We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday, rooms let the hotel down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Athina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Athina to your Saves list
Athina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Aghios Stefanos, 49081, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 427 Hotels in Corfu
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday, rooms let the hotel down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Have just returned from a week at the Athina, 2 couples aged 24-25. Had a lovely holiday and would definitely recommend Corfu and San Stefanos.

Food: I was quite apprehensive about the food having read some of the reviews on here, but I was pleasantly surprised.
Breakfast was basic, you got tea/coffee and juice with 2 slices of toast and butter/jam. On top of this you could choose one from the following: corn flakes, 1 fried egg, scrambled egg, fruit salad (mostly watermelon) or pancakes with sugar/honey/chocolate. If you were extra hungry you could pay 3 euros for a cooked breakfast. but you got 2 eggs, beans, tomato and only one bit of bacon and one small sausage. So it didn't really seem worth it. Quality was okay, but the toast was typical rock hard holiday toast!
I was convinced we would be eating out after reading on here about the evening meals, but they were actually really nice. There were 4-5 choices for each course, e.g. vegetable soup, stuffed vine leaves, lasagne, garlic bread, meat balls for starters, mousakka, pork gyros, omelette with choice of filling, chicken breast, baked fish in sauce, beef pasta hotpot etc for main course and choices such as ice cream, fruit salad, cheesecake, creme caramel and strawberry cake for dessert. You always got a lovely fresh basket of bread on the table as you sat down. Everything I ate was tasty and fresh- and I declare myself a fussy eater so this is quite an achievement!

Staff: The staff are one of the strengths of the hotel, the reception staff very quickly learn your room number, the barman remembered our drinks and took some lovely pictures of us all together, the head waiter (George?) was really funny and not rude at all as others have suggested, another waiter went ot great lengths to swat a wasp that was bothering us one day! It's a family run hotel, the children of the kitchen staff even bring out menus and clear tables as well as working on reception- very sweet!

Pool: The pool area is even better than it looks in the pictures, and really quiet too. There are 40 rooms in the hotel, and I totted up roughly 120 sunbeds- you can do the maths on that one! Even though the pool is open to the public we always managed to find 4 sunbeds together, even in the afternoon. The pool bar serves tasty and very reasonable lunches, looking out onto the pool. A perfect place to spend a day, with the sound of the sea in the background.

Rooms: This I feel is where the hotel really falls down. We were initially shown a room that stunk of smoke, so we asked to move. Thankfully they had another room spare, so we accepted. However the room was on the ground floor (in fact it was down a flight of stairs from reception), and the view was terrible. Now we don't mind overlooking a road or a hill, but we had a generator type fan outside which was really noisy, and a sort of allotment outside. This meant there were loads of flies about, so we couldn't have our patio door open. We didn't sit out on the balcony as there was nothing to look at except a high wall in front of us and a derelict building if you looked right. We asked to change to an upstairs room but were told to go back after 2 days, which we did and they told us that they were full. One piece of advice to come from this- PAY FOR A SEA VIEW!! There are only 7 sea view rooms but they looked worth every penny.
The actual room was quite shabby, the mirror light didn't work, the hairdryer (one of those tubes on thw wall) broke after 2 days and the curtains were coming off the hooks. The shower cubicle door wouldn't shut properly hence the floor flooded, and there were all bleached patches on the carpet where they had removed past stains. There wasn't much storage in the room, so if you went there with children you'd struggle.
Our friends had a top floor room overlooking the front entrance, they seemed happier with their room so it's a bit hit and miss.

Overall we did have a lovely holiday but it was really let down by having such a basic room which needed a bit of TLC. I know it's only a place to sleep (on the hard beds!) but we personally wanted a bit more of an enjoyable base, which this hotel room could not provide.

I hope this is a fair representation of the hotel, other than the rooms it's difficult to fault and I am sure you would enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
77
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

I chose this hotel after reading the other reviews and they were spot on. The view when sitting dining is stunning and the whole place is spotless.
Never at any time did I feel anything but relaxed. The staff are so friendly and efficient. Our room faced inland but that was fine. Loads of empty sunbeds surrounded the swimming pool which led straight onto a sparklingly clean beach.
The only let down for us was the food. After a couple of tastless dinners we chose to eat in the local tavernas. Everyone else seemed more than happy to eat in the hotel where the service was quick and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

Although the bedroom decor is looking a little bit tired, it's more than made up for by the location and the friendliness of the staff.

Location - excellent. It's right on a lovely beach and a couple of minutes walk from the village centre (set back off the main road so it's nice and quiet).

Rooms - As said above, decor is looking a bit tired, but the room was kept spotlessly clean. There was a fridge available to put your own drinks in which was very handy, TV, air conditioning available at extra charge, hairdryer in the bathroom, and large balcony with clothes rack ready to hang towels etc. on.

Public areas - Huge swimming pool with free sunbeds and lilos, pool cafe/bar, dining room which was actually a covered terrace overlooking the pool and beach so dinner watching the sunset was lovely. There was also a bar and large lounge with TV, pool table.

Staff - Owners and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and made you feel at home. All spoke excellent English.

Food - Although there have been mixed reviews re. food, we found it pretty good and ample portions. It was all waiter service. Breakfasts were continental (including fried or scrambled eggs) but you could pay for full English. Dinners had a choice of 4 - 5 starters, mains and desserts.

San Stefanos was a lovely destination for a quiet holiday. Plenty of bars and restaurants, few supermarkets and gift-type shops - every single place we visited we found the staff very friendly. Beautiful clean sandy beach with safe bathing. Several areas with sunbeds to rent - we rented ours from the lovely lady just to the right as you walk out of the hotel onto the beach.

Overall we found it a very relaxing and hospitable place to stay, and if we were the type who returned to a destination - this would be it.

  • Liked — Location and staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

The hotel was very well situated and very clean. Swimming pool and access to the beach was first class. Our room was very basic and in need of refurbisment. Bathroom lacked shelf space
and the shower flooded the floor space. Room was keeped very clean. Views from the balcony were great. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Continetal breakfast was two slices of toast and
jam ( with fried egg). or fruit salad . etc. Evening meal we had a choice but was not impressed with the food.San Stefenos has a great beach and the village is very clean.Plenty of good eating places. A few inprovements to the rooms and the food and this would be a top class hotel

  • Liked — Views from the hotel
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUMBRIA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

25 May 2007 two weeks, 8, 45, 59, 74

Athina Hotel in San Stefanos nw Corfu, a lovely setting overlooking the sea. We went onto our bedroom balcony and I said WOW out loud so it must be good. Spotless clean hotel, bar and reception staff cannot do enough for you. The head waiter George is a bit grumpy and can be a 'jobsworth'.

The pool is magnificent and never crowded, plenty of sunbeds at all times. We had great weather and used the pool a lot. Path from here straight onto the glorious beach.

Big tv in bar area where we watched football, admittedly sometimes the commentary was in Greek! This area was never crowded and always very clean. The wine is not drinkable and comes from a great big bottle. We did try an expensive bottle of wine but that too was not good. G and T's fine.

The food was nothing to shout about, tho' the soup was dreadful, have the fruit juice instead. Some main dishes were really good, the pudding in the first week was creme caramel every night which we loved. We ate a few times in the village, little prince most often, always good. The Olive Press was the only place we got decent wine, the food very good if a little more expensive than most. The mexican was ok but the service became very slow when more than a couple of tables were occupied.

There is no lift at the Athina and there are stairs to all rooms, plus extra steps to get to the pool.

Lilos are stored over the far counter of the pool bar so you don't need to take them up to your room.

We soon discovered Corfu has a lot of snakes when my daughter saw her first on the grass next to the steps down to the pool, she screamed, the snake was more frightened than her and sped off. We were in a taxi coming back from a chenist in Sidari - none in San Stephanos- when we had to stop on a bend, to let an enormous snake cross the road! This has not put us off and we have just returned from Kerkyra Golf hotel near Corfu town.

We had a lovely family holiday here and will probably go back one day, we like to try different places that's the only reason we've not been back yet.

  • Liked — Location, location, location, pool fab, great views from bar and room
  • Disliked — no entertainment for children.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

The Athina hotel is in a great location. It is located on the beach, yet only a short stroll to the village San Stefanos. The pool is a very nice size and spotlessly clean. Although open to the public we never experienced any problem in getting a sunbed each morning. This a family run hotel and the staff are all very hospitable, nothing is too much trouble. Both a couple and family hotel, which caters for all. It is a Thomson hotel and tends to attract predominantely the British. I do have a few negatives though which I feel I have to mention; the food overall was not very good, breakfast very basic and the evening meal bland. We tended to eat breakfast at the Condor round the corner (v.good)and there are an abundance of traditonal greek or international restaurants on your doorstep. Rooms are basic and a bit dated, with no toiletries provided, however they are very clean. N.B I
am used to the standard of European hotels so I could be a bit fussy. Overall I would recommend this hotel, but shop around for deals.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Athina for 2 weeks in May/June this year. What can we say - well it was just fantastic! We enjoyed it so much that on our return we immediately booked it again! We can't wait to return. All the staff made us feel so special, we felt like friends, Olga and Karina on reception could not do enough for us. George, Yannis and Spiros looked after us in the restaurant, Sonia cleaned our rooms lovely and left fluffy white towels every day, and Sprios the barman, he was great! Yes, you really know all the staff by their names, and they remember yours! The welcome is personal, you don't have to read about the hotel in a book! The food was great, we were half board and we didn't eat out once! there is a lot of variety, don't believe all you read! It was great, we have booked half board again. Rooms were wonderfully clean and the view was to die for! we had a full sea view room and it is well worth it. Even the lady on the beach Ourania, down the wooden path from the hotel and turn right, she really looked after us. We had a wonderful time and could not fault Hotel Athina or San Stefanos, and would recommend it to anyone. The beach is fantastic, and the village is lovely to walk around in the evening, you can relax in a quiet taverna, or watch traditional greek dancing which is good to see nowadays! or watch the tribute acts in the Condor. Book the trips with San Stefanos Travel they are a lot cheaper than Thomsons! Mango Bar on the beach or Waves is good for lunch. One word of warning though! when you walk into the restaurant the views are so breathtaking that you are unaware of the step! be careful! If you visit the Athina, we are sure you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Location, lovely sunsets, cleanliness, and friendliness of the staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athina

Address: | Aghios Stefanos, 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 427 Hotels in Corfu
Hotel Class:3 star — Athina 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Athina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athina Hotel Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.