We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitsis Grand Serai Congress & Spa Ioannina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mitsis Grand Serai Congress & Spa Ioannina to your Saves list
Mitsis Grand Serai Congress & Spa Ioannina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dodonis 33, Ioannina 45332, Greece (Formerly Grand Serai Congress & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Ioannina
La Jolla, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Welcome oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Arrived at the Grand Serai after a fairly tortuous day of travel, and felt like we'd fallen into the lap of luxury. Slightly over-the-top crystal and marble, but totally goes to the Byzantine atmosphere. The rooms are really thoughtfully- and sumptuously- designed, and the restaurant delivers delicious food. Even more of a surprise was Ioannina itself. Had no expectations, but is is a very pretty city with a hip vibe (probably due to its being a university town.) Would look forward to another stay at the Grand Serai should I even need to return to Ioannina!

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the lake, which is probably the view to request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    57
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
71
3
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
israel
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is a top notch hotel and we can heartily recommend it to people visiting Ioanina and the area. It is very well located near the center of town with a large convenient parking lot (even when nearly full the staff were helpful in finding an empty spot). The lakefront is an easy 10-15 minute walk down the main street. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and glowing as were the very spacious room and well appointed bathroom. Every member of the staff that we came across was friendly and helpful, but especially noteworthy was the warm welcoming attitude of the maitre d' of the restaurant/breakfast room (unfortunately we did not catch his name). The breakfast and dinner buffets were generous and delicious with a great variety of Greek and international dishes available.
The hotel's "grand" oriental interior design might seem a bit over the top, but that is a question of taste and does nothing to degrade the overall excellent experience.
A maintenance issue to be mentioned is the part of the bathroom door frame that became detached. We had no time to deal with this, but I would imagine that it was fixed after we left. Again, this did not diminish our great satisfaction with the hotel.
Value for money was also excellent as the standard internet rate included half-board (breakfast and dinner buffets).
We would definitely visit again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

low personnel performance, inefficient though pretentious and with fake care attitude,
unusually easily disorganised and with serious incompetence in problem solving

hotel is overdecorated with luxurious - like stuff with strong emphasis in oriental design but nevertheless water drained in lobby (handled with towels on floor and unreasonable shouting!)
not providing wifi in rooms in 2012 is at least ridiculous
food below average (but breakfast quite good both in choices and quality)
rooms spacious and fine although mine was cold (seriously cold)
value for money was definately disappointing
did not try spa although included in my price cause got cold in room

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We spent a gorgeous weekend in this outstanding hotel. I cannot find anything negative to mention. The personnel was professional, the breakfast and dinner buffets were ideal for every taste. We really enjoyed our meals here. Cleanless was spotless. The location ideal just in the heart of the town.
You can tell that love and taste were the elements that made this hotel.

Room Tip: The lake view is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

very good hotel in the center of ioannina...however, nicely quiet!! breakfast buffet and dinner are simply an experience!! xaviar and shampagne everyday included in buffet choice, and the variety is extensive!..rooms very spacy and clean(tide up twice a day)...toilet quite good , a little old but well maintained and extremely clean... the "spa and wellness part"..just good...not too many facilities there...and quite expensive. but it is a minor in case you dont go there just to have spa! all the others parts and domains of the hotel are really wonderful.

Room Tip: centrally located luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Very well located in the center of Ioannina this hotel with large and comfortable room looks like an ideal hotel to choose. Breakfast was above average and the hotel staff was very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

This hotel is very very nice. We were greeted upon arrival with a nice upgrade which topped off the reasonable rate we booked online with breakfast and dinner included. The staff were marvellous especially the waiters in the restaurant which were professional but cracking joke at the same time. I can't think of anything negative from my stay even though I've stayed in much more expensive hotels. The breakfast was huge and one of the dinners was a four course meal and the other a buffet. The room was very luxurious and very well designed. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was grand. The lobby is majestic with free and quick wifi covering more or less all the communal areas of the hotel. The design is a combination of a cosy holiday house in the mountains but with a posh twist. We certainly felt at home and everything was so clean. Heard some positive comments on the spa which was also quite cheap but didn't have enough time to check it out. We will definitely revisit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitsis Grand Serai Congress & Spa Ioannina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Grand Serai Congress & Spa Ioannina

Address: Dodonis 33, Ioannina 45332, Greece (Formerly Grand Serai Congress & Spa)
Location: Greece > Epirus > Ioannina Region > Ioannina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ioannina
#5 Family Hotel in Ioannina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ioannina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Grand Serai Congress & Spa Ioannina 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mitsis Grand Serai Congress & Spa Hotel, a 5* hotel in the heart of the city of Ioannina is a true palace with ideal central location classified among the best city & congress hotels in Greece. The hotel offers a fully equipped spa with a wide variety of face & body treatments for rejuvenation and ultimate relaxation. Hydrotherapy pool is also available at the spa. The hotel also features meeting space from 35 to 1000 pax at its 9 meeting rooms in for private functions, corporate events, meetings and incentives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mitsis Grand Serai Congress & Spa Ioannina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Grand Serai Congress And Spa Ioannina
Mitsis Grand Serai Congress & Spa Ioannina Hotel Ioannina
Grand Serai Congress Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitsis Grand Serai Congress & Spa Ioannina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.