We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Simpson Family Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poseidon Hotel and Apartments

Save Saved
You added Poseidon Hotel and Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poseidon Hotel and Apartments
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   54 Makrigianni Street, 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 126 Specialty lodging in Kos
Morecambe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Simpson Family Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Arrived at the Posidon on easter sunday this year with the family, we walked into the hotel and recieved a wonderfull warm welcome from the hotel owner Ange and his lovely wife Toula. They made us feel so welcome and made the children laugh straight away as they were tired from travelling for us it was a winner straight away with the welcome that we recieved .
Our apartment was lovely and clean and we had plenty of room which was brilliant and with a added bonus being on the ground floor , we spent 2 wonderfull weeks here and through our whole stay we received help when the children were ill kindness when we had 2 days of thunderstorms where the hotel manager placed a dvd player in our room to entertain the children also providing us with dvds for them .
the food is great cooked and prepared by nick such a friendly guy, breakfast was always lovely when we managed to get out of bed intime lol .
i must add also that the staff were always so polite and always offering help if needed our room was cleaned everyday and for us it was just perfect.
we look forward to returning again later on this year. we as a family would recommend this place to everyone as they make all welcome :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    43
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
37
82
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

From the moment you arrive you are treated like an old friend, Ange and Toula are wonderful hosts, the hotel is in a lovely position with a nice walk into the centre and beach areas. There are restaurants close by if you don't want to go to far, we have already booked for our next stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms a little noisy due to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

stayed at the poseidon with my boyfriend and had the best time. The hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful. Ange the hotel manager always made us feel comfortable. He's a great host. Hotel is a beautiful walk into the harbour and the beach. Would think twice about going again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in september 2012 had a fantastic time 15 minute walk in to kos town. Ang and toula such friendly people as was the rest of the staff including our holiday rep dave :) would definitely recommend the barbecue party night. Rooms are basic but get cleaned everyday to a high standard. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The room and the bathroom were standard but the shower unfortunately was very small and I'm an average size.

Breakfast was very poor with very few options, those being a hard roll, cheese, ham, jam and orange or apple juice.

The swimming pool seemed not a lot bigger than my bath at home so I decided not to use it but fortunately the beech wasn't that far of a walk.

The hospitality however was very good, the owners were very nice, the bar staff were excellent and generally the bar is a good place to start and finish your evening out at.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I'm 17, and stayed in Kos with my mum from the 1st September till the 9th, and was very enjoyable! Thought I wouldn't enjoy as the Poseidon is in a quieter area, but I loved it! Got to the Poseidon at around 5am and we were both extremely tired, but our cases were taken up the stairs for us by Nick (also barman in the night) who was a lifesaver! The rooms were cleaned every day, and towels and sheets were changed every other day which was perfect! Ange and Toula were so helpful, really friendly, and acted like they knew you straight away. The Barbecue night is a must as the selection of food was amazing, and tasted great! The Karaoke was hilarious, and resulted in my mum getting up and singing summer nights from Grease with Ange! At first I was mortified, but in the end I couldn't hide my laughing fit! Bingo night was also good fun. Every night after we had food we would go back to the bar as the atmosphere was great, and there was a good sized lounge/bar area.

Stayed in apartment 302 which was perfect for us two, not sure why people on here are saying to avoid it to be honest! Pool was decent, but make sure you move with the sun or you'll be left in the shade! At around 5 when we went upstairs to get ready to go out for dinner, our balcony at the side of the apartments was completely in the sun and was scorching which we loved.

Many good restaurants, especially the one across the road next to the supermarket! Had an amazing full english for 5 euros, and went back for dinner for most of the week. The food was also cheap, and cost us 26 euros for drinks, greek salad, and our meals (Try the meatballs stuffed with feta cheese, and the chicken souvlaki wrapped in bacon, best meals I had!). Only meal I was not happy with was the Italian place on the corner by the seafront. Me and my mum both had pasta which tasted like a microwave packet from Tesco, and costed us 50 euros+! A bottle of mythos beer was also 6 euros, which is pathetic compared to places selling pints of it for 1 euro 50 in Kos town!

The Paradise beach excursion is a must as the beaches in this part of Kos are mostly shingle, and the sea is quite rocky. Paradise beach is 100% the most beautiful beach I have ever been to, and at a price of 2 sunbeds for 5 euros, you cant go wrong! To the left of the beach, there are little geysers under the sand in the sea which produce bubbles in the water which is an amazing sight, and fun to swim through! The sea is warm and quite calm, with white sand, and when I visited in September, was not busy which is a change to some places I have been!

All in all, great holiday, with really good service and so much to see! Only regret is that we didn't book for 2 weeks! Would love to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a great holiday. Everyone was friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Ange & Toulla treated us more like family than clients and, together with Stomatis ( the Victimiser ) ensured that every day went with a swing. Rooms were basic but extremely clean with towels & bed linen changed every other day. We also met people who had been coming back each year for many years. All in all a very, very enjoyable time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poseidon Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidon Hotel and Apartments

Address: 54 Makrigianni Street, 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 126 Specialty lodging in Kos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poseidon Hotel and Apartments 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poseidon Hotel & Apartments are the excellent accommodation choice while staying in Kos town. Ideally situated just a 10 minute walk from the center of town and near the Kos Marina, Poseidon offers fine facilities including air conditioned rooms, small gym and a wide range of summer entertainment. Look no further when it comes to choosing a Hotel in Kos ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Poseidon Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Hotel kós

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poseidon Hotel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.