We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean basic typically greek accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Socrates Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cephalonia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Socrates Studios
Save
You added Socrates Studios to your Saves list
Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 145 Hotels in Cephalonia
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“clean basic typically greek accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

we booked the studio accommodation through Olympic Holidays. for the price we paid the studio was exceptional value. everyone at the taverna was friendly and we had a great holiday. the studio ( we were in number 2) was basic but comfortable. no air con but there was a fan available for hire if needed. the mosquitoes were biting - even in mid May, later in the season these and the heat may be a problem for some. the food on offer in the taverna - open from 6.00 pm - was excellent - we went there for our evening meal every night it was so good. there was no washing up liquid, tea towel or sponge/dishcloth - although these can be purchased quite cheaply in the local supermarkets. possibly we were the first visitors of the season and what we bought (and left) would be left for future visitors? as is usual in Greece - it is not possible to have your shower without flooding the bathroom - Socrates studios do have a mop in the bathroom to mop it up though, so it all dries out a bit quicker. highly recommended for a budget break.

Room Tip: Studio 2 is over the taverna to the front. it is a large room with a double and 2 single beds. also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Clean,basic,value accomodation in Scala.A truly beautiful island,a must go to place.People and food also fabulous.Only minutes away from the town centre and beach.Had a grand day out on a boat and also a coach tour of the island.All in all a lovely,relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for a week in July 2012 and had a fantastic holiday. Great value for money, transfers ice used in the price with Olympic was great as otherwise think it would be very hard to get to. Basic room, yet had everything you needed! Only gripe with the facilities was that our hob took forever to heat up, but that wasn't really a problem.

The location is fantastic, with a swimming pool seconds away from the hotel, the beautiful beach and great bars and restaurants only minutes away. If we had had more money we would have tried an expedition as they all sounded fantastic (worth going for the meeting anyway as we got a free glass of ouzo and also discovered a lovely restaurant that we had a beautiful meal and too many cocktails in later in the week). Socrates and his family were also lovely and the food we ate in the restaurant was brilliant. My one tip would be to bring bite creams, plug ins etc with you as I got bitten to shreds. Luckily there was also a pharmacy just around the corner with very helpful, English speaking staff.

If you visit the beach it is worth paying slightly more for the loungers with the straw parasols and table complete with ash tray and drinks holder, the lady who runs these is lovely. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Studios are in a great location just a short walk to both the beach and resort centre, however we did not find the road at the front to be very busy. The bin collection is every day and around 7am.

We booked through Olympic for a family of 3 for a 2 week holiday.

The flight arrival was on a Sunday around 9pm and we arrived at the apartment somewhere around 11pm. When you arrive you will be directed to your coach and given an envelope which will have the apartment number allocated to you on it. We had apartment 1 which is on the first floor facing the road and pool opposite. On arriving at the studios you will not find a reception and make your own way to the room, where the keys are already waiting in the door for you.

The room. you get what you pay for very basic, but the beds were found to be comfortable. We had a double and single bed in our room, shower room was clean but has a slight smell, plus the fact when you do have a shower it’s very easy to flood the floor. The room has a small fridge and a two ring cooker, neither are very good but we didn't come for the room. Although I have to agree fully with Lewis about the A/C this is a must in the heat, we were also facing the road where the sun comes to the front around 1pm and starts to heat the room up, this continues till around 8pm in the summer months. The temperature was in excess of 40 degrees every day and increases a few degrees from 2pm till around 5pm. The room becomes a sauna and is no fun getting ready to go out in the evening, or trying to sleep at night. You can hire a fan but will need this to be next to your face to enable you to sleep. Would suggest you request rooms 3, 4 or 7 as these are all rear facing. Room 7 is an apartment not a studio, it also does have A/C only room at this time. Fans are hired for 1 Euro Per Day and the Room with A/C is 5 Euros Per Day if you’re lucky enough to get this room.

Should you wish to make a packed lunch or such like the space is limited and again like the previous review stated you have to balance on the sink/drainer/hob. The plastic garden furniture table chairs are poor, with a mish-mash of cutlery and crockery where more than a few useful items down.

Rooms on the first floor have no mosquitos screens on either the doors or windows so make sure you take the precautions if you don't wish to be bitten. The biggest plus we found was the pool which is opposite this is less than 20m away, not very busy when we were there and the staff are fantastic.

We did eat once at the Taverna below where you should receive a 10% discount for staying at the apartments above. You need to remind them or you won't get it. We found the meal to be average when we ate there. On another note we tried loads of different restaurants and found the cost was about the same at each one a meal for 3 with a drink plus a bottle of water 35 to 40 Euros. I would recommend the following as these were our favourites - 1 The Regina (this is a five star hotel go down to the beach turn left about a 10 minute walk once you’re at the beach). 2 Village Inn (you will have your rep meeting in this restaurant, from the hotel turn right and walk to the main street turn left, it’s the third shop/building on your left). 3 The Pines (as before go to the main street turn right lt’s the last restaurant on your left).

Room Tip: If possible room 7 for the A/C or rooms 3 and 4 these are all rear facing and don't get the sunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Studios are in a great location just a short walk to both the beach and resort centre. Yes the road is busy and the 6am bin collection noisy, but it isn't a deal breaker.

We did however find the room to be in a less than clean state on arrival (sandy and dusty floor) and it would have been nice to be greeted and introduced to our hosts (who you may struggle to find before 6pm when the taverna opens).

We stayed in a top floor studio for 3 people facing the road.

Although we have stayed in accom in Greece before without air conditioning the fact that the balcony receives full sun from lunch until sunset makes the room unbearably warm in an evening! Although the windows do have louvered shutters when its 40degrees at midday these are not enough. Either external fabric shades or air con really are a must!

It would have also helped if all of the mesh fly screens which allow you to sleep in midge free company with the windows open at night were working as the main patio screen was non existent and meant we had to keep these doors shut. A 32degree room at midnight is no fun!

The room is capable of sleeping three although you would struggle to keep that number of people happy with the additional facilities provided. There is no worktop space on which to make drinks or prepare a packed lunch and you have to balance on the sink/drainer/hob, the plastic garden furniture table and 2 chairs would be a squeeze for 2 to eat at if you wanted to and the mish-mash of cutlery and crockery where more than a few useful items down.

On the plus the bed was comfy, the fridge reasonably large with a great small box freezer and the shower really powerful even if you do soak the room in the process.

We had a great holiday mainly thanks the accommodations location, but 2 star doesn't have to mean you endure a hot room and that simple maintenance, facilities and cleanliness standards have to slip.

Room Tip: I would request a room that doesnt front the road to avoid the noise and late day sun which made our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Basic but in a great location. We had a huge 2 bedroom apartment with balcony on the top floor, the only downside was the tiny bathroom and the lack of a kettle, although we did have a small pan that we could boil just enough water in for 2 cups of tea.
The taverna below was great, I highly recommend the meatballs and the house white wine was lovely. The staff were very friendly
We did have air con in the main bedroon but didn't need it as the building is quite cool, I think you have to pay extra for it in the taverna as the controls are not in the room but I'd see how you go first.
There was a good sized fridge and two cooking rings that we used for toasting bread on, lol

This was our second and final trip with Olympic, they are not a trustworthy cpmpany and will rip you off at any opportunity. DO NOT book in flight meals as they do not exist on Thomson airways but Olympic will happily take your money and make you jump through hoops to get it back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

well just back from our 6th visit to skala and our first stay at these studios,its true what they say you get what you pay for,but after saying that these studios are comfortable and in a real good spot, if you know skala they are facing the big hotel and adjacent to the skala hotel, the beach is only a stones throw away so a very good choice, the owners are really nice too socrates and helen. they have a taverna below the studios which serves really good food the sea bass was fab! i think the only negative we had was the bin men in the mornings around 7am but hey its one of those things.

Room Tip: best rooms 5 and 6,good balconies and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Socrates Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Socrates Studios

Address: Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 145 Hotels in Cephalonia
Number of rooms: 181
Also Known As:
Socrates Studios Greece/Ionian Islands - Cephalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Socrates Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.