We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than adequate, especially for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ekaterini

Hotel Ekaterini
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ekaterini
Save
You added Hotel Ekaterini to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.Tsaldari 6, 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 229 Hotels in Kos
Berlin
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“More than adequate, especially for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had to make a last-minute change in travel plans for my 2-week trip to Greece this year (airline strike), so found myself arriving rather spontaneously in Kos town and having to stay for a night. Hotel Ekaterini was what was available on short notice, and it proved a more than adequate choice. Location is hard to beat - five minutes' walk from the port & centre of activity, yet in a quietish side street (provided you can get a room facing Tsaldari st. rather than Megalou Alexandrou - the latter is very noisy!). The room was simple but clean and had a nice balcony; management was exceedingly friendly and helpful (a rare thing on a tourist trap/package hell island like Kos!), and breakfast was splendid. Rates are hard to beat as well - for less than 30 Euro for a single, the place proved excellent value. If you have to stay in Kos town (there are nicer places in the Greek islands), Hotel Ekaterini can most definitely be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hotel is located in the center, walking distance to harbour and beaches. Room is well cleaned with air conditioner, tv and small but newly renovated bathroom. Breakfast was better than the hotels I stayed in other Greek islands : cheese, olives, ham, fried eggs, corn flakes, water melon, milk and fruit juice. Family owned hotel. Smiley staff with good English (esp daughter) and helpful on tips top enjoy island more!.

Room Tip: Room with a Balcony is always better. If I rate hotel according to its price and location, no need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campobasso, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

According to the price we spent, the hotel is perfect. The owner is a great person, every mornig went and by yogurt for us, and gave us all information we need, tried to help us in all the way he could.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

On arrival at the address given, I could find no signage which indicated Ekaterini Hotel. In fact the signage (at both Hotel entrances) stated Hotel Catherine. The owner assured me that it was in fact the Ekaterini Hotel.
The Hotel advertises that it accepts Visa and Mastercard. I had booked a single room for a two day stay and the proprietor asked me to pay in advance. When I produced my Mastercard and he told me that he doesn't accept credit cards and will only accept cash (Euros). I then paid him 68 Euros for my two night accomodation and asked for a receipt - this was refused.
The room was very small and rather grotty in appearance. I told the proprietorI that I did not wish to stay and asked for a refund. He refunded 34 Euros (not the 68 Euros).
I later found a far superior hotel in a better area and for the same price, and on the waterfront.
Be warned - definitely don't stay at this Hotel....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didim, Turkey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Information supplied by hotel is totally inaccurate. It is not 40 metres from the ferry.
The owner/manager was extremely rude & unwelcoming. Credit cards, Visa and Mastercard were advertised as acceptable, but the owner/manager insisted on cash only.
Location was noisy.
The room was sub-standard. We checked out of this hotel not long after we checked in.
We obtained far superior accommodation in a better location for the same money.
The hotel's advertising is false and misleading. There are many more better choices.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ekaterini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ekaterini

Address: P.Tsaldari 6, 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 229 Hotels in Kos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ekaterini 2*
Number of rooms: 28

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ekaterini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.