We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toilet habits!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dimitra Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dimitra Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Dimitra Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palioskala Agios Fokas, 853 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 229 Hotels in Kos
Littlehampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Toilet habits!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Can I be the only woman left on this Planet that sits on the toilet or is this just a" British Tradition"?? Ladies and I stress 'Ladies'..... be very aware, wipe before you sit in all public ares of this hotel !!!!
.
Yes ,this Hotel is a little bit worn and faded at the edges and it is 4* but Dimitra Beach Hotel, with its most amazing views of Turkey,the ever changing vista of various sized shipping traffic and sailing boats passing by from early morning to late into the night, the staff's professionalism and well exercised humour with their sincere smiles, the immaculate cleanliness and quality of the food is as good as the 5* hotel next door. The rooms are spacious and prepared daily to an extremely high degree, even down to taking the trouble to clean windows, properly.

Personally, one week was enough ,as I read all 3 of my books that i wanted to read and completely chilled out .

There are organised areas of entertainment, loud music/ dancing if you want that too, so you can have best of all worlds.

The bus into Kos town ( which is dirt cheep and so needs our tourist trade) is well worth visiting. The bus turns up when it wants to and if you see two go by one after another on the other side of the road, catch the second one as the road to Themes is a dead end so they turn round there and come back, rather quickly and they do get extremely packed ,by the time you get into town which is only about a 15 minute ride and only 3 Euros.
Once in Kos town , by the harbour , head away from the sea front and behind is the most amazing little lanes and shops ,well worth exploring. There is a little under cover "Town Market and Square , filled with Coffee shops and Restaurants.

Kos airport is a nightmare but thats anther story!!!

Room Tip: Try and get into the new part of the hotel (with the Sea views)as the rooms are slightly bigger but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    156
    44
    18
    11
See reviews for
102
151
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Enjoyed our stay the food was excellent and service in the bars and restaurants very good. I agree with a previous reviewer that the reception staff were not always friendly or as helpful as they could be. The views from the hotel are lovely. The hotel could do with up dating in some areas,the cushions on chairs in main bar area need replacing and bathrooms need updating too. But gardens and pool areas kept very clean and tidy. In all a pleasant hotel to spend a relaxing week.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top of hotel have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good afternoon
Had a rest with the husband in this hotel.
Remained are very happy.
In total at vyshy level.
Special gratitude Daniela. It is magnificent.
Food, top-level service.
Hotel very beautiful.
Respect to animators!
It would be very desirable to know as correctly their names are: Luca and Chico. Please write their name and a surname, to you I will be very grateful! !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petros K, Manager at Dimitra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Mrs. TatianaX_2013
On behalf of the entire team of Dimitra Beach Hotel, I wish to thank you for your kind preference in our hotel.
I already conveyed your positive comments to all our staff as an approval to their good performance. Comments such as yours are creating the right environment for us to enhance our efforts in order to deliver even better service to all our guests.
Looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel
Yours sincerely
Kallergis Petros
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is nicely located. You have a wonderful scenic view from the top of the hotel premises. The main building seems to be well maintained. The restaurant was clean and also with very nice view. There are several swimming pools with their pool bars and none of them was so crowder that we had to hunt for sunbeds or wait in a line for a drink.
The hotel staff was in general very nice and helpful. A can express special thanks to the restaurant crew that really cared about their guests. One unpleasant exeption was the reception. I had some questions to them on the checkin and they were very unhelpful and on the edge of being rude.
That was about the good. Now the bad. If you are lucky and you are located in the main building you can stop reading.
We were located in a secondary hotel builiding (3 storey). It was not bungalow but not a part of the main hotel building. Our room was on the ground level. The room itself was also pretty clean an ok. Nothing fancy but decent. At least until the the time when we noticed a gigantic cockroaches. Honestly I haven't seen such a big insect in my life. It was something like 5cm long (and the antennaes are not included). And that was the real problem. These insects were everywhere. In the room walking on the walls above your heads (we moved our beds away from the walls because of that). Also tons of dead ones on the buliding corridor. The bathroom was not very well maintained with spots of mold around the bathtub. The hotel corridors were kind of dirty, lots of insects on the floor, falling apart painting on the walls and so on.
I wasn't inside the bungalows that the hotel also have but from outside some of them looked disgusting. Dirty walls (I do not why they paint them white and leave dirty afterwards), dirty garden forniture, spots of mold on the walls. I think we vere lucky to not be located in one of the bungalows.
It's a shame that otherwise good hotel in good location can be ruined but these small but nasty things. We won't come back to this hotel but we will likely come back to Kos.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building. Avoid bungalows. If you are located in the secondardy buidings (rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petros K, Manager at Dimitra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
dear Banditknight

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We apologize that we were not able fulfill your all expectations regarding your holiday.

Customer feedback is very important for us and we have already taken action regarding the issues raised above. Luckily you were able to find your belongings after the actions taken from our side.

We do welcome all suggestions for improvement and will handle the feedback in our discussions with our personnel in different departments. We hope to be able to welcoming you in the future in one of our group’s hotels again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed at Dimitra. 35 km from airport. Paid 43 Euros by taxi from airport, 50 Euros taxi booked by hotel return.All inclusive drinks included. Plenty of choice of food including vegetarians like myself. Staff extremely friendly, and helpful really impressed with the level of service.Very clean. Early breakfast 6.30 am . Late supper 23.00-24.00! 2 restaurants both buffet. Poolside bars and main bar. Greek night on Friday on terrace really enjoyed the music. Kos town 15 minute bus ride, return ticket available from reception 3 euros.Therma 45 minute gentle walk 4 km away walking opposite direction to Kos town, go early evening less crowded. Wonderful experience at no cost. Private beach with sunbeds. Fantastic views across the sea looking towards Turkey. Hotel a little bit isolated for those who like nightlife.

Room Tip: No room service but not necessary. Rooms by the La Pergola restaurant are quieter. Towels and bed li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petros K, Manager at Dimitra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Makhan S
On behalf of the entire team of DIMITRA BEACH HOTEL, I wish to thank you for your kind preference in our hotel.
I already conveyed your positive comments to all our staff as an approval to their good performance. Comments such as yours are creating the right environment for us to enhance our efforts in order to deliver even better service to all our guests.
Looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel
Yours sincerely
Kallergis Petros
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

After looking for a hotel / location that would deliver a very relaxed experience, we finally settled upon Dimitra Beach based on the previous reviews and pictures. We were not disappointed, especially as we went with an open mind, not expecting the earth.
We arrived at around 01.30am to be greeted by a very lovely night manager who quickly checked us in and gave us some food and water to take to our rooms. The ported loaded out luggage onto a buggy and asked us to board so he could take us to our room. I was a little concerned that it was going to take a buggy to get us to our room, especially when we went out onto the main road and up the hill.

Room - Our block of rooms was just off the main road, right at the top of the resort and on the top floor in the middle. We had requested a room with a good view, but until the light of day we were not sure what we had got.
Our room was very big, with a kitchen area in the first room, bathroom in the middle and then a large double bedroom with patio doors and large balcony with table and chairs. We were overlooking the pool with a swim up bar, which was perfect and not too far to go in the morning!
When we woke up in the morning the first thing we did was have look at the view and wow, we definitely got our request, it was amazing, truly! Gorgeous blue sea, blue skies and to top it off we could also see the coast of Turkey straight across.
Bathroom was quite basic and in need of a little refurb, but served its purpose. It was a little smelly at times, when the drainage was busy, but its Greece, so what do you expect. Open the doors and windows and focus on the fact that you in a brilliant location.

Hotel & Restaurant - We were about a 3/4 min walk down to the main building and as there are a lot of steps I would not maybe recommend this hotel for anyone unstable on their feet. The main hotel building inside is a little dated, but very comfortable. The restaurant is on the lower ground floor with an inside dining room and large terrace for alfresco dining.........with AMAZING views of the sea. The food is fantastic and can honestly say we were never short of finding something lovely to eat. Of course, don't go expecting 'English' cuisine, but then why would you when you're in Greece.
There is an Italian restaurant that is located next to one of the pools down near the beach. You have to pre-book the day prior. The setting is OK (a little windy) and the food is not dissimilar to the main restaurant food. There is also a bar there, so you can stay after dinner and keep drinking until 12 if you choose. MEN - YOU DON'T HAVE TO WEAR TROUSERS IN THE RESTAURANT, even though it says you do.

Breakfast was always brilliant with a huge choice for everyone. No toaster though, so if you love toast you'll be unhappy, but there are plenty of other bread choices, including sliced white and brown bread.

Bar - The evening bar in the main hotel was not too bed, very busy and difficult to find somewhere to sit if you arrive after 9pm, which we did most nights as we like to dine for a long period. Nearly all of the seating is outside, which is really nice. 6+3Lots of entertainment, which was mainly focussed around Russian, Italian and Germans, but we are not lovers of karaoke or party music discos, so we tended to find a quiet corner.
The service in the bar is fantastic and your are never left without a drink, the waiters and waitresses are constantly on the go.

Beach - Beach is lovely, but pebbly so take some sea shoes if you fancy going for a swim. We found a sunbed every morning without any hassle, but have read that some people struggled in peak season.

Pools - All of the pools in the hotel are nice, especially the two away from the main building. All have bars next to them, so not far to go for a refresh. Very clean, tidy and were never overly busy whilst we were there. They were also quite quiet, so that was lovely.

Wind - Please be aware that Kos is quite a windy Island and more so where the Dimitra Beach is located. However, we never found it to be an issue as it keeps you cool under the beating sun.

Tip - Don't rush for a sun bed, you don't need to.
Take a look at the Michelangelo next door (sister hotel) and eat in the Mediterraneo restaurant. It is beautiful.

We would definitely go back to this hotel, but more so to the Michelangelo next door. In fact we are planning to go back in June.

Its a great place and you'll not be disappointed if you choose this hotel

Room Tip: Don't book an bungalow room, unless it is beach front. Block 7 is perfect, but be aware of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petros K, Manager at Dimitra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear SPHourigan,
we are delighted that you had experienced an amazing week at our premises.
Furthermore we wish to thank you for the unique way you are describing our services, enhancing the good reputation of DIMITRA BEACH HOTEL.
We sincerely hope that you will give us the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Yours sincerely
Kallergis Petros
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Gillis-Waas, Belgium
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A very quiet hotel, with good food and a magnificent view. You can eat outdoors at breakfast, lunch and dinner with a unique view on the sea and islands close to Kos. This really is worth 5 stars !
We stayed at the main building, which I think is the oldest part. Rooms are clean but quite dated. The bathroom was very clean, but old. The TV set was a microscopically small set with tube technology from the 80ies. But then again, who wants to watch TV, when the hotel has 3 beautiful swimming pools, is at the beach (with pebbles, don't forget swimming shoes) and has a lovely garden ?
Staff is very friendly.
The hotel doesn't rent bikes, with is a disadvantage. Because biking at Kos is really lovely and you can reach Kos city with a bicycle in about 30 relaxing minutes.

Room Tip: all rooms have a sea view, but if possible, try for the new rooms which will be more up to date and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petros K, Manager at Dimitra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Gerrit-StPauwels
Going through your positive observations on your recent stay at Dimitra Beach Hotel, we can only
- Thank you deeply for your kindness and support and
- Wish that your batteries “will soon require to be recharged” and in this way we will be given the pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel
Yours sincerely
Kallergis Petros
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dimitra Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimitra Beach Hotel

Address: Palioskala Agios Fokas, 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Kos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dimitra Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dimitra Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dimitra Beach
Dimitra Beach kós

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dimitra Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.