We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The greek garden"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Australis Hotel and Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Patmos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Australis Hotel and Apartments
Save
You added Australis Hotel and Apartments to your Saves list
Patmos, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Patmos
Rome, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“"The greek garden"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

It happens I have red the suggestion on Trip Advisor & booked the hotel !
Never before I have been so happy of my choice. The hotel is 2 steps away from the port yet very neat & quiet. I would say like no other in Greece. The Hotel is in the middle of a blossoming garden with every kind of coloured flower ! Pointless to tell abt the hospitality, The owner (Pantellis) comes from a school of professionals, his father Michel was handling the Hotel before him and has given good exhample on how to behave with Customers.
Among other sights of hospitality he not only came to pick us up at the port but took us to the Monastry (where he was working for 4 years before quitting and dedicate himself to the family Hotel) and drove us in the rooms providing quality explanations of the activities being performed up hill, accross the centuries.
I am completely satisfiyed of my choice and recommend my tripadvisor fellows Australis Hotel when in Patmos.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    21
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
pembrokeshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Can only endorse the other reviews. Pantelis and his sister, Despina work very hard to provide help and advice to all their guests. Like so many Greek people, they are happy to go the extra mile for you. Clean, well kept rooms and laundry. Beautiful flower and blossom filled gardens made walking around the area and the breakfast terrace quite unbelievable. Breakfast is simple and served, not a buffet, but very adequate.
Local buses can get you to 2 of the beaches, while the town beach is lovely and nearby.
Water taxis were not running mid-June to other beaches. It seems that scooters have taken over as the main way of getting about. We are not in that age group...buses were fine.
Adjusting to being home again is tricky...it was just marvellous. A holy island with a special atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Very nice owner family who always welcomes you with a smile and provides useful tips for spending an amazing holiday on Patmos. Perfect hospitality, nice and clean room with an awesome terrace. Very nice hotel area with a lot of charm, lovingly and carefully taken care of by the owner. Different types of rooms with something for everyone (including two room-apartments with kitchen). Good value for money. Makes you want to go back to Patmos as soon as possible!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011 via mobile

If you want a hotel in a beautiful garden setting a short walk from town, lovely breakfast and spotless rooms then Hotel Australis is perfect. Best of all was the friendly and helpful family who run this hotel. You are treated so well here.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights & enjoyed the hotel.
It is clean with nice size rooms. The family running it are very friendly & helpful (including pick-up and drip-off at the port). They answered our sight seeing questions & gave us lots of helpful tips. The gardens are beautiful. It is a short walk out their back gate to a peaceful stone beach on the water. There is a great patio to sit out on. There's a roof top clothesline for drying clothes. My only complaint is that the beds are very hard.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Comfortable room and owners are eager to assist. Picked me up at ferry pier at 10,30pm (and dropped me back to catch 11pm ferry next day), asssited with sights and even fixed my broken suitcase. All for €35 a night.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

From a perfect location near the port and for exploring the island and the monastery, this extended family run a business which combines youth-hostel with hotel to give a memorable experience. With maps on the wall and a little kitchen to make your own coffee and snacks during the day, and with a great breakfast served on a charming terrace in amongst the foliage and flowers of a beautiful garden, Antonia and Peter, together with their parents and siblings, treat their guests with respect and warmth, so that you feel as if you are with friends. The other guests said they had been coming back here for the last 15 years and using it as a base from which to explore the island's coves and beaches. We walked to Meloi beach just over the hill to the north which has to be the most beautiful bay we visited on our entire stay in the Dodeconese. We walked to the monastery and the cave where St John had his Revelation, which was a very special place and evidently a pilgrimage for many; we walked into Skala and enjoyed seeing the nobby yatchs and the little fishing boats. Next time,we may stretch to afford one of the apartments so we can cater for ourselves because with just a room and bed and breakfast for 3 nights, we had to eat out every night which was expensive and rather mixed in quality. Overall, it was like being in heaven, and I would certainly come back to Austalis on Patmos.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Australis Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Australis Hotel and Apartments

Address: Patmos, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Patmos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Patmos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AUSTRALIS Hotel is the ideal choice for vacation on the island of Patmos, offering integrated services in a family environment with a beautiful garden and two large verandas with excellent view of the port and the Castle- Monastery, where you can enjoy your breakfast or evening coffee.Only a few minutes away from the main port of the island, yet so tranquil and accessible, our hotel can offer you the holiday you have been dreaming of. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Australis Hotel pátmos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Australis Hotel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.