We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite restaurant on Symi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windmill Restaurant

The Windmill Restaurant
Chorio, Greece
6955973695
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 49 restaurants in Symi
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant on Symi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Every year for the past three years, I have had the pleasure of spending two to three weeks on the island of Symi. Over that time, I have sampled many restaurants, but I always want to come back to the Windmill. The place itself is charming, the service is very friendly and efficient, but the main draw is the food. With an emphasis on local ingredients and culinary traditions, but a sense of adventure and curiosity, the chef explores and expands on flavour and texture profiles that exemplify the best of Greek cuisine. My very favourite is the hot octopus salad, with flavour-intensified marinated octopus cooked to perfection and strewn over a crisp cabbage salad, it hits all of my sweet spots for taste and crunch. I also love the sausage with lentils with its Lyons influenced lentil stew base and nice little chunks of spicy sausage. When I am away from this beautiful little island and I think of good food, I always picture the little courtyard by the Windmill.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    32
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

For the third year in a row, I had several meals at The Windmill Restaurant this past June. The chef-owners, Rhiannon and Michaelis, are keen on all things culinary. Rhiannon is a creative chef, with a passion for doing as much local sourcing of ingredients as she possibly can. She does modern takes on traditional Greek dishes, as well as other cuisines that interest her. The wines, the food, the ambience are all excellent. We are already looking forward to next year!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perevilain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Imaginative and creative cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I had walked past this place many time and not been. Mistake!! This year we were staying nearby and being really tired went there on our first night. It turned out to be the first of many visits and the first if many gastronomic treats!
You must try the warm olives - the grilled feta with herbs - and just about anything really!
It is also worth saying that my partner is a veggie and just loved eating here - a great choice.
Service can be slow - but who cares when the food is so amazing !!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Impressive Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

I took my greatest Greek friend, his wife and another Greek person here for a meal. Very impressive choice, excellent food and well presented with very friendly service. I'd recommend The Windmill to anyone. Be sure to book a table to avoid disappointment!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Windmill - Great food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Had some great food at the Windmill.
Thanks to owners for good service.
Try to eat here at least once - you shouldn't be disappointed!
Look forward to returning some time another year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Restaurant also viewed

Symi, Dodecanese
Symi, Dodecanese
 

Been to The Windmill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windmill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.