We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seafood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hatzikelis Sea Food Restaurant

Hatzikelis Sea Food Restaurant
Solomou Alhadef 9, 85100, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #248 of 899 restaurants in Rhodes
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Although been to Rhodes many time this was first time I have ever been to this wonderful Fish Taverna - so goof the first time we went back again to try the Lobster. Both the fish we had the first time and the lobster were beautifully cooked and expertly served and filleted at your table. Salad starters also a little differnt and excellent all round. Very good and friendly service - though it did help having a greek with us!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    46
    10
    7
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carnate
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A surprise in Old Rhodos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The old part of Rhodes city (main town in the Rhodes island) is very turistic being an UNESCO patrimony and because is an old part of the city (14th century) fully surrounded by huge walls.
Rhodes city is even an important harbour where big cruise ships land for one day trip.
This means that the area is crowded during the days and that the tavernas and restaurants are more "sensible" to business more than price and value for money.
This resaturant is an exception because is still inside the old walls but joins high quality food with acceptable price.
The place is simply fantastic with a big area outside under huge trees looking at the ruins of an ancient church.
The service is good and the waiters speak quite nice english and are able to explain what the traditional greek dishes are made of.
Last but not least the hous wine (either red or white) is very good and served in the traditional greek small metal glass
They participate to the "Bio Hellas inspection institute for organic products" program

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISCONSIN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Have to go to Hatzikelis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

When the owner insisted that we go through the kitchen to see if it met our standards, we knew that we were in for a treat! The guys selected the fish and we left the preparation to the chef...and were not disappointed. We had the freshest, most flavorful fish ever, simply prepared but excellent. The restaurant suggested sides that went along with the fish perfectly. Our meal was accompanied by local musicians in the little piazza adjoining the restaurant where locals and tourists enjoyed the flavor of Rhodes. We ate outside on the patio and would return in a minute.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch, fantastic location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My son & I were wandering around and found this Lovely restaurant. The food was wonderful and the location couldn't have been better.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Worst experience ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

İndeed the evening started well. The place was cosy and there was a waiter guy who was very friendly in the beginning . We were a group of 2 couples and ordered octopus grill, stuffed calamary, fava, an appetiser of potato with garlic, sea food risotto, and big main plate contaning losbter, some fish, jumbo shrimps,octopus and some musells which costs 70 euros

Lets start with the starters ;

Stuffed calamary and grilled octopus were not cooked at all. They were almost completely raw as if it was frozen and then immediately cooked without de-frozening. There were no taste and it was so stiff that it wasnt possible to chew or cut it with knife

Sea food risotto was more like paella than risotto. İt was very juicy and nothing to with risotto. Ther were no cheese at all

The main plate was total disaster. The losbter and jumbo shrimps covered with some kind of tomato souse as if there were trying hide something. We could barely see the shrimps and the losbter as well

There was also some fillet fish in the plate but it is impossible to tell what fish is it. İt was cold and had no taste

Naturaly we could not finish the main course and The starters.

Now the worst part starts

The lady which we think the owner of the place came to our table and asked why we did not finish. We said we didnt like it. She got very offended and angry. She walked away and sent us the bill eventhough we didnt ask it

We paid 130 euros and did not worth any cent of it
They may sell this to some mid europeans who dont have clue about seafood but not to a mediterean-eagean origin like us

Worst sea food experience in my 40 years of life

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hatzikelis Sea Food Restaurant also viewed

Rhodes, Dodecanese
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes, Dodecanese
 

Been to Hatzikelis Sea Food Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatzikelis Sea Food Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.