We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Parga Beach Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parga Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Parga Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parga Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chissogiali Valtou, Parga 480 60, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 hotels in Parga
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Parga Beach Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Parga Beach Hotel is in an unbeatable location (hard to appreciate from maps or Google Earth) on the best stretch of Valtos Beach. It is essentially a beautiful, peaceful complex of small bungalow style buildings spread around an ancient olive grove which fronts directly (no road or even walkway in between) onto a superb sandy beach. The ancient olive trees have been retained with the bungalows built around them (literally in some cases) and the open space has been beautifully landscaped and planted with flowers, orange and lemon trees with very pleasant grassed areas leading from the terraces of many bungalows.

The bungalows house a combination of standard rooms, deluxe rooms and suites. We booked a deluxe room direct through the hotel's website but, on arrival, found we had been upgraded to a 2 room deluxe suite ! There was a huge very comfortable kingsize bed in one room and two singles (which could also be a sofa) in the other for the kids. The suite was very spacious, tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard with excellent sound-proofing and air-conditioning and a large wardrobe which housed a useful fridge and safe. Our suite had its own terrace with table and chairs (lovely place for an evening drink) which led onto a grassed area large enough to play games on. The rooms were spotless and kept that way by daily cleaning and towel change. There were also nice touches such as a bowl of fruit in the room and lovely complimentary toiletries and slippers.

The hotel has two modern pools with high quality wooden sunloungers with cushions and giant umbrellas. One is L shaped and set between bungalows. The other is in a fantastic spot right on the edge of the beach with only a low glass screen separating it from the sand. A great place to relax with a book and alternate between dips in the pool and sea !

The beach itself is largely covered by sun loungers and umbrellas and was busy - especially at weekends. Hardly surprising as it is a great beach with lovely sand (good enough for sand sculptures), very clean and safe sea and a breathtaking backdrop of olive covered mountainsides. The swimming off the beach was lovely and the water amazingly clean. We really enjoyed the very safe snorkling just off the shore where an amazing array of multi-coloured fish could be seen - tip scrape the surface of a rock a few times and the fish will arrive in number !

The hotel restaurant and bar are also situated along the breach front which makes for a lovely spot to enjoy a drink or evening meal. We ate in the restaurant a couple of evenings and found the seafood and children's menus to be excellent and very good value. Breakfast was served in the beach front restaurant. Plentiful and tasty buffet style with something for everyone - cereals, breads, jams, fresh fruit, cooked (eggs, bacon, sausages), hams, cheeses, greek yoghurt and honey, pastries, teas, coffee, juices ...

There is a fine selection of restaurants along the stepped road leading up to the castle (about a 15 minute walk from the hotel). We loved Stefanos which was very friendly and served fish they had caught that day with their own boat.

The staff were very helpful and friendly without being intrusive. We booked direct through the hotel's website and found this cheaper than buying a package. It also gave the advantage of getting excellent service in advance. For example the hotel booked us a taxi from the airport and arranged beach towels for us so we did not need to pack any.

There was a good mix of nationalities staying in the hotel - many with children which made for a nice family atmosphere and playmates for our children. Even though the hotel was near full it was very quiet and peaceful and made for a thoroughly relaxing holiday.

Overall, a lovely high standard hotel in a superb location and great for a relaxing, stress free family holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    46
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
62
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kozani, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

After having our reservation in Domotel Sivota cancelled, we decided to look into the other alternative choice in Parga, Parga Beach resort.
We called them and got a rate of 140 euro for an overnight stay. For the record, 2 days ago, we called them and they asked for 190/day for a two day stay!! No comments about that!

We got a deluxe bungalow, which was spacious, cozy, very well redecorated and next to the garden and the sea.. What is left to ask when you have a 2 year old child??
Unfortunately, the wifi reception was NOT good (room n. 172) but this didn't spoil the fun at all.
The beach was sandy and ideal for children, yet very crowdy. We had to pay extra for umbrellas and chairs and, in my opinion, for room rates like this, at least the hotel SHOULD have provided some for their customers and also have them reserved for this purpose... That is what a well organized 4 star hotel would do.. Have some reserved chairs and umbrellas in a specific place in the beach and provided them to their customer without any extra cost.

The breakfast was only acceptable without anything special to mention, apart from the fact that when we asked for a cup of hot chocolate, they mentioned that this is not inclusive in the price and charged us 3.50 for this order ! The same applies to espresso and capuccino's in the breakfast... Despite the fact that the restaurant/bar was reasonably priced, I think that this small detail (charging the morning espresso/cappuccino/hot chocolate) is unprofessional, ridiculous, even offending for the customers who pay 140 euros and MORE for a night in this -other than that- very good resort.. The manager should re-evaluate this for the next year reservations.

I would certainly recommend this hotel for people with children. It is ideally located on the beach, in a safe and protected area. It lacks views etc but, still, it is on one of the most beautiful beaches of the area. And the most popular, for this reason.
I guess I will visit again, provided I will find a reasonable rate (and NOT a rate of 190 they asked 2 days before...)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Having decided to go to Parga and done our research on tripadvisor there was one hotel which seemed to stand out from all the others and that was The Parga Beach Hotel, and it didn't let us down. Having gone through an updating and modernisation programme the rooms are five star luxury. We didn't know this kind of luxury existed in Greece for the average holidaymaker. We were greeted by a lovely young lady who showed us to our room and what a room. You don't often get a room which is the same or similar to that shown in the brochure, but we did and we think most, if not all the rooms are similar. The hotel has 80 different units in blocks up to eight in a block set in acres of tranquil land leading down to the beach with two swimming pools. You think it's only partially full, and it's not until breakfast time you realise it must be full. The rooms are large, ours had a triple wardrobe which housed a safe and fridge, TV, dressing table/chair, separate table and a four seater setee, a luxury bathroom, and a patio with table and two chairs opening on to a lawned area with lemon and orange trees. The air con was free (three different settings). There was so much room it was unbelievable. The restaurant was right on the beach front and it accomodated breakfast which was buffet style with plenty of everything for all including bacon and egg.
We ate in the restaurant three times, we couldn't understand why not many people ate there as the meals were really good and not expensive, the setting, right next to the beach was lovely. Their Greek night (each Tuesday), eat as much as you like with live music and dancing for 12 euros should not be missed. The best restaurants in Parga appear to be those on the hill looking down to Parga centre and Valtos beach, which is about a twenty minute walk from the hotel, up a reasonably steep slope then a few steps the Parga side of Valtos beach. The ones in Parga centre are not the best but worth experiencing for the atmosphere. There is a regular water taxi from the peer to get you back to Valtos beach which runs throughout the day and evening. By far the best restaurant we found was Filomila which looks down on Valtos beach.
During the day the time can be spent on the beach with good safe swimming in the sea, experiencing a drink in the bar or something light to eat, but the main advantage is it's next to the hotel complex. They say Parga is like a Greek island on the mainland, and yes it is, although it was slightly larger than we expected, but not too large. The Parga Beach Hotel is towards the far side of Valtos beach, so if it's a relaxing time with excellent accomodation you are looking for, look no further.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at the Parga Beach hotel at the beginning of June 2012 and had a wonderful stay. The owners have done an amazing job in renovating it over the last few years and have created a stunning hotel. The staff were brilliant. Nothing was ever too much trouble and they work incredibly hard to make your stay as good as it can be. Our room was a decent size, although only just enough storage. I would take some more hangers next time, although we soon got a few more from reception. Breakfast was lovely, a mixture of traditional Greek, continental and english. All very fresh and frequently refilled. Food in the restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced. Bar drinks were only slightly more expensive than average town prices but the view from the bar was priceless! It was v hot so the air conditioning was a life saver. Our room was cleaned every day and was spotless, as were communal areas. 2 swimming pools with sun loungers were lovely, not huge but big enough. It's about 20 minswalk into town up a very steep headland, but worth the effort. Or 2 euro water taxi from just near their hotel. I only hope I can afford to return in 2013 because this hotel feels much more expensive than it actually was! Well done to all staff who have worked incredibly hard to make it the place it is.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, Merseyside
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Wonderful hotel and excellent value for money. Great staff and very friendly. Loads to do and fish restaurants in area to die for! All Greeks welcomed us with open arms and showed appreciation for our custom in their time of economic need. Very comfortable rooms and only two storeys high accommodation. Well exceeded their two star status. Would go back tomorrow if we could!!

Room Tip: People with children may like to request room near swimming pool which is virtually on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I took my twelve year-old son to Parga Beach Resort for two weeks arriving June 30th. The weather was the same every day, 36-40 degrees and sunny with nice breezes. The beach is awesome and the water great for swimming, snorkeling or water sports that can be rented nearby. The resort's facilities are great particularly the landscaping. A true Eden and the landscapers are to be noted as well the cleaning staff who did an excellent job every day. The fridges are a bit small in the room especially if you buy the larger bottles of drinks at the nearby supermarkets. The food at the resort is very good and there is nothing better than a cold pint of Mythos beer after a long swim at 40 degrees. The wait staff are attentive but not overbearing. The customer relations service offered by Constantina is superior; ever helpful and considerate, even taking care of my son when he scrapped his knee at the beach. I would not hesitate to return to this resort to recharge my batteries. The access to Parga by the water taxis is very helpful, but do plan to walk up the hill to try Stefano's Taverna. He catches his own fish most every day and there is always a good assortment to choose from. All-in-all the best vacation ever! I would like to return at a time when it is not so hot...

Room Tip: Ask for a "sea view" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed one week at Parga Beach hotel in late June 2012 and we loved it. It’s located near the beach and our room was great: nice bathroom, air condition, safe, balcony, flat TV, mirrors, a desk, a sofa and a large bed. The hotel area was well attended with nice flowers, lawns, olive- and orange trees. The staff was helpful and friendly.

The breakfast was ok; buffet style with some local assortments, e.g. Greek yogurt with honey and melons. But the juice is not real fruit juice; it’s more like sugar lemonade without bubbles. Not what I like to my breakfast.

There are two quite small pool areas. At the beach sunbeds are available (7€ for a pair of sunbeds and a parasol) but you can bring your own things and sit for free between the sunbeds and the water.

We walked to the center of Parga (15-20 minutes) once or twice every day, but you have to prepare yourself for a walk over a quite heavy hill. It’s a nice walk with nice views and lots of restaurants. If you can’t or don’t want to walk you can take a water taxi that leaves around every 30 minutes from the beach just below the hotel.

We didn’t eat at the restaurant at the hotel. We preferred to take a walk and try to find a restaurant on the hillsides between the beach and Parga center.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small balcony one stair up and some are located at the ground floor. Maybe you pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parga Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parga Beach Resort

Address: Chissogiali Valtou, Parga 480 60, Greece
Location: Greece > Epirus > Preveza Region > Parga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 hotels in Parga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parga Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parga Beach Hotel is the biggest hotel complex in Parga. Composed of 80 bungalows and built within a lush green environment, directly on Parga's main beach, Valtos. The complex is built on ground floor level so is easily accessible for the disabled and offers free parking for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Parga Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parga Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.