We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More resort than hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Scoutari Romantic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Scoutari Romantic Hotel to your Saves list
Porto Scoutari Romantic Hotel
Patmos, 85500, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 Patmos B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“More resort than hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed at the beginning of the season, so only 3 rooms were booked. The hotel sent a driver to pick us up at the ferry, but failed to informed us. We took a taxi to the hotel while our ride was waiting on us at the pier. Oh well! the first night, our air conditioner dripped on the floor. We complained to the hotel and they moved us immediately. It was fun moving from 1 room to the next. It allowed us to see that each room is different and lovely. The view from the balcony is wonderful and all the rooms face the sea. Not too shabby!!
We had reserved a room for 4 nights but needed to leave a night early to meet ferry schedules---no problem with the hotel.
The breakfast was served poolside. We did not eat at the restaurant.
It is a best to have a rental car so you can explore the island. The island is a wonderful place to explore so rent a car in the Skala and go!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    16
    4
    7
    5
See reviews for
6
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ρώμη, Ιταλία
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I really had a bad experience concerning Porto Scoutari Hotel. First of all, I had done that reservation through telephone, so the owner of the hotel under the name of Natalia (real name Elina Scoutari, I’ll explain below why she uses a nickname) confirmed it. I was so excited, I booked flight tickets from USA to Greece (Athens) etc... So few days later I got a message of her saying: “Sorry there is no availability”. I got so frustrated with her. Anyway, couple of days later, she sent me another message “We are glad to inform you, Natalia made a mistake, there is availability..” . My husband and I said thanks god… In the island, after having done the check-in, we went out so we met two boys who have been working as receptionist at this hotel. They told us that the owner, Natalia Scoutari (elina scoutari), usually rejects a reservation if somebody else book more nights… so unprofessional…
This is why Greeks don’t prefer that hotel for their vacations… even I’m half Greek I made a mistake to trust this hotel… Look out! and have great vacations in Greece! :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elina S, General Manager at Porto Scoutari Romantic Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear Mrs. Maropoulos,

We apologize for not answering immediately to your comment but we’ve just been informed by our loyal guests about it. Due to the seriousness of your accusation we would like to inform you that Porto Scoutari is a family owned and family run hotel and there are really not one but 2 Natalie in the hotel.
Natalie Doriza, our daughter and Natalia Doriza, daughter in law, both involved with the family businesses. Our sons Mario Doriza and Aristotle – Maximos Scoutari, my wife Elina Scoutari, a certified Travel Consultant (CTC) with more than 27 years in the Travel Industry in United States of America and me, John Scoutari, a retired senior officer in the Cruise Industry for 35 years, are all strive hard to provide the very best hotel services and an enjoyable vacation experience to our guests.

We are very sorry that you have been misinformed by someone who most likely had never worked in our hotel.

We would like to emphasize though, that after conducting a thorough and careful search on our records, we didn’t find any email correspondance, reservation or registration with your name.

We hope that you had nice time in Patmos since this is one of the most magical and idyllic places in Europe!

Best Regards,

John (Ioannis) Scoutari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Friend & I stayed at Porto Scoutari for 4 nights at the end of September. We had a fantastic time! The rooms were clean, authentic and the shower was great! The staff were very helpful and didn't bug you too much. We hired a car which they sorted for us and they also picked us up from the boat free of charge. The pool area is sensational but probably did a get a net to get a few leaves out of the pool. It is really beautifully lit up at night so great place to sit. The views are beautiful! Really stunning!!!

A car is needed as it is a bit of walk from the main port Skala- we hired a little car for 25euros a day- this worked out cheaper than taxis.

Patmos Island

Is so different to the too commercialised island like Zante, Kos etc. It is very small so ideal for a short break or part of island hopping- with a busy port going to most surrounding islands. Skala is the busiest town but when I say busy it isn't manic just a nice atmosphere.

The cave and the monastery need to be visited but cover shoulders and legs. Really special and an interesting visit- Chora is a beautiful town very medieval! We got lost walking around- very quiet when monastery is closed (between 1-4pm)

The islands aren't know for amazing beaches but they are nice enough-

Patmos is a really beautiful place and would recommend anyone who is wanting a relaxing holiday in the beautiful sunshine with very hospitable Greeks!

please note- photos from iPhone as I have uploaded my camera ones

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We had a very pleasant 4-5 days at Porto Scoutari. It is located on a hillside, in a very quiet setting, about 5 mins drive from the main town / harbour. Seems to promote itself as a wedding venue. You really need a car if staying here, but to be honest you need one anyway if you're to see much of Patmos, given its size and limited bus services. From the pool area or from our sea view room / patio, there were wonderful views of Meloi Bay and the coast. The grounds were reasonably well maintained.

Reception were always very helpful, especially when we booked. They arranged car hire via Aris, who were charming. We didn't see many staff around, but we didn't tend to stay around the hotel during the day.

Our deluxe Queen bedroom was quite spacious, with a good comfortable queen size bed with good linen. Towels changed daily. As mentioned, great views from our patio. The room fittings and furniture were a bit dated, 70's / 80's, and not great quality. Would have also benefitted from some new paint to the wooden doors /windows. However, the worst feature was the small bathroom, and especially the 1970's type shower enclosure, which was not well maintained eg loose fittings, needed new sealant. Should be much better at this price level. A relatively common feature in older Greek hotels. Aircon was available if you wanted it. The cleaning was reasonably good.

We didn't use the pool, so I can't comment on that. Looked nice. The hotel communal areas were a bit limited, but reception was interesting, full of antiques.

Worth noting that there was no restaurant service, so you will need to travel in the evening to eat.

Our special offer delux Queen bed sea view room was EUR 130 inc breakfast, which was reasonable value. At the quoted rack rate (EUR 180) or peak season prices, it would be poor value (eg brand new Rhodes Town Sheraton EUR 200; very nice Nefeli Kampos on Lipsi EUR 75). However, Patmos does seem to be a bit more expensive than many other places.

Overall, a decent hotel without a restaurant, in a great location with lovely views, and fair value if you pay a discounted price.


Patmos:

A beautiful island, and one of the most attractive we've visited. Aim to travel around to see the different bays and beaches, and the Chora. Like nearby Lipsi, Patmos has some of the better quality restaurants we've experienced on the Greek islands.

The Old Chora on the hill was also unexpectedly very nice, retaining a very attractive medieval street layout, with some lovely renovated old houses. Had a very nice meal and drinks in a small square at Vangelis resto and bar opposite. Charming owners and staff.

We really liked Lambi beach. Very quiet, very attractive, clean, with large coloured pebbles. A good beach front taverna. An equally good taverna Leonadidas on the hill overlooking it.

Agriolivadi beach was much busier and more commercial, which also meant it was less clean. Mixed sand and shingle. Sunbeds etc avail. OK taverna on the beach.

Meloi, a short walk from Porto Scoutari had a reasonable narrow strip of tree backed mixed sand and shingle. A good taverna on the beach. Friendly and charming.

Forget Hochlaka bay behind the main town - better described as a building site. I think people visit for the sunset.

Psili Ammos beach had a very nice sand beach and was well worth the walk or boat hassle to get there. Had a basic but good taverna.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

The staff of Globetrotter Reports has mostly seen it all until we discovered the Bijou of Patmos, the Porto Scoutari Hotel. The hotel location is exquisite with mouth watering views of the Aegean. Skala's waterfront cafes and resturants are only a few minutes away by car as is Kampos Beach, one of the best on Patmos and home to Paulina, but that's another story.

Every room is beautifully appointed with Greek antique furniture that looks sensational against the backdrop of dazzling blues and whites. And if canopied king size beds are what you fancy then this is the place for you.

There are no iffy rooms and one should be guided only by personal budget and availability. There are no better hotels on Patmos

And as with all good things there is always a secret. In this instance that would be the owner/manager Elina Scoutari. Ask for her personally at {--}, make your request known and leave the rest to her.

George at Globetrotter Reports

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Just got back from a wonderful holiday in Patmos. This hotel is a hidden Gem.
Service was outstanding and Mary at the front desk is an asset to this fine establishment.

Every request asked for was done timeously and speedily. In all fairness the hotel management went beyond their call of duty. All transfers to hotel and back were organized including all relevant bookings and payments done on our behalf prior to arrival.All at no extra charge .

Our room was a suite and consisted of three bedrooms filled with lovely antiques. It was spotless. The view from our suite was magnificent.

I had the good fortune to meet the owner of the establishment , what a charming lady.

Porto Scoutari is my hotel of choice on Patmos. Yes we will definitely be back. Come and experience wonderfull hospitality from an outstanding team. You will definitely not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

My husband and I decided to spend the final week of our month-long holiday in Greece on the beautiful island of Patmos. Luckily we were able to get a spacious, elegantly furnished room with a stunning view of the sea at the Porto Scoutari hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and made our stay on Patmos a most memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Scoutari Romantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Scoutari Romantic Hotel

Address: Patmos, 85500, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Patmos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Patmos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Porto Scoutari Romantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Scoutari Romantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.