We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smaragdi Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smaragdi Studios
Save
You added Smaragdi Studios to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Lambi, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 230 Hotels in Kos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for a week in September, it was nice and quiet, a perfect location for getting away from it all. Our room, number 8, overlooked the pool which was nice, it had two lovely patios one at the front and one at the back, the weather was very hot so we paid for the AC which was great. The room was nice and cleaned everyday. The pool area is nice with plenty of sunbeds. There are plenty of restaurants not too far away and the shop across the road is good for getting water and daily bread, the people are very friendly. The reception was nice, we arrived very late at night but the bar was still open so that's a good touch!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    40
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was so disappointed when we arrived at the accommodation especially after reading some great reviews. First of all, the room itself was very dated and badly equipped. Beds were so uncomfortable and the mattresses had seen better days. When we politely mentioned this to the lady at reception the owner appeared and started screaming at us and asked us what did we expect for the 'very little money they get paid by the tour operator?' The pool area was ok, pool appeared clean and plenty of sunbeds available but the food at the pool bar was disappointing so we prepared lunch in the ill-equipped kitchen for a day or two before giving up and eating out. The 'English breakfast' looked awful and some fellow guests commented that it was the worst they had ever sampled. We did try a toastie on the first day but it was so dry and the ham was more like spam. Halfway through our holiday the owner ruined the atmosphere in the bar area when she waltzed in with some other ladies and took over the place, they were so loud and made ourselves and the few other guests sitting on the terrace feel like we were in their way! We settled for an early night but could still hear their screeching from our room. Our overall impression with the place was that it was in need of an overhaul - the reception/bar lounge was like sitting in grandma's house - very old fashioned and not remotely Greek in atmosphere. The location is reasonable, 25 min walk to Kos harbour, 15 min to the beach and the area is nice and quiet. But it has to be said there are far nicer places in a similar price bracket in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Smaragdi Studios was a great location for having a girly holiday. It's close to the town (about 20min walk) and about 15min walk to the beach, which was amazing. The harbour is great in the evenings and has loads of nice restaurants and great cocktails!

All the clubs in the evening were busy and are all in a small proximity to each other. Prices were cheap and drinks were flowing : ) Only advice is always get a taxi home as there is long boulevard strip which leads down to the studios, which i wouldn't recommend walking down at night, as it's dark and there isn't too much around.

It terms of things to do during the day, you have the shops, beaches and the pool at the studios was clean and perfect for dipping in. You also have a small shop opposite which was great for getting food and drink to stock up on. You also have the chance to do day trips to Turkey, which was a great as it didn't take long to get there, and there's loads to see one you are there!

I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Our room was over facing the pool, there isn't much surrounding you so i wouldn't be too wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned from our 7th visit to smaragdi, once again had a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday. The appartments are clean and well run and have had some major refurbishment since our last visit, all to the better. There is a nice size swimming pool with a snack bar and plenty of sunbeds (no getting up a daft aclock to put your towels on the sunbeds!)Judy and her staff are the friendlist people you could ever come across, nothing is too much trouble for them. we are already planning our next visit in june 2013 and hoping to take our grandson with us. Just a bus ride (or leisurely walk, 15 minutes) from kos town this is a holiday to be repeated time and time again. Kos town is like a mini Rhodes, the harbour is the place to spend the morning just watching the world go by. Missing it already and counting the days till next June

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I would recommend Smaragdi for the location. Better than basic greek accommodation (we had a bath) rooms cleaned everyday. Ria is brilliant. Food at the pool bar ok. A few good restautants very close. Small supermarket opposite but bigger one 10 mins away. 25-30 min walk to kos town which is no bigee.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Having been on holiday in greece over the past 25 years i consider we have experienced most types of accomodation. We have just returned from a week at the Smaragdi Hotel & Apartments and overall had a very enjoyable stay we had a studio apartment which was ample size for 2 adults & a 7 year old the apartments are far from new but are clean & have good facilities Air conditioning (charged of 5 Euros per day) was a must while we were there as kos was experiencing a mini heat wave. The kitchen was basic it had the usual 2 ring cooker top a toaster, kettle & coffee perculater full size fridge & adequate pots, pans, glasses & cutlery. The room was cleaned 6 out of the 7 days we were there & the beds & towels changed twice in the week the cleaner was lovely. The bathroom had a bath with a shower but no where to hang the shower up which seems to be the norm in greece there was always plenty of hot water. The beds were comfy there was a small tv but no english chanels & a hair dryer provided. The pool was great and was always kept clean there was a pool side snack bar that served breakfasts toasties burgers etc. Judy who runs the hotel was very helpful & cant do enough to help you we had a problem with a light not switching off & it was sorted straight away. The hotel is situated in a quiet location about 25 mins walk from kos town so hiring bikes was a must as you could cycle there in less than 10 mins we hired bikes for the week & managed to get them for 2 euros per day from Angels which if you turn left out of the hotel and walk down to the main crossroads turn right is located on the left. There is a good supermarket located at the crossroads and are a couple of good local tavernas the one that you come to if you turn left out of the hotel and is the first taverna you come to is family run the food is excellent and the prices are cheaper than in Kos town they do a Full English Breakfast with fresh orange juice & tea or coffee, 2 slices of toast with butter & jam for 5.50 euros local greek dishes are around 7 euros, a large mythos 2.50 euros 0.5 litre of house wine is 4.5 euros & they do childrens meals for 5 euros which includes an ice cream desert the family that own it are very freindly great with children. The other resteraunt is called Mikes Taverna & is about a 10 min walk if you turn left out of the hotel & turn left at the crossroads heading in the opposite direction from kos town it is on the left recomended by trip advisor. A must while staying in Kos is the 3 island boat trip from kos harbour I would recomend the boat Katerina we had an excellent day they didnt overpack the boat with people unlike some of the others we got to see Dolphins swimming at the side of the boat & the food & entertainment on the boat was excellent, the cost was 30 euros per person but our 7 year old went for free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have just returned from Smaragdi Stds & Apartments, Lambi. It was our first family holiday with our 4yr son and it was fantastic. Judy, Leo and Ria where very friendly and would do anything help. The apartment was very clean, no issues what so ever. The pool area was fantastic, good size baby pool/ main pool.

There's a local shop just across the road for bits and bobs and there is a restaurant about 100m up the road, but if your looking for something else there is a Super Market about 600m up the road.
If your looking for active holiday you can hire a road bike for €3 per day bargin!! Or be lazy and hire a Scooter for €12 per day.

It's about a 15-20 min walk into Kos town. Or you can be lazy and get a taxi or bus!!!( couple of €)
Kos town has lots and lots of shops where you could spend all night looking around. Along with all the shops there are lots of fantastic restaurants and pubs where you can enjoy some fantastic foods,wines,beers and even coffee.

I can't wait until our next trip to Smaragdi, and I would recomend this to anyone who is wishing to visit Kos.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smaragdi Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smaragdi Studios

Address: | Lambi, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 230 Hotels in Kos
Hotel Class:3 star — Smaragdi Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Smaragdi Studios kós
Smaragdi Studios Hotel kós

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smaragdi Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.