We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good indeed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Ouzeri Hellenikon

Taverna Ouzeri Hellenikon
Alley off harbourfront | Parga, Parga, Greece
+30 2684 032351
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 109 Restaurants in Parga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $13
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stefanos has expanded to the opposite side of the street (alley?). Now the new place is called Hellenikon. Owners are great hosts. They have a small menu, but it´s all home made by the Mrs. Stefanos. You get mezes with your drinks aswell. The taste of the food is excellent! Try to find this little gem!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    19
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Ouzeri Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

After seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor we made time to find Hellenikon`s. Perhaps it was just the night we were there after a day trip but i have to say, perhaps we chose the food wrongly, but we felt dissappointed with our experience here. Yes we were met friendly by Stefanos who did his best to try to divert others from The Meetting Place :) , but once we had been greeted and got drinks and the meze snack, Potato Salad (!), then we ordered our squid, as we didnt want too much. This we knew would be frozen but had enquired on the fresh batter that they would use, this was not quite as it seemed when we got our dish. But there was no passing staff or Stefanos around to mention it to them, only when he cam to clear the table were we able to mention the batter to him he just smiled and took the plate away. Not the best meal in Paraga. But place was atmospheric and reasonable. Just not the right choice maybe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Lovely Greek food, and excellent value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

After stumbling on Stefanos we ended up eating here three times during our stay!
Lovely setting, tucked up an alleyway off the harbour, and really good traditional Greek food, cooked by Mrs Stefano.
Recommend the moussaka and the salads are so fresh. Very friendly family, don't miss it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“brilliant !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We loved this little place. Although its not on the harbour front the owners are really friendly and great hosts. The prices are good and even if you are only having a drink, you are given free small hot traditional snacks. Lovely.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“All You Need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

With this place and the taverna right next door, The Meeting Place, you need nowhere else to go in Parga really! Ok, so neither have any view of the picturesque Parga bay etc...in fact there literally isn't any view, as they are tucked away in a back alley....but who needs views when you get the service, food and atmosphere of these places?

Go for a full meal, or just go for drinks, each round (at both places) is served with a small meze ranging from lentils in olive oil, to small meatballs in sauce (always with small pieces of fresh bread) 'on the house', a tradition I haven't seen in Greece since the early 80's.....

It really did feel like I had gone back in time there....

Yammas!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Ouzeri Hellenikon also viewed

Parga, Preveza Region
Parga, Preveza Region
 
Parga, Preveza Region
 

Been to Taverna Ouzeri Hellenikon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Ouzeri Hellenikon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.