We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderfully Greek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lefteris' Kafenion

Lefteris' Kafenion
Top of Kali Strata, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Symi
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Newcastle, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderfully Greek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It's hard to add anything to the reviews. This is not a restaurant but a bar/cafe, hoever with it's vine covered trellis and cool beer, accompanied by "mini" Greek saleds (you have to buy alcohol to get one) it's simply lovely to sit and watch the tourists struggle to the top of the Kali Strata.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have been drinking coffee in the morning and retsina in the evening for the last 31 years. Family run and now in third generation. Excellent service. Wonderful for people watching and just doing nothing - the essence of rural Greece. Can't wait to get back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“People Watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Situated in the upper town, Chorio this is a great place to relax with a coffee or beer and watch the world go by. Chorio has a distinct village feel and it's easy to soak in the atmosphere while relaxing in Lefteris.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“people watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

great for watching the world go buy, and each time you have a beer it's accompanied by a little appetiser

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

this is a kafenion, the nearest thing to a Greek pub. Sitting there watching people walk past, watching and listening to locals arguing, and the children playing was one of the highlights of our stay on Symi. The owner and family are attentive and polite but in no way pushy. You are treated no differently from the locals. The snacks are great and the atmosphere second to none. I wish I were sitting there now. The owner got to recognise us, and one morning we stopped there for an early drink and he refused payment. Real Greece away from the tourist traps. If you like the real Greece, and not the music bars, you will love this kafenion. On our last night I gave a tip, not needed and probably not polite but anyway I did. Waste of time though. We got talking to some more people and decided on one last drink. You guessed it....he refused payment..

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lefteris' Kafenion also viewed

 
Symi, Dodecanese
Symi, Dodecanese
 

Been to Lefteris' Kafenion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lefteris' Kafenion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.