We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Must Try this restaurant in Rodos.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Barka

La Barka
5, Sofokleous Str. Old Town, Greece
2241075688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #428 of 995 Restaurants in Rhodes
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You Must Try this restaurant in Rodos.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Cheerful personal, delicious dishes, but we found hardly the restaurant. We order Grilled octopus and Symi style shrimp. Octopus was a little bit small but tasteful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    0
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bursa, Turkey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best treat in terms of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our second visit to Rhodes, this time by a cruise. We had limited time since our cruise was leaving the port at 20:00. We especially looked for this restaurant since we were so pleased during our first visit 3 years earlier. The restaurant is located 5 minutes away from the main street of the historic center and is next to Ibrahim Pasha mosque complex. If you prefer a great meal under the shadows of grape leaves in a cool place, you should definitely look for this restaurant. The grilled squid with a veggy-filling was one of the best we ever had in Greek islands. I would also strongly recommend aubergine filled with feta cheese and tomatoes. Of course, tzatziki is always a great companion to Ouzo (For travelers ordering ouzo: always check the bottle and make sure that your ouzo is from Plomari, Lesvos). Service was great and ended with a cup of Turkish/Greek coffee, whatever you want to call this great taste of common culture. Sure to be back in La Barka again in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good place for mezes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Always good food and friendly, fast service. One if the best places in the Old Town and better value than the usual tourist places. Outdoor eating. As a part-time resident if Rhodes, this is one of my regular, reliable spots.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

First night on Rhodes we discarded 30 "tourist restaurants" and opted for this one. We had a fantastic experience. Next day we talked to a Greek friend who also recommended this place, so we were spot on! Needless to say we returned to this place 4-5 times over the next two weeks.

They have fresh, homemade and tasty dishes - mainly seafood and traditional Greek dishes made from grandmother's recipes. Everything they serve is made from scratch; even the Bearnaise, mayonnaise and other sauces. Very experienced chef and kitchen. One evening we called the restaurant in advance for their grilled lobster/langustine and when we arrived it was perfectly cooked and served. It was so fresh we had to struggle to get it out of it's shell.... Over the next days we tried a wide selection of seafood (calamaris, shrimp, lobster, fish etc) and some meat dishes, and we were never disappointed.

Location is great, in a quiet side street off the worst tourist-trap area. No pushy ushers to grab hold of you, and thankfully no pictures of the food on the menu. Very decently priced as well. Angelos, the owner, as well as his star waiters Tassos and Eda gave fantastic good service. The chef and his kitchen staff really knew how to cook and how to maintain traditional Greek cuisine!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ordinary Greek food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

After reading reviews on Tripadvisor about this restaurant, we where sure that this was the right place to eat for us. Arrived to an nearly empty restaurant, so all was set for an nice afternoon dinner. We ordered traditional greek dishes and some pasta for the kids.
The food tasted just ok, but everything, except the vegetables, was overcooked. Maybe it was heated food from the day before, I dont know, but it sure didnt taste fresh.
Unlike the staff. the waiter was smiling and friendly, but the where some problems with the orders, I dont know why, It was just us in the restaurant by now. All and all this was an dissapointing dinner experience.
The only thing that was really great, we got a digestif that reminded of ouzo, but 10 times better. Hope the next visitors gets better experience than us:) And to the restaurant I have one tip for you: Continuity.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Barka also viewed

 

Been to La Barka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Barka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.