We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“full day trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medieval City

Medieval City
Odos Ippoton, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$56*
and up
Ranked #2 of 96 Attractions in Rhodes
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Historic Walking Areas, Neighborhoods, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surrounded by medieval walls, this old part of Rhodes is the location of many interesting attractions of historical significance.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“full day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Lively even in October- old buildings, museums, church and temples, mosques, flea market atmosphere,njewish quarter, turkish quarter within the walls of one city!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    297
    45
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely, just amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were tehre in early september. I´ve already been there when I was a child.
This time, first time alone and by car.
I found a parking spot really easy, but it was really early, like 9.00a.m
We first took a walk down to the harbor and then later walked into the old city.
Its really crowed there but this is part of the atmosphere in the summer time. But lovely.

If you don´t like bunches of people, souvenir shops, jewelies and leather good + typicial tourist stuff then its teh worng palce to be in teh summer. Its much quieter in the spring/autumn.

For me its just a must-do in Rhodos.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girvan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Night or Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great place to visit night / day or on a Sunday when many things shut. Lots to see and do. Some good places to eat.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girvan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had a great visit to Rhodes.
The old town is spectacular both during the day and at night
Don't pay 6 euros to visit the palace it's a waste of time and nothing to see just empty rooms and no guide to tell you what's what the leaflet told you nothing.
The old shops are interesting and the restaurants are many- but watch where you eat as the prices vary a lot depending where you eat. The old town is right beside the harbour and although it is not particularly big it is interesting just to sit and watch
I think the Rhodes authorities could make a lot more of this. If it was in the UK there would a lot more information on the Old Town and there would be re-enactments etc. They could make this site wonderful

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ancient Rhodes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The most medieval city I have ever visited. Just get lost inside, you will find Byzantine, crusaders, ottoman site ... a wonderful city. I'd go again for sure and get lost for days.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medieval City also viewed

 

Been to Medieval City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medieval City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.