We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prawns” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Arkoudas

Taverna Arkoudas
| Waterfront, Parga, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 108 Restaurants in Parga
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great prawns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Great meal and good service, I asked if the prawns were fresh and was taken into the kitchen to see for myself, they were excellent

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    24
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must visit restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice this holiday. Kleftiko was amazing as were the lamb chops. For me the Greek restaurants cook the best lamb chops. Wine was cheap and the service quick and efficient. Good value. We'll be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic, authentic food and excellent hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was the only place that we ate at twice during our weeks stay in Parga. Initially what drew us in was the fact that the waiter left us in peace to read the menu out front without trying to drag us in, which unfortunately seems to be the norm for most of the harbour front restaurants. There was so much choice that we literally couldn't decide what to eat but the waiters were very knowledgeable and kept popping back to our table to answer questions we had about ingredients and the cooking process etc. On our first visit we had Stifado and Kleftiko, both were absolutely amazing and the portions were enormous. The Stifado here was much better than the bland one that we had up at Yiannis. The house red is also quite decent considering how cheap it is but I will say in fairness to Yiannis they beat Arkkoudas hands down with their house red. On our second visit we had the Spetsofai and the Salt Cod, again both meals were fantastic and portions enormous. The staff at Arkoudas are very attentive but not too in your face and we had a good laugh with them on our second visit, the ambience is very relaxed and nothing is too much trouble. You tend to get a little freebie in most restaurants in Parga but in Arkoudos they were extremely generous giving each customer free ouzo, cinamon liqueur and fresh fruit which is a really nice touch. For authentic Greek food in a relaxed friendly atmosphere without the hard sell, give Arkoudas a try, you won't regret it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
“A great experience guaranteed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a truly fantastic taverna. This year was my second time visiting Parga and I keep coming back to Arkoudas. Great food, great service and probably one of the funniest waiters I have ever met. A definite must visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beware the Boar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a character the owner is! One morning we heard some gunfire in the olive groves just above the Terra Verde apartments where we were staying. That evening we visited the Taverna Arkoudas, as we had already eaten there on the night we arrived, so I asked the owner about the gunfire, as I had my suspicions. He admitted that it was him - he had been hunting wild boar. Unfortunately it was not ready for the table!
Food good, not exceptional, but real complimentary ouzo AND desserts and excellent atmosphere - just don't expect an itemised bill!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Arkoudas also viewed

Parga, Preveza Region
Parga, Preveza Region
 
Parga, Preveza Region
Parga, Preveza Region
 

Been to Taverna Arkoudas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Arkoudas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.