We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't live up to its number 2 spot” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Toros

Toros
K. Mavromichali 34, Parga 48060, Greece
2684031256
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 108 Restaurants in Parga
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“didn't live up to its number 2 spot”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

had great expectations for this restaurant, was quite disappointed. service was good, atmosphere was pleasant but for a restaurant that boasts of really good steaks it couldn't get a basic burger right. food wasn't very special and there wasn't much in the way of presentation, even down to small things such as no butter provided with the bread. The meatball starter was overcooked and burnt and the chicken dish with smoked cheese was more like chicken in very mild tomato sauce, quite bland. sorry but when you're competing with restaurants like 5senses you need to be upping your game.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    23
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire,england
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A pleasant change from the usual taverna fare.Great food , nice ambience in the elevated outdoor eating area.Well run, and friendly service.Sometimes daily specials ,worth checking out.Rack of lamb superb.Young talented chef doing something a little different.Excellent wine list.Very tasteful interior.
We will definitely be returning,soon.
Keith and Ros

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lovely new addition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Regular visitor to Parga and was pleased to hear that somewhere new had opened especially in the current economic climate in Greece. Was not disappointed. The food and service was outstanding. Definately one to return to.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice meal but with ill effects!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I went to this restaurant with great anticipation due to the rave reviews on Tripadvisor on a Monday evening around about 20:00. Apart from ourselves there was only a party of 4 people at the restaurant. With 2 waitresses working, who I must admit were very pleasant advised us we could sit anywhere and within minutes had bought us 3 small bowls of appetisers, bread and water along with the menu's. As we are on holiday we do not like rushing our meals or indeed feel like we are being rushed but after 30 minutes I had to call the waitress over to take our order.
The young friendly lady took our order, we both had fillet steak with fries but my wife had veg with hers, I opted for a mushroom sauce and my wife a thyme sauce and 2 glass's of house red wine. The waitress had great difficulty in entering the order on her little machine and after 10 minutes laughed saying who knows now what we will be getting (how true that throw away line turned out to be later). Bearing in mind there is still only the 6 people in the restaurant but our meals did not turn up for another 40 minutes and when it did they were both wrong. We sent them back straight away and they duly arrived 10 minutes later correct. I must say that the steaks were perfectly cooked and on the whole it was very nice so we decided to have a dessert.
They only had 2 desserts on that night an apple pie and chocolate bread & butter pudding. We both plumped for the bread & butter pudding with ice cream and it looked delicious on arrival 5 minutes later. It was very nice but it had a chocolate collar that was rock hard and needed an angle grinder to get through it. The bill in all came to just under €60.
When we left at nearly 22:00 we were a little disappointed and decided not to make a repeat visit, unfortunately our meals did make a repeat visit 4 hours later and we were violently ill all night and part of the following day and totally spoilt our last few days in Parga. In the end the owner of our apartments went to the chemist for us to get some immodium and anti-sickness tablets.
I am pretty sure this was a one off where Toros is concerned but none the less this experience spoilt the rest of our stay.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty L, Owner at Toros, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
As we enjoy the good reviews people have given us, we also take seriously into consideration the critical comments that are made in order to improve our service and our customers eating experience.

However we find it unreasonable to accuse Toros of being responsible for your illness on holiday. We are a small restaurant with a limited menu – the benefit of this is that all our dishes are freshly prepared and the steaks particularly are bought regularly and guaranteed to be fresh.

Illness due to food can be swift but short, if you were ill for a few days it was more likely to be the tummy bug that has been going around Parga for a couple of weeks. Please check this with anyone you know in Parga now or during your stay. I would request that you are not so quick to place blame and in future reviews consider the effect quick words can have on people’s livelihoods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

New to Parga, we wish we'd tried it earlier in our holiday as we only went once. Menu Greek/Mediterranean, plenty to choose from. We thoroughly enjoyed it, we sat in the courtyard, the decor is really nice inside. Good service, we'll definitely go back next year. We recommended it to friends who were staying in the same apartments and they enjoyed it too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toros also viewed

Parga, Preveza Region
Parga, Preveza Region
 
Parga, Preveza Region
Parga, Preveza Region
 

Been to Toros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.