We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Folklore Performance CHOROSPITO

Greek Folklore Performance CHOROSPITO
Efstathiadou, 85100, Greece
+30 694 261 8414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 89 Activities in Rhodes
Type: Performances
Attraction details
moscow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“good show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

good food reasonable prices so-so wines lots of music humor and dancing all even old people danced around

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    1
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were at the concert... Its so amazing, so lovely. The music and dancers, and the boys who work in the theatre. My daughter became cold, so one of them managed to find a sweater for her. I did not ask for his name, sorry, but were so pleasantly impressed...
Thank you for everything. Best regards from Vilnius, Lithuania :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This event was found for us on this site as something to go and see in Rhodes as an Anniversary present. We'd had a lovely day visiting Symi and were looking forward to seeing the performance given the previous write-ups here.

The setting is great - a lovely open-air theatre and the complimentary welcome glass of ouzo/retsina/water plus a nibble of cheese or Greek sweet biscuit was very nice.

The show starts with an extended duo by a keyboard player and a very talented bazouki player with Hendrix-like tendencies.... If there is any small criticism, then this part was perhaps too long and the tunes were played without context (no commentary), but nonetheless all was extremely well played.

But when the dancers came on, too, then the audience was treated to a wonderful display of traditional Greek dancing and with proper context/background with announcements in Greek, English and Russian. Each dance told a story, which was well done - a nice mixture of the dance as comedy, storytelling and, of course, courtship.

The costumes were lovely and the dancers clearly enjoyed what they did from their facial expressions and the energy they out into the performance. The musicians increased in number for this and they were all truly a talented bunch playing a range of instruments, with some beautiful singing from a member of the team.

Audience was thinner than the performance deserved, but the advantage is that you can walk up and buy a ticket. I recommend that you do just that, for this is a treat NOT to be missed.

Thanks to Chorospito - a truly talented group of people who deserve wide exposure.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galátsion, Attiki, Greece
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“When tradition meets entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Little did i know that when i visited Rhodes, i would have the chance to see this marvelous show. Not only their performance was truly amazing, but also their hospitality, offering home made Greek finger food and beverages for free.Not to mention the eye capturing view of the beautiful night sky, a great benefit of the open air theater! Also i want to highlight the beautiful exhibition of traditional costumes and instruments that takes place inside the theater! To conclude, it is an overall MUST WATCH performance for every tourist and local too!! Congratulations to Chorospito, keep up the good work!! Hoping to see you again!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

One of the highlights of our visit to Greece. Very good musicians as well as dancers! Very reasonably priced for what you get. I think they should advertise more, because the theatre was were not as full as I thought it should be - a lot of tourists just wandering in the streets. I am sure in the future they are going to attract big crowds. I am very glad we were there!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Folklore Performance CHOROSPITO also viewed

 

Been to Greek Folklore Performance CHOROSPITO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Folklore Performance CHOROSPITO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.