We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Hotel

Save Saved
You added Blue Sea Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Sea Hotel
Argirades | Aghios Georgios South, 49080, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #209 of 431 hotels in Corfu
Lon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. This hotel was good value. A couple of minor issues were quickly dealt with by the friendly family staff. There are plenty of good value restaurants within walking distance.everything we needed for a relaxing quiet holiday. We would go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    15
    10
    12
See reviews for
24
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is our third visit to Corfu and Blue Sea Hotel was the nicest accommodation. We had a nice room with a balcony. Breakfast was basic but adequate. Sometimes a little noisy at night but no worse than at home. We didn't find the staff unfriendly in fact the opposite. Mythos was a little bit more expensive than some of the other places. The restaurant was excellent. We eat there on five out of the seven nights we were there which speaks for itself. It is unfortunate there is no provision to make an early brew in room. (no kettle or cups). We know air conditioning is charged extra at other establishments so this was no surprise to us. It was a bonus that the owners daugher in law is English. Thiswould have made it easier if we had had any problems which we didn't have.

Room Tip: Check if the room has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was our first trip to Corfu and booked the Blue Sea Hotel through the internet. We arrived in the early hours of Saturday and our pick up transport hadn't arrived, as we were very tired we decided to make our own way there and took a cab, (costing 50 euros). The Hotel when we arrived was in complete darkness, with the front door looked. The taxi driver told as to make our way around the back, on going around the back, again with not one light on, we tripped over a hose pipe that was just left laying across the path way, the walkway was very uneven where something had been dug up and just left.When we finally got into the hotel our key & room number were left on the counter. We had booked a double room, but were given 2 singles. IN the morning we asked to be moved to a double room, and the owner were very happy to change the room. The room was very basic and you had to pay 6 euro per day for the A/C. which didn't seem to have any control either it was on and very cold or off. Breakfast was too early 8 -9.30am, as the night live in Corfu starts and finishes late, this was too early . We only made breakfast twice and it was crap. The toaster never toasted the bread so you ended up with hard bread, and the fruit salad was awful. The coffee and tea wasn't bad. We had breakfast in the hotel across the road every day. The shower was terrible and the water was only ever luke warm and after a day of rain, the water run cold all day. The owners and family and staff were were very friendly and worked hard. The hotel just seemed very tired and needed a lot of work done on it it. On our last day we had to be out of our rooms by 11.00am our pick wasn't until 10.30pm so we had to pay an extra 30 euro to stay longer Two ladies staying in the hotel checked out at 11.00am and their pick up wasn't until 2.00am the next morning, as the hotel was far from full, the check out could easily have been made later. . The beach opposite the hotel was lovely, the local people all very friendly and plenty of places to eat. Corfu is a wonderful place when the sun is shinning.Would l go to Corfu again ?. Yes Would l stay at Blue Sea ? No

Room Tip: We stayed on ground floor, don't know what the rooms upstairs were like on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in September and was really disappointed :( murky pool, smelly bed covers, uncomfortable beds, exposed wires, extra charge for air con, horrible breakfast, all guest were unhappy, listening to the family of the hotel arguing, rude staff, unsecure rooms, hotel dogs barking all night, bad value for money, hotel manager unapproachable.

Though the restaurant does serve lovely food in the evening, and the one cleaner does a good job with what there is.

So all in all would never go back or reccomend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

booked this hotel a few weeks before we were due to fly to corfu , we love the st george south area , this was the only hotel left on many websites for the dates we had booked for our flights !, it looked ok on this review site so went ahead and booked it up , paid only 180 pound for week b and b , sounded cheap , first impressions were good , took in a drink at the bar and then went to room , small but fine , you sleep and wash there so having a top class room is not inportant to us ! , went and paid for the air con , 6 euro a nite , really noisy though , took a few nites to get use to it ! but it did work ! , as many people have said , the breakfast was pretty bad at best , our daughter just wouldnt eat anything ! , me and the wife just about ate something , again not a big deal , can get a breakfast from any bar for 6 euro , it just added up at the end of the week ! , didnt use the hotel pool , all sunbeds had towels left on them overnite ! so we used other pools around the area , all free , and the best beach in corfu is across the street ! , large beer is 3 and a half euro , most expensive on the strip ! , again we just used the bar a couple of times , lots of choice in st george town , would we go back ? , if we couldnt get anywhere else in the area we would yes , as the title , you do get what you pay for , but we had no major worries staying here , friendly people , and it is cheap ! , might have to convince our daughter though !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I would definitely reccomend this hotel.
It has 2 stars which is relevant to the price we paid = 200 Euro BB.
Breakfast was little poor, but we bought some food in the next door market so we could use it.
Rooms fine, no fireworks. People working there - very nice and helpful. Pool very relaxing and calm.
We rent a scooter and we took a trip to the most beautiful beaches in Corfu. Generally island is charming and one and only. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is third stay at the blue sea hotel and again we were not dissapointed.
The hotel is nicely placed close but not to close to all the bars and resturants of St george. There are several small and large beaches within easy walking distance. The hotel has a nice swimming pool, lovely gardens and adequate rooms with air con if required. The hotel has a lovely bar and resturant well worth a few visits during any holiday. The hotel is owned by a greek family who are very friendly, but a bonus is that a member of the family claire is british who is very knoledgable and always has time to help or advice on anything. Myself and my family have been holidying in st george for 10 years and have stayed at several hotels. The Blue sea has always been value for money. As stated in my previous reviews of the hotel the breakfast was not up too much but the hotel was cheaper than other hotels without breakfast. I am glad to say the breakfast has improved and although not everything was to my taste there was more than enough to keep me happy. If you are looking for a friendly, value for money hotel then I am sure you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Best rooms I believe are on second floor which get more of a breeze during very hot nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluesea14, General Manager at Blue Sea Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We loved having you here and look forward to seeing you all again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Hotel

Address: Argirades | Aghios Georgios South, 49080, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 431 hotels in Corfu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Blue Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.