We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spot and vibe !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Garden

The Old Garden
Agiou Athanasiou 1, Parga 48060, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 109 Restaurants in Parga
Cuisines: Bar, Coffee Shop, Greek, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Years ago our family bought a piece of land and built a house with a big garden. Since then that garden has seen many transformations but in 2013, 50 years after the first trees were planted, after three generations lived, grew up and played in that garden, we decided to pay tribute to our family and the garden we all loved and re-named our cafe-bar "The Old Garden".
Athens, Greece
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot and vibe !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is one of the best cafe- restaurants in Parga ! The location, the service, the music, the food, the views, makes it a top of the list spot for breakfast, lunch, evening chill out drinks or after dinner cocktails and sweets! The swimming pool of the hotel can be used by the bar guests uppon request and the bathroom and showers are kept always clean. Our favourite place on Kryoneri beach ;-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drakos_Bros, Manager at The Old Garden, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Customer,

Firstly, we are sorry it has taken so long to say thank you for writing such a positive review.

We're so happy that you enjoyed spending time at The Old Garden and we hope it's not too long until we see you on Krioneri Beach again :)

Warmest regards,
The Old Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    7
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pontefract
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very well run, very courteous, nothing too much trouble.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

friendly, good food, good service, proffesional, great location, great views, clean and tidy. a great place to relax.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drakos_Bros, Manager at The Old Garden, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Customer,

What a great review - positive and to the point!

Thank you for taking the time to write about The Old Garden and we hope we get to welcome you back soon!

Warmest regards,
All on The Old Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The best place to unwind and watch the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The old garden is just perfect. The views over the bay are breathtaking. The ambience is friendly and relaxed - service efficient but not intrusive with a lovely selection of sandwiches and burgers - all freshly prepared and beautifully presented. If you have any room left there are also mouthwatering desserts to choose from - brownies and ice cream a firm favourite! This is also a fabulous place to call in for a beer or coffee - the staff are welcoming and you are under no pressure to rush - Greek time! We also like to call in for a nightcap - a Lumumba or calypso coffee - again served with a small piece of biscotti - just wonderful and highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drakos_Bros, Manager at The Old Garden, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Customer,

Our apologies for taking so long to reply. It doesn't mean that we value your review any less!

Thank you for such a glowing review! It makes us really happy to read when customers enjoy every aspect of The Old Garden.

We look forward to welcoming you back this summer for another Lumumba or two :)

Warmest regards,
From all on The Old Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A must when you are in Parga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Old Garden is a must when you are in Parga. First of all the views and the setting of this place are second to none. The atmosphere is just so relaxing. You can have a meal here or just a relaxing drink. We have eaten here on many occasions, and the food is excellent . It is not over priced and is good value for money. The Old Garden is open early morning until late, therefore you could have a breakfast, lunch, a meal at tea or you can just call in for a drink. The beer is always chilled as is the wine. There is free wifi. May I disagree strongly with ChrisBelinda the staff here are extremely courteous as are the owners nothing is too much trouble for them. I think they must have got confused as there are no Scandinavians that work here. The two young ladies that work here cannot do enough for you and are most obliging. May I also add in closing that the place is spotlessly clean. I would not hesitate to recommend "The Old Garden" to anyone visiting Parga,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreas d, Manager at The Old Garden, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review!

We strive to keep the highest standards at The Old Garden including the service, the food, the atmosphere and cleanliness so it makes everything worth it when we hear that our customers are satisfied.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warmest regards,
The Old Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Not good enough!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Worst service we received on our whole holiday. we were roasting so called in this bar one afrernoon for some cold drinks. There were 3 other people in sat at the bar. The scandinavian waitress came over, took our drinks order then.. ages later brought them over and said " you will have to pay for it now cos i want to go" !! Took the money got some change out if her rocket then sat chatting up a customer at the bar fir another 15 mins. Greeks wouldn't behave this way... we walked out.. AVOID.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreas d, Owner at The Old Garden, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Old Garden.

We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality and efficiency of the service and would like to apologise for your bad experience. It is our continuous aim to achieve the highest customer service so we are taking this complaint very seriously.

As we do not have any Scandinavian members of staff we can only imagine you are referring to our day worker who is of Greek citizenship (although nationality is irrelevant). The member of staff you are referring to is one of our longest serving and hardworking team members so it seems extremely out of character for her to have been anything other than attentive and friendly during your visit.

It is true that at the end of shifts we have to collect all the money the waitresses have made so there must have been an overlap in shift timings during your visit. Sometimes the staff enjoy a drink in the bar area after they finish, usually with their spouses or partners who come to meet them.

We are incredibly proud of our service and staff so it's disappointing for us that you didn’t feel the same.

Once again, we are sorry for your bad experience and we hope that you will consider visiting us again.

Kindest regards,

The Old Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Garden also viewed

 
Parga, Preveza Region
Parga, Preveza Region
 

Been to The Old Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.