a great location - far enough away to be quiet yet a short walk to the supermarkets, small beach, restaurants and main strip.
The rooms are very small & basic - don't expect too much but then how much time do you spend in your room on holiday anyway, if you are going self catering I would plan to eat out instead as it would be hard to cook a meal with the facilities in the room! Saying that though the food in the hotel is very reasonably priced and it is tasty. The shower room is more like a wet room and can be quite dangerous so bear in mind if you have children. The staff were very friendly and pleased to help at any time of the day / night. The pool is large and clean with plenty of sunbeds for use. There are some really lovely restaurants along the beach front nearby, I would recommend checking out the shops along the strip if you want to book any trips, they are far cheaper than booking through the rep.
Last but definitely not least take loads of mosquito repellent!!! The apartments are located right by a lagoon with lots of greenery which I think although pretty it makes the mosquito problem worse! Don't let this put you off though, was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monika Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monika Hotel Apartments

Address: | Sidari, 49081 , Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 427 Hotels in Corfu
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Monika Hotel Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monika Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.