We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Sol to your Saves list
Tropical Sol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Tigaki, 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 230 Hotels in Kos
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Holiday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

We had a lovely week at Tropical Sol but didn't eat the breakfast after the first day as the tea and coffee was not drinkable! But found the staff friendly and helpful, other guest were polite and could communicate in English which was a bonus. Th room was fine and the only extra we paid for was the safe. The location is great and we made full use of the nearby Tavernas!!! We had a ground floor room which was great, but did get a lot of bites even though we used the" plug ins" and sprays. But overall a really good holiday and we will go back.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
7
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

This hotel is clean, well appointed being very close to the beach & virtually on the main strip, which having been to Tigaki before is the reason we chose it. What we didn't realise is we would be the only English people staying there! The staff are friendly enough but if you are thinking of passing the time of day with any other guests forget it. In fact the atmosphere could have been quite intimidating had you let it get to you. There isn't even one notice or brochure in English in reception & when we looked for a book to swap in the foyer "library" there were only 2 books in English. We asked the locals about the hotel & they all confirmed that it is known as a "German hotel" although it is owned by a Greek family. The hotel does have some good points, ie the pool is clean with a great whirlpool you can sit in that has 2 settings, one which is a real eruption & the other a gentle massage. While we were there we didn't have to pay for air conditioning, the fridge or the use of the tv in our room, not that the tv mattered as there weren't any English channels available anyway. The rooms & en suite are small but are kept very clean, although having the top sheet made into something that looked like a cobra or a squashed bow every day annoyed rather than impressed me, as I had to make the bed myself & why have the sheets ironed when the maids are going to do that to them? The bed linen & towels are changed regularly, although you need to be no larger than a size 10 for the bath towels to cover your modesty! Each room has a balcony but sadly none of them has a particularly interesting view & because of how they are situated they aren't places to sunbathe either.Of course the breakfast was a continental buffet & no matter if you got up for start of it, there weren't any croissants, only bread or rolls, which often weren't all that fresh. There was plenty on offer & they weren't strict with time, people often wandered in over 1/2 an hour after it should have closed. The coffee was too disgusting to drink & the orange juice was a cheap, over sweetened cordial. The pool bar meals, snacks & drinks were basic but good value for money. When that closes around 6pm you have to go out as there isn't a proper restaurant in the hotel, again its not really a problem as you are in the middle of the main strip. At some stage we will return to Tigaki as it's a nice resort but we will never return to the Tropical Sol, because feeling comfortable & having a chat & a laugh is important to us.

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor room as there aren't any lifts. Unless you want to have a bath check w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

just had another really good holiday in TIgaki at the tropical sol,this is a hotel that care,you do not arrive here and then find there are no rooms like some,The staff are first class in keeping the place clean and tidy and make you welcome.There is a wonderful large pool,plenty of sun beds and with a safe depth for children and adults.meets all the safety regulations. The pool snack bar serves the best food around,the cocktail bar is excelent for that evening chat and relaxing in comfortable seating.The location is perfect,not on the main road like some but just set back in well kept gardens The beach is no more than 4 minutes walk away Breakfasts were good but personally I would have liked to see less 'germanic' choices Also would have liked the non smoking eating area larger on the pool side but still thats nit picking cannot fault the place and will be back next year from my point of view overall the best in Tigaki for relaxing holiday

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Hotel was perfectly situated near the beach and on the main street with an excellent choice of tavernas. Rooms were basic but clean with lovely view over the garden and countryside. Cleaners and reception so friendly and helpful. Pool perfect for the children with ample sunbeds. Free WIFI.
I would not have marked the hotel as average but for the following negatives -
The choice at breakfast was appalling. Who wants butter beans and olives for breakfast? I was not expecting full English but apart from bread, jam and a piece of melon I found very little to tempt me! Fresh juice would have been nice rather than cordial and stewed weak coffee in a huge boiler was revolting.
Be prepared to not only pay an extortionate amount for A/C but extra to have the fridge plugged in!
You have to sneak a bottle of water to drink by the pool or the barman tells you off!

Such a shame as we really did enjoy our time in Tingaki but at times did feel like we were staying in a Greek Fawlty Towers.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are nice and quiet apart from the donkey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just returned from a 5 day break. We left the kids at home but this hotel would be perfect for them too.
Lovely hotel, friendly staff, small but immaculately clean rooms, great location. Can't fault it and hope to return very soon. Tigaki has to be seen, idyllic little town. Perfect for families. Enough to do without being too full on. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weimar, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed at Tropical Sol with a friend last week. Hotel was able to accommodate separate twin beds and had everything we needed. Shower, hair dryer, refrigerator, AC. Room safe could be used for extra cost. Extremely friendly staff. Basic room with a nice little balcony. GREAT location - 3 minute walk to the beach. Nice and clean, though small, pool. Breakfast only ran until 9:30 which is a little early for a holiday breakfast in my opinion, and wasn't spectacular - I wasn't a fan of the coffee, so I stuck to instant coffee using the hot tea water. Snack bar type food available, but as a side note, I recommend heading up the road to "7 Dayz" for dinner!! "Mama" can really cook!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times since 1987 and it is still run by the same family though they are much older now. The hotel is on the main to Tigaki Beach which is about 250 metres
away. Breakfast is a lot different from the usual Greek Breakfast. It is buffet style and there is much more to choose from. Coffee and orange are on tap and hot water for tea.
Plenty of Fresh fruit and cereals boiled eggs and meats.
Rooms are a little on the small side but only because they have put to much in them.
There is a great pool with plenty of beds around.
This is not a hotel sold much to the UK market so expect guests from all over Europe.
I WOULD STAY YET AGAIN

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sol

Address: | Tigaki, 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 230 Hotels in Kos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Tropical Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Sol kós
Tropical Sol Hotel kós

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.