We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guided hike through the gorge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vikos Gorge

Vikos Gorge
Zagoria, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 43 Attractions in Epirus
Type: Canyons, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
Attraction details
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Guided hike through the gorge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed and started our hike in Monodendri. We hiked through the gorge with a guide from Compass Adventures (http://www.compassadventures.gr/). He speaks Greek, English and German and the service included a trekking pole, some snacks, his knowledge about the gorge and transportation back to Monodendri. We saw some other hikers in the gorge so I guess a guide is not absolutely neccessary. But we don't hike very often and never before in a gorge, so it calmed us to have someone with us who knew the way, knew the difficult sections and could help us in need. When you are down there you are away from civilisation - that can make you feel liberated and uneasy at the same time. It took us 8 hours to hike from Monodendri to the village of Vikos, that's a bit slower than normal - partly because of our fitness level (moderately fit maybe?), but also because of the hot wheather and of our long stops by the water. For most of the way, the path is not right by the river and the river is almost dried out in summer anyway. But now and then you can rest your feet in the cold water. Also for most of the way you will have trees shielding you from the sun. Before the ascent to Vikos there is the Voidomatis Springs. You can drink the water and refill your bottles, but be careful when you dip your toes in - the water will freeze your bones.

When we got out of the gorge we were exhausted and we had sore muscles for the next two days. But it was definitely worth it! Beautiful nature (saw turtles!), only very few people around and a challenging route (at least for beginners like us).

If you want to take a look at the canyon from above we suggest a short car trip from up to the viewing point Oxia with the so called stone forest (nice stone formations) along the road. The viewing point is right on the edge of the gorge, gives you a bird's eye view of your hiking route and an impressive glance into this great canyon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    9
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Vikos Gorge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The climb into and out of the gorge was amazing! A couple of points which were not mentioned, the length of the walk from Monodendri to Vikos, one way is approximately 17.5 kms. And yes it does take 6.5 hours to do the hike. Hiking boots are a must, and there is a tree bridge which has to be crossed, as well as cables which need to be used for traversing the rock face. It is probably not suitable for children or elderly. The view gets better as you reach the Vikos village end, only because you can see the top of the gorge which you cannot do when you are at Monodendri end due to the tree canopies. Not to be missed, and there is a cold beer waiting at the end!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Descend into another world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I hadn't even heard of Vikos Gorge, but according to the Guinness Book of Records, it's the deepest gorge in the world. It's certainly deep! The best way to walk it is to stay in the pretty, quiet village of Monodendri for two nights, and then arrange for a taxi to take you to the far end of the gorge early in the morning ... costs about 30 Euro ... then you have all day to descend into a land that time has forgotten ... you will see plants, animals and insects you haven't seen before, and also marvel at how the river has managed to slice 900 metres deep into the ground. It's a fairly strenuous days' walking, estimated at 12km, and total descent/ascent of some 1700-1800 metres, of course with the final gruelling climb out back to Monodendri. But the overall experience is a world-class hike that you will never forget. TIP: Take everything you need for the day. There are no shops or any other evidence of humans, in fact we only saw 2 other people all day.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rafting in Vikos Gorge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We did the rafting in late March this year.
It is highly recommended for everyone - not only for the adventurous! (honestly speaking, we are not of the daring types at all.)
It is a class 1 rafting and yet you can feel the the powerful flows of the snow water river.
The boats are well equipped and commanded by most skilled and experienced guides.
We were a group of 8 people including adults and children and we all enjoyed it so much.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Vikos Gorge is in Zagoroxoria and is the second largest one in the word.You can enjoy an excellent view of the Gorge from Oxia area near Monodendri, and from Beloi near of Vradeto village.it's a breathtaking view and really worth to visit both of places.
You have the ability to hike and also you can rafting on Voidomatis river.
Have fun!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vikos Gorge also viewed

Zagorohoria, Ioannina Region
Ioannina, Ioannina Region
 
Zagorohoria, Ioannina Region
 

Been to Vikos Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vikos Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.