We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I miss it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maria Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maria Anna Hotel to your Saves list
Maria Anna Hotel
Lourdata, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 144 Hotels in Cephalonia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I miss it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Manage to book a last minute holiday here last Sept for cheap! Location and views are amazing, unless you get the room at the side with no view which we unfortunately did.

Very relaxing poolside and massive portions of food! Staff were always very happy to help and were cheery and always interacting with guests. Pool only ever really had up to 3 in it which was nice too!

Anna, the owner who usually runs the bars and does the food unfortunately had a bike accident and was hospitalised during most of our stay which was a shame as we had heard lovely things about her. This also meant the hotel guests had to scrap in in breakfast with some guests cooking and serving breakfasts for everyone else. Still it was nice to see people working together as a unit.

Really nice place to go for couples, def not really a children place as it's for piece and quiet. They offer good tours and there's a good selection of places to eat. (Olive Garden is known to be the best and their BBQ's are definitely not one to miss)

If you're looking for a simple hotel and just want to relax, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the view. Don't get the corner room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    25
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
63
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Loved my stay at Maria Anna. My first holiday on my own but was welcomed and looked after. Friendly and also not over attentive giving me my own space. Room small and basic but clean and recommend getting air con well worth it. Pool area great and bar and food excellent. Would definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Olympic Holidays – OlympicHolidays.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014 via mobile

At this time of year the hotel is very quiet but the welcome and hospitality is anything but. Views from the excellent pool terrace or sea view rooms are wonderful with amazing sunsets. Grub is plentifuI and VFM.
I saw a review about Jenny (and staff) working tirelessly, and I witnessed her continue to do so despite 20+ head stitches and a neck collar due to a recent motorcycle accident (caused by 2 elderly Brits in a hire car).
Andy the yam yam barman is good company and a wealth of knowledge about the Island.
If you're going to the beach, (1/2 hour on foot) and there are 3 but only Lourdata has facilities, use a hire vehicle, bus or cab unless you're very fit for the return steep uphill leg! Dont attempt the "goat track" in anything less than trainers! Plenty of good bars and restaurants locally, and good connections to Argostoli and the rest of Kefalonia.
Late travellers beware, the buses stop 30 September and we were last to leave the hotel on October 6th, everything in resort closing then, but for a late relaxing sunny break you could do an awful lot worse

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Small and very friendly with great Greek hospitality.Pool and bar area never overcrowded and Andy is on hand to offer help and advice.Bar snacks very good, big enough to share and Jenny and Gregory are there to please their guests.Rooms were basic but clean and towels were provided.Fantastic views and our bedroom had a modern shower room ,AC, fridge and kettle plus sunshine on our balcony most of the day.Good choice of restraurants close by,
Olive Lounge, Le Mer our favourites.The only negative thing --- beds were very low and rather hard.Great value holiday.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Olympic Holidays – OlympicHolidays.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Kefelonia is a quiet island and if you want to explore you def need to hire a car and pray for the locals driving. The Maria Anna is made by Andy the barman/receptionist/everything else is amazing great for local knowledge and his cocktails are to die for. We would go back just for andy

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

This is the most engaging place we have stayed anywhere in the Greek islands. Jenny (the owner) works tirelessly and the staff cannot do enough for you. If you have a sea view from your room you will wake up to some stunning views of the islands coast line, the downside is that you have to tear yourself away for breakfast but this is served in a delightful shaded terrace area. When you eventually return to your room you will find it spotlessly cleaned courtesy of ‘Dora’ who is always smiling. For local knowledge you have to travel no further than the pool bar where you find local guru ‘Andy’ (alongside of the usual he also fixes a great ‘nightcap’ on request) This bar is usually full of people who have been to this delightful place before. !) If you’re not full after a lunch time ‘snack’ prepared by hotels excellent chef then we would recommend the islands famous ‘Olive Lounge’ a five minute walk away. Car hire is available locally and there is a local bus service to the nearby Lourdata beach (well worth the 1 euro fare for the trip back up the hill !) We booked this hotel late due to our work commitments and just wanted somewhere to relax and unwind and if that’s what you’re after then - this is definitely the place for you. Carol & Mike x

Room Tip: Sea view a must - the view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

We have stayed here twice now and it's the friendliest place ever. We usually hire a car but this time used the local buses but really a car is needed to get around. We were disappointed that Trapezaki beach no longer had sun beds on the nicest part. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday. The food is delicious and the staff are the nicest that you will ever meet

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view. The inland view ones are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maria Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Anna Hotel

Address: Lourdata, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 144 Hotels in Cephalonia
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Maria Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Anna Cephalonia
Maria Anna Hotel Greece/Ionian Islands - Cephalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria Anna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.