We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Nice and clean basic hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smaragdi Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Smaragdi Studios to your Saves list
Smaragdi Studios
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Lambi, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 229 Hotels in Kos
New Malden, Surrey, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good location. Nice and clean basic hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

I stayed at the Smaragdi studios for 2 weeks as a cheap beach holiday deal. I have been to Kos before, which is a great island, and previously stayed at the Nefeli which is just around the corner from this hotel. I stayed self catering at both, and self catering here is better than at Nefeli. As Nefeli you have to stay B&B to get the air con etc. But you don't get a fridge etc....So it is a trade off really.

Smaragdi studios are clean, although our cleaner was no where near as good as the cleaner my sister had for her apartment. They were in a different block entirely and the maids were completely different. Although ours was OK I have to wonder just how thorough her cleaning was as we were quite tidy people....

However, on the plus side, the rooms are ample size and very nice and bright with lots of natural light.. Bathrooms and bright and clean and overall rooms are serviced well everyday except Friday. That is their day off.

The pool is clean and there was never really a problem with getting a sun bed.

The bar is open from about 11 onwards. It isn't expensive and Maria is really nice. The food was OK. Although we tended to go out for food more often than not.

Air con was 4 Euro per night. Cheaper than other places we have been too and worth it in the height of summer!

The greek night was actually a good night. Worth the 8 Euro and there is plentiful food.

The only real criticism I have is that the people that worked at the hotel had to be prompted to have a conversation with you. Most people I have ever met in Kos are extremely friendly and don't need any prompting into a conversation, but at this hotel you never saw the people outside of the reception area. Or aim ti get to know the residents at the hotel. Nefeli is the complete opposite.

I would come though. It is a good location. Hire a cycle for however long you are there. It is the best way to get around the city. If you want to venture further get a scooter or something. We did and went to paradise beach and the hot springs. The journey for the views is breath-taking alone!!!! Let alone actually reaching each destination!! Well worth it. The waterpark is great fun.

For food, Sophies on the beach front in Kos Town is good, as it s Eucalyptus and Istros.

Bars are endless and you'll have no trouble finding ones you like. Be it chilled out and relaxed by the beach. In suburbia of Kos town, old street or by Dolphin Square. The choice is endless....

Can't wait to go back to Kos. Hopefully I will in the next couple of years...defnitely my favorite so far of many other Greek islands I have been to...but there still are a lot more to try!!!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    39
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
soton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

Well what can i say, the rooms were basic but had everything you could need (except washing up liquid and a brush to clear up after yourself after breakfast) the pool area was lovely - had it to ourselves a lot of the time. the pool bar sold snacks drinks and huge ice creams. Kos itself is lovely the marina, the clubs, restaurants everything. i highly recommend it to anyone looking for a hot and pretty place to visit. really enjoyed myself - good cheap holiday

  • Liked — the pool and reception areas
  • Disliked — bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

The Smaragdi studios are located out of Kos town, about a 25 minute walk, and about a 10-15 minute walk to the beach. It is set down a road with fields, a goat farm and trees all along it and it is not particulary safe at night, even at 10pm, me and my friend (2 girls) got followed one night by 2 greek men! It costs 7 euros to get into Kos town by taxi. You have to walk down the road to even get into Lambi which takes about 5-10 mins where there are lots of tavernas and restaurants. We found the Sunset Taverna to be the best and Blue Phoenix was also good but a bit more expensive. The best way to get around is to hire a bike which you can do from the place near the hotel for 2-3 euros per day.
Be warned, if you go with Olympic holidays they do their welcome meeting at the Blue Phoenix and pick you up on a coach and then leave you at the beach with no directions on how to get back to the hotel!
The hotel itself is nice and the apartments are kept clean, the maids came most days. The view from the rooms are inland views as its not that close to the sea. The air con is 4 euros per day. It can be a bit noisy at night when people return to the hotel as the noise seems to travel and you can hear the people next door or above flushing their toilets, and there's also a cockerall you can hear in the mornings, but this wasn't too much of a problem.
The pool is quite a good size and kept clean, plenty of sunbeds.
Some of the staff (one in particular) were rude and abrupt and a lot of other people experienced the same thing!
There is a little supermarket opposite the hotel which is the easiest place to buy water and food etc from, the nearest bigger supermarket is in Lambi and its a bit too far to walk back with a load of shopping.
Also, its worth booking trips in Lambi rather than the tour operators, it was a lot cheaper.
All in all its a nice place to go for a relaxing holiday, but i wouldn't recommend it for younger people wanting a livlier holiday as its too far out of Kos town, and even at the end of June the town and bar street was fairly quiet.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, quiet, relaxing, nice pool
  • Disliked — Location, the dark road its on
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

Helen and myself booked this hotel via Olympic Holidays and rate itas one of the best self catering holidays we have had in over 20 years of travelling to Greece.

The accomodation was clean,and well appointed, and any minor problems we encountered were dealt with quickly and effeciently by the staff. The staff were very friendly and always greeted us with a smile, and were helpful when we had querries.

The hotel pool isvery good and it and the surrounding area were kept clean. Food was available at the pool side which was very reasonably priced and good quality.

The hotel is situated in a beautiful tree lined road and surrounded by open country. The easy stroll into Kos Town takes about 25 minutes but buses and taxis are available (we did not use them). The beach is about 15 minutes easy walk away along quiet roads.

As Kos is relatively flat we hired a bike for the 2 weeks and explored the local area.

If we go back to Kos we would try and book this accomodation again as we were so pleased with it

Graham and Helen

  • Liked — Staff and position of hotel
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

The apartments were excellent. Really clean and fresh towels brought very frequently.
The staff were friendly and polite and our Rep gave all the information we needed. Also when unsure the staff were really helpful.
Although it is not in the centre of Kos town it is a pleasant 25 minute walk or a very short cheap taxi ride. There are restaurants near by that are really nice and reasonably priced.
Kos Town is excellent with something for everyone! Nightlife if you want it or nice quiet bars on the marina!

Would definately go back!!

  • Liked — Nice quiet pool area
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

loved it went with my boyfriend friendly workers, very helpful would definately reccomend it.pool is great. be warned air con four euro per day

  • Liked — pool and service
  • Disliked — paying for air con
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kos
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

Stopped at Smaragdi apts thought they where great. I went with my husband, two children aged 11 and 6 and the in-laws. We had a great time. We where the only family with children so we had the pool to ourslevs for the full fortnight. Maria who worked behind the bar was an angel and always made a fuss of the kids. The bus stop was right outside the hotel and arrived like clock work every half hour, it took you to Kos town in 10mins. I would recommend that you use Soltan sun lotion from boots with the mosquito repellant already in, as there are lots of the little blighters, but luckly we didnt get bitten. Anyway if you are going dont expect 5star just expect what you have paid for and that is a lovely family run 2 star complex, Happy Holiday.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smaragdi Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smaragdi Studios

Address: | Lambi, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 229 Hotels in Kos
Hotel Class:3 star — Smaragdi Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Smaragdi Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smaragdi Studios kós
Smaragdi Studios Hotel kós

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smaragdi Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.