We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelagos Bay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pelagos Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelagos Bay Hotel
Lourdata | Skala, 28082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 91 Cephalonia B&B and Inns
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place - Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just arrived back from 7 nights at Pelagos bay! this is our second time here, the first being some 11 years ago, this is a great hotel, Billy and Barbara welcome you on arrival and cannot do enough for you! the room and complex is spotless, the views form the balconys are fantastic as all rooms have seaviews! a really great place to holiday and we will definetly be visiting again! Must try the Patisserie half way along to the village amazing cakes! and plenty of taverna's and bars in the village to choose from, however you only have to go next door to either the boat or the old times for a great evening meal, we had an amazing time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    33
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
83
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galashiels
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned from 11 nights at the pelagos bay hotel and wish we were still there. Great hotel for all, spotless, friendly with a great pool. Love that all the rooms have a sea view. The cove across the road made our holiday as it was quiet and perfect for swimming and snorkelling. A decent but lovely walk to the beach and resort which are both beautiful. A must is the Captains bar for cocktails along with the Old times restaurant (next to hotel) for a memorable meal with lovely view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinmel Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

this was my 4th time to skala but 1st time to pelagos bay. its very clean and all the staff are friendly. when you arrive they take your bags and take them to your room they greet you. during the day the women who worked at the bar were always smiling. at night yannis was always happy always smiling and when you went out at night he would always say have a good night and when you got back he always said welcome home which is nice to see he always said yammas or respect and the atmosphere at the bar was amazing all day round. the pool had a little waterfall and a basket ball net. it was never to busy at the pool and bar which was good. they have there own little cove across from the hotel and its a very beautiful cove i would recommend this hotel to anyone whos going to skala hopefully next year when we come we can get the hotel,
. had an amazing time :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the Pelagos (29/7 - 06/08). This was our first stay here, and it won't be our last. Billy and Barbara were so welcoming that you were treated more like friends than guests. The entire complex was spotless. The room we had (rm 19) was very spacious and the views from the balcony were beautiful. The snacks from the snack bar menu were freshly cooked and of excellent size portions. At night the bar area came alive with the charismatic Yannis. That man is a living legend and made the evenings so enjoyable. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

this being our 8th time to skala have been coming since 1995, but first time in this hotel :

pros - the staff are very friendly and the hotel spotlessly clean, rooms really big and cleaned well every day.

cons- other people have put its a 10 - 15 min walk to skala its NOT! its more like 25 min to centre of the village and that's if you don't dawdle, if like us you like to be in the village day as well as night it does get a bit tiresome.
Breakfast well there's toast, toast or toast, orange juice and tea, coffee, there are no eggs cereal or meat and cheeses unless you pay for them ie 2.50 euro for a bowl of cereal/ 4.50 for fruit and yogurt ,7.00 for full English(which was very nice) and was the more value for money.

drinks were also more expensive, yes I know captive audience, but some of the other hotels we used were cheaper and larger glasses.

all in all have booked skala for next year but am staying else were nearer the village and does have proper full continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

As soon as you set of the coach you know that this is going to be a great place. Billy, Barbara & the staff all welcome you to the hotel & the island, take your bags to your room for you while you indulge in some refreshments. I have never known this to happen unless we were at an all inclusive hotel. Great start to the holiday.
Once you get settled in you start to realise what a nice place this is, friendly, clean & tidy, chatty people (not affraid to talk like the Russians & Germans) all of who are british.
The food in the hotel is very good, Billy's mum cooks a few evenings a week & very good it is too.
Next door is a fantastic taverna called Good times Taverna, give it a go it is excellent & reasonably priced. Have the bread & dip, mmmmm lovely.
If you are looking for a quiet holiday this is just for you. A 30 min slow walk into Scala village is a must, or a taxi at 5 euro's. Stopping of at the cake shop on the way for a well earned rest in the heat. It was 45 deg the day we arrived but cooled down a little after a few days into the high 30's.
Once in the village there is a bar, just the one which i seen that played a bit a of music, a few super markets & trinket shops, jewellery and the like. Then you got the Taverna's ! There's a few about the village & they are all fantastic, don't go back to the same one untill you have tried a few of the others. Socrates Taverna is run by Anastasia's family.(Anastasia is the day barmaid at the pelagos) It was an amazing meal & the staff were so helpful & friendly, but there are plenty to choose from.
I could go on forever about this place, it is such a lovely place to holiday & probably the best part of greece that i have been to, & i have seen a fair bit of Greece over the years.
I never return to a place that i have visited before, but I already looking to go back next year. I can't wait.
Thanks to Billy, Barbara, Anastasia, Yannis (evening barman), Jo Jo (evening barmaid) and the pool boy who is from albania & such a nice chap to talk to but i forget his name.

Give it a go, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, so no need to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellent holiday in a pleasant resort on a beautiful island. Hotel is lovely, Barbara and
Billy and their family make you most welcome. Rooms are kept very clean and Barbara
keeps an eye on everything to make sure all is running smoothly, she is very hands on.
The food at the pool bar is very good and they have a specials night 3 times a week.
The specials are cooked by Billy's mother and are excellent. Pool area lovely and all
rooms have a sea view which is stunning. Only drawback (did not bother us) is there
is only toast and jam for breakfast if you are Bed and Breakfast accommodation, you
can purchase a cooked breakfast, yoghurt etc from the pool bar if you wish. Weather
was very hot so having had lovely meals in the evening, toast and jam was sufficient
for us. We have just come back from a week at this hotel (16th June 2013) and will
definitely be thinking about going back in the near future. Well worth the 1 hour
40 mins coach journey from airport. Also an excellent restuarant Old Times a
few mins walk from the Pegalos Bay if you do not want to go into Skala every night.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are the best, bath and shower. We had room 25 on the end of one of the blocks. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelagos Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelagos Bay Hotel

Address: Lourdata | Skala, 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Cephalonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Pelagos Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelagos Bay Hotel Greece/Ionian Islands - Cephalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelagos Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.