We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Greek islands-Rhodes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhodes Wonder - Private Tours

Rhodes Wonder - Private Tours
Dimokratias 26, 85100, Greece
+30 2241 033486
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 89 Activities in Rhodes
5.0 of 5 stars 38 Reviews
Attraction details
Sheperdstown WV
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best of the Greek islands-Rhodes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Sunny and fun, Rhodes has great shopping, history, architecture, food and relaxation. This small island has changed rulers so many times, that it's people take life as it comes. They are very welcoming and we felt like guest rather than tourists. Great place for photographs too.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    1
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, Al
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonder day in Rhodes in so many ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I visited Turkey and Greece for the first time this November and it was also our first cruise. Not knowing the ropes, we procrastinated about setting up the excursions that the cruise line offer and by the time we did, the good ones in Ephesus and Pargamum were full! We were crushed!

I got online to try to find excursions that might be available those days through another cruise line or someone and discovered several great tour sites that offer individual tours for less than the cruise line was offering. I ended up canceling all the other excursions we had set up with the cruise line to other sites and easily found local individual tours. What a blessing!

For Rhodes I decide to go with George--Rhodes Taxi through Rhodeswonder.com. We were to have our own Mercedes taxi and driver. We had the freedom to set our own agenda or follow one they would lay out for us. We could have hired a license guide to go with us but to be honest our driver was from Rhodes and was able to tell us everything. The only think he couldn’t do was go into the sites which really wasn’t necessary.

The day before we were to dock in Rhodes, George contacted me to tell me that there would be a nation wide taxi strike but he was providing us with a minibus for no extra charge - for just the two of us!

We found our guide waiting on us with a sign with our name on it as we disembarked. Our guide was named Stavros Viachidis. He was a delightful young man who spoke fluent English and was very knowable and enthusiastic. We learned so much not only about Rhodes but also what life is like in Greece now. Stavros was very proud of Rhodes - as he should be. It was our favorite excursion. It's just neat to be able to ask question after question without think you are taking up the driver's time or interrupting anyone else. It was very interesting to learn all about the harvesting, processing, and marketing of olive oil.

Rhodes old town is beautiful and so is Lindos. I highly recommend you visit and you can’t go wrong booking through George!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great way to tour Rhodes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our short visit in Rhodes was made memorable by George. He was a friendly and knowledgeable guide and I would recommend him to anyone visiting here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best way to see Rhodes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Rhodes Wonder is the best way to see Rhodes in comfort. July and August are very hot months and walking around town and taking a bus did not seem good options at that time. I emailed George on the website and he called quickly the same day and set up my tour for the next day. Was picked up by Yanni and taken around Rhodes Town, the Acropolis of Rhodes, Lindos, and a nice lunch meal on a quiet beach with an excellent view and time for swimming. Unfortunately we spent too long at the beach and lunch and were not able to make it to our final destination of the Valley of the Butterflies, but Yanni set it up so that he would pick us up the next day to go see the Valley of the Butterflies and transfer to the airport as well only for the price of the transfer to the Airport.
Yanni was very knowledgeable about the Rhodes and was eager to show us other places that we were interested in. Everything he said was right on the money. The best thing about the tour was that there is a list of things to do for the day like all other tours but you can modify it with side trips and they aren't pushy about having to go to the next stop like on bus tours where you feel like you are herded like animals in order to make their time limits. On this tour you have a lot of freedom to make the tour your own. Plus, it's all from the comfort from a Mercedes Benz (all taxis are Mercedes). What could be better.

It's a little pricey but definitely worth it if you are only in Rhodes for a limited time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The only way to travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We really wanted to see Rhodes but could only squeeze in a day trip from Athens. It turned out to be a memorable day. We went through our options by email beforehand and managed to get around all of the highlights we wanted to see - and much more - with Yiannis our friendly and knowledgeable guide showing the way and whisking us from place to place when we were ready to move on. But we still had time for a leisurely lunch at a wonderful seaside restaurant. A busy, but perfectly paced day.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rhodes Wonder - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhodes Wonder - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.