We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spiritual retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agios Pandeleimonas

Agios Pandeleimonas
Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Tilos
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 15th-century monastery was built in honor of the patron saint of Tilos.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A spiritual retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

There are despite the camaflague two faces of Tilos.

One is the "stage-set" of a parady of a traditional Greek island village (Livadia) which is modern, full of cafes, a central bar .....here as one Greek owner put it "We can leech off the tourists".

The other is the island, its feeling, history, non-tourist side - of which this ancient monestry is the pinnacle.

Over 1000 years old precariously perched on a high cliff facing the sunset, its wonderful peace and solitude creates a feeling of oneness with the Earth sky and sea. Peregrines sail and swoop, eagles fly high overhead and gulls swirl.

Although we shall probably move on from Tilos after many years, the bottle of herb-filled holy water from the well at the monestry sits quietly on the workbench next to the hob ......a constant reminder.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small but amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The first thing you think about the monastry of Panteleimonas, how on earth they did this! How this place was made, over 400 hundred years ago! High and steep mountins all around. Pandeleimonas is a very small and the "pope" - as the locals call him - seems to be the only inhabitant of the monastry - I'm not quite sure about it, and I have seen him only once, anyway. All in black and with white beard.- The way to the monastry..I must admit is a bit ...ok I closed my eyes. I's not dangerous, not at all, but I have a bit problems with hights. A personal problem. And still, I did go to the top of Mount Olympos of Tilos!! - The monastry of Pantleimos is in a way unique, small but worth of visting.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Eagles, falcons seen above ancient monastery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Wonderful ancient monastery, built 1470, renewed 18th century, on the side of the highest mountain on Tilos. Lovely atmsphere, wall paintings, plants, trees, lots of steps. We saw Bonelli's eagle flying the crags above, and as we walked down the hill, a group of Eleonora's falcons wheeled overhead. Thyme grew by the roadside, we watched the sun set over Nisyros - perfect!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Mountain church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a nust see olace but try and go on the sunset trip with Ian. after having a guided tour and seeing the hillside churches - how do they get to them? - we strolled down the hill a way and had a very plesant time watching the sun set shring snacks and drinks - oh yes this was good..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

As monasteries go, this is not one of the best, but it is worth the trip for the views. Lovely trees....very forward cat population!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agios Pandeleimonas also viewed

 
Killini, Elis Region

Been to Agios Pandeleimonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agios Pandeleimonas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.