We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointed after reading the reviews.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Amerikis Street, 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 229 Hotels in Kos
Glasgow, Scotland.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed after reading the reviews.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My wife and I have been to Kos on several occasions now. We usually stay on the Lambi side of Kos Town as we just prefer it. Previous stays have been at the Artemis, Saint Constantine and Elite. We booked the Imperial as it is in close proximity to the other hotels mentioned plus we read the reviews here. We expected it to be better than we experienced.

We booked via Sunset (Thomas Cook) and if you book with TC or Sunset, you will not get one of the upgraded rooms unless this is changed for 2012 (with all rooms renovated). More on this in a moment.

We arrived and we were greeted by a receptionist who was helpful. We knew about the €20 charge for a safe box (for two weeks) and the €5.50 charge per night for air conditioning, but when sitting in the foyer on several occasions, it appears others were not so happy about the air conditioning cost. We did our homework first though but it is still ridiculous in this day and age to pay for air conditioning that should be in the price.

We paid the full price via Sunset and sadly got one of the non upgraded rooms. It was a little tired what with a tiny shower plinth (resulting in water going everywhere) and a mirror that needed replaced etc. Saying that, we had a pool view that was appreciated. Don't expect a TV in the non renovated rooms though.

Breakfast was pretty poor and it was simply the worst we have experienced in over 20 years of travelling in and around the Med. Coffee was not warm enough and was bitter. There were no yoghurts, even local Greek yoghuts. The cheap cornflakes and orange juice that was dilited orange (and over-diluted at that) did not help. Orange coloured water. Boiled eggs were over-cooked. Breakfast finishes at 9.30am. The only positive was being able to sit outside for breakfast. Out of the two week stay, we only came down for breakfast three times which probably sums up our views!!

The pool is a perfect temperature and is clean. The pool area is a little enclosed what with surrounding buildings and banana trees, so expect the area to lack any kind of a breeze, especially in the hot summer months. The pool loungers had no foam covers and were uncomfortable.

The pool food was very good and priced fairly. The drinks on the other hand were expensive when compared to every bar we went to during our two week stay. All other hotels we visited at night were also a lot cheaper.

The hotel is clean. The towels are usually only changed once a week and the cleaners are just lovely. Keeping towels dry means hanging them over the balcony every morning. They are also pretty course so no nice soft towels here I'm afraid.

The staff do try their best to accommodate you and the hotel is on a quiet road so no traffic noise at night. They have a shower and changing area in the basement if you have to check out at mid-day and have a flight later in the day. Accessing it was appreciated.

We saw the upgraded rooms with flat screen TV's, lovely decor and fully renovated bathrooms. It is just a shame all the rooms were not renovated but the other shortcomings just spoil what could be a good hotel.

We enjoyed our holiday but sadly won't be back to the Imperial.

Room Tip: Get one of the upgraded rooms for a more comfortable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    32
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
58
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I would highly recommend this hotel, the staff are all very friendly and although the room we stayed in was a little dated, it was clean with the towels and sheets changed twice in the week we stayed. We had a room overlooking the pool (113) which was a little noisy from the bar in the evening's, but once we had purchased air con (which was very reasonably priced), we couldnt hear the bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear if you dont like bar noise, but if you are going to join in, it really do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Very friendly. Stayed one night en-route to Patmos. Managed to leave shoes which they very kindly posted back to us!
Rooms very, very clean, and nicely renovated. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bromsgrove
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Good clean family run hotel, family members who run the hotel are always helpful, polite and friendly, and on hand to help you at all times, but never invasive. Hotel has a lovely relaxing, quiet atmosphere - very multi cultural - The bar, run by tony is a very friendly place.
The pool is so nice, very clean, and warm. Location of this hotel is absolutely brilliant, very short walking distance to beach, harbour, bars, tavernas. We hired bikes for a day to explore, everywhere is so flat, perfect for cycling!

Room Tip: we asked and got a pool view which was so lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011 via mobile

I think we already come to this hotel for like 7 years as our extra holiday! It is a great place to stay everybody is really friendly from the cleaners till the owners! The rooms are just renovated 1 year ago and are now very clean and beautiful! The hotel bar is really nice if you like to have a good day/ evening! It's close by everything in kos town! 5 min walk to the old harbour and shops and restaurants! Also really near by the beach! And they have a nice swimmingpool! If you are searching for a nice place to relax and a good location! Than definatily I recommend you to book a room here!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

once again had a great time,lovely pool,rooms always clean with fresh towels and bedding changed regularly.reception staff always helpful,nothing to much trouble for them.great family run hotel.met lots of friendly people from different countries in the bar which had a 60/70/80/90/night.we had a room at the front of the hotel which was very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Fantastic location. Brilliant pool and bar area, however loud music playing until early hours of the morning often until 3-4 o'clock and later. Prices very expensive for drinks but food/snack bar prices comparative with else where. Lovely friendly staff with 24 hour reception. Biggest complaint was wth the room, had to ask for the towels and bedding to be changed and the bathroom was in need of a serious upgrade. Yes we would recommend to others but would make mention of the noise and please be aware that some people we spoke to were making their third and fourth return visits to this hotel. Check out the 'Caravan' restaurant opposit the hotel, doesn't look much but the owner Hasan is lovely and the food is good and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 37 Amerikis Street, 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 229 Hotels in Kos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Kos
Imperial Hotel Kos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.