We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hairy drive but worth it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monolithos Castle

Monolithos Castle
Monolithos, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 201 things to do in Rhodes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A hairy drive but worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I didn't enjoy the drive on the road that hugs to the side of the moutain, esp when you meet a coach comming at you. But once our hearts were firmly returned we lucky to find a parking space. A steep climb to the sumit which is a ruin with a small whitewashed chapel to visit. The centary on duty would never have got bored of the views. No charge.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    87
    14
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Incredible, very much underrated.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We saw this castle on the map and thought we'd 'pop by' and I'm so glad we did!!

The views are incredible, and although it looks like a hike to the top it wasn't too bad!
I'd advise stopping a bit along the road to get a good picture of the castle across the cliffs, and then go to the castle itself and appreciate the stunning scenery and try and work out how on earth they built the thing up so high!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Produce with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The views of the castle as you approach are spectacular. It is worth a stop at the panorama view point to appreciate the view and sample some of the local produce from the two stalls on either side. We bought some lovely home made red wine, local raki and olive oil and sampled a number of other really good home made products. On the way back the Panorama Restaurant was a great lunch stop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice Castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We visited the Monolitos castle while taking a trip with a rented car.
this is some thing you all shoulkd do, the views are amazing & the climb to the castle is not too hard

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Monolithos is located at the southern end of the island on the west coast. As it's away from most of the tourist areas the number of visitors it gets is relatively small but well worth the journey getting there. Perched upon a small promontory there is a well worth path that leads up to the castle ruin and the small church of Saint Panteleimon. The path is not the best especially at the top so dcent footwear is advisable. Probably not advisable for small children as there are a number of areas where there is no protection and quite a fall. The views of the coastline from the top are worth the climb as is a brief visit to the church. Wait for the daily bus tour to disappear and you could have the place to yourselves. Before the climb there is a small taverna serving snacks and although it does have toilets there is a small charge for those you use the facilities but don't buy anything. leading up to the castle there are now a number of small stalls selling local wine, honey and other products. prices are not too bad but the number of them appearing spoils the atmosphere a little.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monolithos Castle also viewed

 

Been to Monolithos Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monolithos Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.